Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3311
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by peakae »

It's still hit and miss.
Just did some vocal alignment using hitpoints, and there are a lot of manual editing required.
To the point of setting the points manual would have been just as slow.
Here is something that could need attention, adding hitpoints to small noises clearly out of the catch range, should not happen.
Not mad, just a little disappointed :cry:
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by In_Stereo »

peakae wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:24 am
It's still hit and miss.
Just did some vocal alignment using hitpoints, and there are a lot of manual editing required.
To the point of setting the points manual would have been just as slow.
Here is something that could need attention, adding hitpoints to small noises clearly out of the catch range, should not happen.
Not mad, just a little disappointed :cry:
Agreed, it's still definitely not at the level I'm used to using with confidence in Pro Tools. Sometimes it's way off even on very obvious clear rhythm stuff, which takes away lots of valuable time in my tight schedule here; and sometimes it's fine.
Latest Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, i9 10920x 12-core 4.8gHz, 128 gigs RAM, AMD RX-550 , plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Martijn70
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by Martijn70 »

It's still not as good as recycle

beerbong
Member
Posts: 853
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by beerbong »

Using the hot-key modifiers is essential to the manual editing part to get proper results.
hold alt - locate
hold shift - delete

there is still room for the locate of hitpoints as the results are very limited.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by Puma0382 »

peakae wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:24 am
It's still hit and miss.
Just did some vocal alignment using hitpoints, and there are a lot of manual editing required.
To the point of setting the points manual would have been just as slow.
Here is something that could need attention, adding hitpoints to small noises clearly out of the catch range, should not happen.
Not mad, just a little disappointed :cry:
Agreed. There is still a lot of poor accuracy with the detection algorithm; its not a question of 'could' need attention - it does need attention.! ;)
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
lordadb
Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by lordadb »

No way. :evil:

Image
Cubase Pro 10.5.20 (italian) - Win 10 Pro x64 - CPU AMD FX-8350 @ 4.42 GHz - RAM 16 GB - TC Electronic StudioKonnekt 48 (x2) - ATI Sapphire R7 250 Ultimate - Controller: Steinberg CMC-CH, Icon Qcon Pro X+XS, Novation Remote ZERO SL
My studio gears: http://lipstickstudio.maurolamanna.it/a ... -list-ita/

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by suntower »

Ditto.

And I don't mean to be snarky when I ask: Did it -ever- work properly? If so, when.

I ask because about once every major version I will try it with, say, a piano piece or some drums and when it's obviously -wrong-, even on a relatively simple bit, I forget about it until the next version. So I may have missed something.

I want to get a sense of how it -should- work so I can determine if it's -me- or the program. I open my old copy of Ableton Live Lite and it just -works-. I don't have to guess, or think about it. It just works.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by GargoyleStudio »

Yep, I'll add my support here to request that Steinberg refine their algorithm. I used it the other day and it just seemed to be completely random. The problem really was that it created many points that were just useless and this was on a guitar track which had clearly defined notes. So in the end I had to do it the old fashioned time consuming manual way :)

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

beerbong
Member
Posts: 853
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by beerbong »

I also find that for guitar tracks in particular that for me they hitpoints rarely work. Other material I find it works marvelously, like sound effects or drums.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

User avatar
MarcoE
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by MarcoE »

+1
I also used it recently and was surprised about the random result...
Cubase Pro 10.5.20 @ Windows 10 Home v2004 @ i9-9900K 32GB @ Gigabyte Z370 HD3P

trevsonic
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 3:50 pm
Location: Denver
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by trevsonic »

THIS USED TO BE MUCH BETTER!!! i just posted an issue with this...dammit
- trevsonic

www.trevorhuster.com

cubase 10.5, wavelab 7, FirefaceRME800, Custom Hack 16g, Macbook Pro 16g, U87, Avalon 737, Distressor, Pacifica, ISA 428, 100 keyboards, keytars, accordions, guitars, basses, saxes...whatever

beanstalk40
Junior Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by beanstalk40 »

Is there a better option with a third party vst instrument?
Machine 1 - WIN 10 x64, Cubase 10.5 Pro, Intel Core i7 4790k, Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H, 16GB RAM, EMU 1820M, Komplete 12 Ultimate

Machine 2 (laptop) - WIN 8.1 x64, Cubase 10.5 Pro, HP Envy J111TX, Core i7 4700MQ, 8GB RAM, Audient ID4, Komplete 12 Ultimate

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by In_Stereo »

It's very frustrating to use for someone like me who's coming from Pro Tools. Compared to PT, Cubase hitpoint detection is often inaccurate and unreliable. From what I understand this has been pointed out or years, so unfortunately I wouldn't hold your breath. :( It's definitely even worse now than when I started with V8.5.
Latest Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, i9 10920x 12-core 4.8gHz, 128 gigs RAM, AMD RX-550 , plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Arijalmari
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection still not working properly in 9.5

Post by Arijalmari »

WOW... It used to work... :(
Attachments
CubaseHitPoints.png
(78.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 10.5 | Asus P8Z77-V | Intel Core i5-3570 | 32gb RAM | Win7 Pro x64 | M-Audio ProFire 2626 | Art DPS II | iPad Air 2, iPad Pro 11 | Cubasis 2&3 | Cubase iC Pro | M Audio Oxygen 88 | Novation Circuit

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests