32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
chris995
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:02 pm
Contact:

32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by chris995 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:12 pm

Steinberg,

We, your loyal customers, hereby ask you to please bridge support for 32bit plugin as you did with Cubase 8.5 64bit We understand that time and company resources have gone into the production of the Cubase 9 platform. We value the work, talent, and innovation that has created such an incredible audio technology. It does not go unrecognised. We want to keep the legacy of our 32bit plugins in full perpetuity, so when someone asks "how did you get such an incredible mix?", we can answer by saying... "Cubase". Please leave us with the tools to make this technology continue to live.

Respectfully... your loyal customer,

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by Raphie » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:01 pm

You’ve got jbridge. F#CK 32bits it’s BAD for stability and there are plenty of current 64bit alternatives.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:05 pm

The internal bit bridge is NEVER coming back, and it doesn't need to because jBridge is just plain better.

Besides, it's been 10 years since 64 bit DAWs became widely used. There are likely dozens of better sounding 64 bit alternatives to every single 32 bit plugin that you might still be using, including the very old Overdrive plugin you mentioned in another thread.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

chris995
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by chris995 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:31 pm

Simple +1 for guys who actually are interested in signing :)

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by Raphie » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:48 pm

So you figured out the first 2 aren't. ;)
Seriously it's a non request. there is Jbridge and stability improvements in C9 have been HUGE.
32bit non compliant plugins are a pain in the neck and the cause of all evil, they are banned and everyone stubborn enough to keep using them is on their own. This is the only way it can be. I run 64bit VST3 flavours only and my system has NEVER been this stable.
Last edited by Raphie on Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

wcreed
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:01 pm
Location: Berskshires, MA USA
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by wcreed » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:48 pm

While you're at it, why not petition for a version of Cubase that runs on your Commodore 64
Bill Reed
Dorico, Cubase, Overture, Sibelius, Finale, Notion
Win10 x64, 32GB RAM; iPad2; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
August Forster 190

folkfreak
Member
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by folkfreak » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:49 pm

-1
use jbridge for gods sake, It was better than the bulldt in bridge anyway.
Steinberg should concentrate on more important things

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:50 pm

Nope... Not 1 bit!!!

We, your loyal customers, hereby ask you to focus on new innovative improvements and bug fixes instead of wasting resources on something that was never going to work very well. We value the work, talent, and innovation that has created such an incredible audio technology. It does not go unrecognised. We don't want to keep the legacy of our 32bit plugins so when someone asks "how did you get such an incredible mix?", we can answer by saying... "Cubase". Please continue bringing us the tools to make this technology thrive in the future.

Respectfully yours... MitchieMasha
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

chris995
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by chris995 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:07 pm

Brutal indeed :) - Looks like plan B to hire a programmer to port these over to 64 myself

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by Raphie » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:17 pm

What plugins are you talking about? You mentioned some “overdrive” what else? Please provide some
exact product information with URLs so we know what you’re talking about.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by In_Stereo » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:45 pm

Yes, I have to say I actively do not support this idea -- 32-bit is in the past with Cubase, and even though I lost a few plugins I used to love, I've found replacements and have moved on completely. I don't say that to be mean at all, I say that to be realistic. Cubase has many major core engine/GUI/etc. issues that need to be fixed, and 32-bit is already gone.

Plus, jBridge - I had it and used it all of the time before I went all 64-bit. Cheap and highly effective.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

chris995
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by chris995 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:47 pm

overdrive & qf1 (qf2 no good)

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by Raphie » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:59 pm

What overdrive? There are tons of plugins called overdrive?!?
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

chris995
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by chris995 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:07 pm

Overdrive cubase legacy plugin

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by planarchist » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:53 pm

wcreed wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:48 pm
While you're at it, why not petition for a version of Cubase that runs on your Commodore 64
Now this is silly...but surely it wouldn't be hard to get it working back on that old Atari ST I still have in the loft. ;)

But I still want it to be 64 bit.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by djw » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:00 pm

It's not gonna happen.

chris995
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by chris995 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:34 pm

:(

User avatar
Dieselmachine
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:32 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by Dieselmachine » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:07 pm

-1 too
Steinberg Cubase Pro (10.0.30) | Presonus Studio One Professional 4.5.2 | Workstation (i7 32GB RAM) & Microsoft Surface 4 Pro (i7 16GB RAM) both x64 w/ Windows 10 Pro (1803) | Motu 828mkII Hybrid | Komplete Kontrol S-88 | Behringer X-Touch | Arturia KeyLab 25 | Steinberg CMC Controllers | Presonus StudioLive 32 Series III Console | Presonus StudioLive 32 Series III Rack | Tascam 85-16B Tape Recorder

http://www.pumpstoss.com

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1294
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by matjones » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:55 am

See posts 2, 5 & 8....
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

djgraver
Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by djgraver » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:12 am

C9 dont need 32x bridge.
C9 need old SX3 plugins in 64x
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:14 am

It really doesnt
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 693
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by Nickeldome » Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:14 pm

-1

32bit plugin support creates stability issues. Also because most of the time it concerns older plugins that haven't been updated for years. Alternatively there is jbridge which is better and more stable than the Steinberg VST bridge has ever been. Or if you don't want to spent the enormous amount of €14,99 install a copy of CB 8.5. IMO it's actually a non discussion.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

-6db
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by -6db » Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:09 pm

This topic sure brings out the silliness in people.

First, the only reason using 32 bit plugs can be unstable is because Cubase's native 32bit bridding app sucked. I figured out way back on Cubase 7 that I could dramatically increase Cubase's stability by removing it from the Components folder.

Jbridge, on the other hand, works flawlessly. And I still use 32bit plugs without issue.

The real silliness comes from those arguing that 32bit plugs are somehow obsolete and that we should move on.

To those folks I would just ask, have you seen Moby's vintage synth collection? If not, I recommend Googling it. It's awe inspiring.

Can you imagine telling Moby he can't use his vintage synths because they're obsolete? Can you picture how ridiculous that would sound?

We are fast approaching the age when old VST plugins are starting to qualify as "vintage." And for those of us artists who love them, being told that we shouldn't want to use them is as ridiculous as telling Moby he shouldn't want to use his Roland Juno-106.

And to highlight the irony of all this, I should add that one of my favorite "vintage" plugs is the Steinberg/Wizoo X-Phraze. This is one of the coolest synth plugs ever made. And it will NEVER be converted to 64bit because the Steinberg/Wizoo alliance that created it no longer exists.

Now, with all this in mind, I still don't find it such a big deal that Steinberg has abandoned 32bit. Why? Because, as I said, Jbridge works fine.

But in the big scheme of things, it really is astounding that, in the year 2017, Steinberg has both failed to make their software strong enough to handle 32bit plugs, and failed to grasp the value in doing so.

User avatar
metl4evr
Junior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Massachusetts, US of A
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by metl4evr » Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:49 pm

Raphie wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:01 pm
You’ve got jbridge. F#CK 32bits it’s BAD for stability and there are plenty of current 64bit alternatives.
Agreed. BUT - man... I must say my projects are seriously hampered by the lack of it.
Cubase Pro 8.5 | WaveLab 9 | Windows 10 | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Babyface PRO | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Ping G25 Diamana 'ahina 70g Stiff

User avatar
metl4evr
Junior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Massachusetts, US of A
Contact:

Re: 32BIT PLUGIN BRIDGE PETITION. Please sign.

Post by metl4evr » Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:52 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:05 pm
The internal bit bridge is NEVER coming back, and it doesn't need to because jBridge is just plain better.

Besides, it's been 10 years since 64 bit DAWs became widely used. There are likely dozens of better sounding 64 bit alternatives to every single 32 bit plugin that you might still be using, including the very old Overdrive plugin you mentioned in another thread.
I disagree sir. There are a few 32bit plugs that I still use to this very day because there IS NO better alternative. Quadrafuzz V1 and Overdrive are definitely two that come to mind.

Otherwise, I agree 100%. I don't understand why Steiny just doesn't make 64 bit versions of their valued older plugs. THEN ixnay the 32 bit plugs, that way NO ONE can complain. Like Quadrafuzz and Overdrive. And don't say Quadrafuzz 2 because it isn't NEARLY the same, and doesn't have nearly the same ballsiness.
Cubase Pro 8.5 | WaveLab 9 | Windows 10 | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Babyface PRO | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Ping G25 Diamana 'ahina 70g Stiff

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests