Chord descriptions

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
phil555
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:06 pm
Contact:

Chord descriptions

Post by phil555 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:16 am

Why is there a disparity when it comes to chord descriptions. For instance when loading a C chord from Chord Pads onto a track, it shows as B#. Same with an F which shows as E#. Most confusing for people like me without a degree in music! 😞

User avatar
Rommelaar
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord descriptions

Post by Rommelaar » Thu Aug 31, 2017 11:30 am

This is fixed in 9.030 patch.
Rig: i7-5960X, Asus X99 Deluxe, Corsair LPX DDR4 64 GB RAM, Samsung 34" C34F791, Asus Strix GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Audio hardware:KRK Rokit 6, Steinberg UR44 / CMC: AI, 4xFD, CH, QC, TP, PD, Waldorf Blofeld & Pulse 2, ZOOM H6, Akai MAX49, Akai MPD226
Software: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Nuendo 10.2, Wavelab Pro 10 , Dorico 3, Spectralayers, RapidComposer v3.81
Favourite plugin developers: Fabfilter, Image Line, Spectrasonics, Steinberg, Synapse audio, Vengeance sound, Waldorf, Zynaptiq

phil555
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord descriptions

Post by phil555 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:29 pm

Is that available for Elements 9? And where do I download it from?

User avatar
Rommelaar
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord descriptions

Post by Rommelaar » Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:39 pm

Rig: i7-5960X, Asus X99 Deluxe, Corsair LPX DDR4 64 GB RAM, Samsung 34" C34F791, Asus Strix GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Audio hardware:KRK Rokit 6, Steinberg UR44 / CMC: AI, 4xFD, CH, QC, TP, PD, Waldorf Blofeld & Pulse 2, ZOOM H6, Akai MAX49, Akai MPD226
Software: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Nuendo 10.2, Wavelab Pro 10 , Dorico 3, Spectralayers, RapidComposer v3.81
Favourite plugin developers: Fabfilter, Image Line, Spectrasonics, Steinberg, Synapse audio, Vengeance sound, Waldorf, Zynaptiq

phil555
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord descriptions

Post by phil555 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:46 pm

Thanks Rommelaar, it's downloading now.

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1644
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Chord descriptions

Post by djw » Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:50 pm

This is why the update should be added in the Steinberg Hub. Maybe even as a pop-up.

Also, the last time I clean installed Cubase, it still only installed .20 automatically even when .30 was out.

phil555
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord descriptions

Post by phil555 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:48 pm

Well, I downloaded it and it seems that only half the job was done! The only problem now is the Chord editor still shows A#, C#, D#, F# and G#, which when selected appear as their flat equivalents. You wouldn't have thought that standardizing the nomenclature across the whole program would be beyond the wit of man (or woman!). I mean, why do half a job? It makes no sense at all.

Moan over.

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1644
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Chord descriptions

Post by djw » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:12 am

Damn, I thought it was solved now. Please report that to MySteinberg technical support.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3991
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Chord descriptions

Post by raino » Mon Sep 04, 2017 3:13 am

phil555 wrote:
Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:48 pm
Well, I downloaded it and it seems that only half the job was done! The only problem now is the Chord editor still shows A#, C#, D#, F# and G#, which when selected appear as their flat equivalents. You wouldn't have thought that standardizing the nomenclature across the whole program would be beyond the wit of man (or woman!). I mean, why do half a job? It makes no sense at all.

Moan over.
I'm so far from my DAW I can't confirm this for days. But I think if you add a Key Event in the Chord Track which has flats for the misidentified sharps they'll change to flats.

Chords without the supervision of a Key seem to on occasion misbehave. :o
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest