3.1 to 5

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
colin mold again
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

3.1 to 5

Post by colin mold again » Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:20 pm

Hi all,

A good friend of mine has given me a 5 update. Can I update 3.1 with this. If so am I likely to hit any horrendous problems. I have some critical projects on the go at the moment in 3.1 and realise that any software house would not do this without running the two side by side so any advice welcomed.

Colin.
Colin Mold

Guest

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by Guest » Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:01 pm

If you're talking upgrade, did he transfer the license to you? Was it a 3 to 5 upgrade to begin with? If no, you won't be able to run it.

colin mold again
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by colin mold again » Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:55 pm

Hi,

They bought 5 but realised you needed the licence key and didn't have one, so its been donated to me it as I have a fully paid up licence for 3.1 .

Colin.
Colin Mold

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by Split » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:13 pm

You would need to buy a licence to run C5 or an upgrade from 3.1 to 5

Your C3 licence is just that, a licence to run C3
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Guest

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by Guest » Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:14 pm

colin mold again wrote:Hi,

They bought 5 but realised you needed the licence key and didn't have one, so its been donated to me it as I have a fully paid up licence for 3.1 .

Colin.
Something sounds fishy, here. ;)

colin mold again
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by colin mold again » Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:57 pm

Nothing fishy at all. :) I have the box for 5 right in front of me (slightly to my right actually) and have been using a licensed version of 3.1 SX from Digital Village in Birmingham for six years now. Purchased from the good man Romluc. The 5 was bought in error by a friend I'm producing some music with. She didn't realise it required a dongel. She has given it to me in kind. If I had read the side of the box it does say "upgrade to 4 and sx3". So, looks like I'm in luck :!: but not until mission critical projects have been finished :)
Colin Mold

Guest

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by Guest » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:11 pm

Don't see how an upgrade could be bought without proof of ownership of the previous version. :?

colin mold again
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by colin mold again » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:19 pm

Why would you need proof of ownership ? You can either install it or you can't :?: Now I'm confused. Well i'll try and get an official answer. All I can say is that I have a legitimate box of the Cubase 5 update. I think we can kill this one for the time being. :)
Colin Mold

Guest

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by Guest » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:49 pm

As long as you have an activation code in the box, you should be all set. 8-)

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by Split » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:08 am

cool.

you should just go for it now, it'll install beside sx3 so you can still go with sx if you feel the need.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by Strophoid » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:06 pm

If the box says it's an upgrade from 3 to 5 and you have a valid 3 license everything is fine.
@Nate: You can buy upgrades whenever you want, without proving anything. The upgrade is worthless anyway if you don't own a license.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Guest

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by Guest » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:17 pm

Just going by when I bought mine in the US. They looked up my info before they would complete the sale. Guess it's changed. 8-)

colin mold again
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 3.1 to 5

Post by colin mold again » Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:53 pm

Well. Cheers all. Yes I have a the license code from 3.1\4 to 5 and the Halion Symphonic Orchestra 90 day trial !! and thanks for the info about installing side by side. Like you say - I may as well go for it - as of today it seems the mission critical project is so mission critical. Ah well - **** happens :D
Colin Mold

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests