Empty Stave again

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
Saxer
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:54 pm
Contact:

Empty Stave again

Post by Saxer »

I try to get a piano (lead sheet style) to hide the empty staves. But I can't get it to work.

Layout Options - Vertical Spacing - Hide empty Staves is set to "All Systems".
"Allow individual staves of multi-staff instruments to be hidden" is checked.
Exclude Piano: NOT checked.

Trying to remove the staff by "right click" - Staff - "Remove staff" is greyed out.

What am I missing?

Thanks,

Saxer
Attachments
1-HideStave.jpeg
(38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
2-HideStave.jpeg
(199.28 KiB) Not downloaded yet
3-HideStaff.png
(122.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8166
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by pianoleo »

Are those layout options applied to the correct layout, selected in the right side of the dialog?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

Saxer
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by Saxer »

I hope so... I selected the Piano wherever I could...
Attachments
4-HideStave.jpg
(312.36 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8166
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by pianoleo »

In that case, please zip up and post the project (or a cut-down version that only contains a few bars of that layout).
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

Saxer
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by Saxer »

Here's the Dorico Song.

Thanks for taking the time!
Attachments
The Test Song.zip
(1.04 MiB) Downloaded 16 times

rafaelv
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by rafaelv »

Hi Saxer,

Engraving options/ Chord symbols /Position of chord symbols on grand staff instruments, select "Above top staff"
Dorico Pro 3.5, Finale 25, Windows 10 pro, i7 4790k, 24GB

Saxer
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by Saxer »

rafaelv wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:56 pm
"Above top staff"
Is selected.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18559
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

No, it's not. Go to the Chord Symbols page of Engraving Options, click the Position subheading in the list on the left, and set 'Above top staff' instead of 'Between staves' for 'Position of chord symbols on grand staff instruments'.

Saxer
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by Saxer »

Oh, I see... I set the chord symbol position in Layout Options - Staves & Systems - Chord Symbols to "Above top staff of system" and the chords are actually written on top. So I have to set this in Engraving Options too to be able to hide staves. Works fine now, thanks!

What's the difference between both options?

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8166
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by pianoleo »

The Layout Option puts chord symbols above the top of the system, only. The Engraving Option specifically puts chord symbols on grand staff instruments above the top of the grand staff instrument (but will be overridden by the Layout Option in circumstances such as yours). If the Engraving Option is set to put chord symbols between the two staves of a grand staff instrument, the bottom stave can’t be hidden (because it would be impossible for the Engraving Option to work).
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

Saxer
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Empty Stave again

Post by Saxer »

Thanks a lot for that explanation! Very helpful!

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FredGUnn, rubberfingers and 7 guests