impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Use this forum to post about your macro page designs in HALion 6
Post Reply
miclo
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:22 am
Contact:

impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by miclo » Thu Dec 26, 2019 11:38 am

hello I have created a modulation matrix on the macro page, but midi modules such as lfo or envelopes do not appear as possible sources in the drop-down list, as they do if you do it from the matrix of any zone (Photo 1)
why are they not accessible, is it normal or is it that I am doing something wrong?
it is also not possible to control some parameters of the sample Osc editor in a proper way such as sample strat, sample end, loop start .... none works well with knob, slider, text or any other control, I understand that maybe they are a lot of values to handle them from a knob but there has to be some way to control them from the macro page as is done with the flags inside sampler.
please, gentlemen of steinbreg, I think they are two very important things so that they are not available.
Attachments
photo 1.png
(84.12 KiB) Not downloaded yet

miclo
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by miclo » Sat Dec 28, 2019 1:12 pm

Can someone confirm that it is not possible to do these two things?
:roll:

misohoza
Member
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by misohoza » Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:52 pm

hello I have created a modulation matrix on the macro page, but midi modules such as lfo or envelopes do not appear as possible sources in the drop-down list, as they do if you do it from the matrix of any zone (Photo 1)
why are they not accessible, is it normal or is it that I am doing something wrong?
You're right. It looks like a bug to me. Maybe you should report it.
it is also not possible to control some parameters of the sample Osc editor in a proper way such as sample strat, sample end, loop start .... none works well with knob, slider, text or any other control, I understand that maybe they are a lot of values to handle them from a knob but there has to be some way to control them from the macro page as is done with the flags inside sampler.
If you mean by clicking and dragging in the waveform display, then no. You can connect those parameter to knobs, sliders... but as you discovered it doesn't work very well. I guess the best option probably is value box.
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Dorico 3,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

miclo
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by miclo » Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:42 pm

You're right It looks like a bug to me. Maybe you should report it.
Thank you misohoza for confirming it, I thank you.
How do I report the error? Do I have to send some email to the support?
  You can connect those parameter to knobs, sliders ... but as you discovered it doesn't work very well.
It is not that they do not work very well, is that they simply hit some jumps that it is impossible to adjust (or have you got it to work decently?)

 
I guess the best option is probably value box.
In fact, this is the only control that is going well, but it does not have any use since it moves in steps one by one and however small the sample usually has more than 300,000 steps so you can spend a lifetime to adjust it :)

please gentlemen of steinberg you need a solution for this ...

misohoza
Member
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by misohoza » Sun Dec 29, 2019 12:49 am

How do I report the error? Do I have to send some email to the support?
I meant to post it in Issues section of the forum.
It is not that they do not work very well, is that they simply hit some jumps that it is impossible to adjust (or have you got it to work decently?)
You could use a combination of value box and sliders.

Here's one way how to do it. You can type in the value into the box or click into the waveform. It's not perfect because you need to select which parameter you want to edit by clicking and/or dragging in the waveform.
Sample Osc.zip
(8.73 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Dorico 3,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

miclo
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by miclo » Sun Dec 29, 2019 1:15 pm

cool, I take my hat off to you.
I know that I am not in a position to ask for anything so I fully understand that I ignore this, there would be a couple of details that would have to be done to make this functional ...
* The flags would have to respond to snap to zero crossing when activated, to avoid clicking
* It would also be necessary to control the sustain lopp XFade parameter, as you have done with the sampleStart and the others
* the drawn loop selection has to disappear when loop is off.
* zoom on the sample (I guess this is already too much;))

I know this is a steinberg thing and I will put it in suggestions (Feature Requests) since this seems very necessary to me.
thanks again for your time

misohoza
Member
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by misohoza » Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:28 am

The macro page waveform control is more of a visual aid rather than a full blown sample editor. So some of the functionality is not easy to implement on macro page. Maybe it was done like that on purpose.

Hiding the drawn loop selection could be done with a range slider and disable control linked to loop mode parameter. That's the easy bit.

For the crossfade parameter you could add another value box, but you wouldn't see the resulting crossfade reflected in the waveform.

While zooming could be done it would conflict with the horizontal faders that span the entire sample length.

As far as I know there's no way to figure out zero crossings with current scripting possibilities.
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Dorico 3,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

miclo
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by miclo » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:56 pm

As far as I know there's no way to figure out zero crossings with current scripting possibilities.
Too bad this would be the most important thing.
I think I will have to do it again with the selection of zones, with a scrip that you modify (based on a script of yours, called Layer Selector) that bypass the midi input of all the zones, except the selected one.
the problem is that I also need to select the choice zone as if you manually select it from program so that for example the play post function is seen touring the envelopes of the selected zone
any clue on how to do it about this script

Code: Select all

zones = this.parent:findZones()

function getZoneNames()
  zoneNames = {}
  for i, zone in ipairs(zones) do
        zoneNames[i] = zone.name
  end
end

getZoneNames()

defineParameter("ZoneSelect", nil, 1, zoneNames)


function onNote(event)
  playNote(event.note, event.velocity, -1, zones[ZoneSelect])
end
regards

misohoza
Member
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by misohoza » Tue Dec 31, 2019 4:42 pm

miclo wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:56 pm
As far as I know there's no way to figure out zero crossings with current scripting possibilities.
Too bad this would be the most important thing.
I think I will have to do it again with the selection of zones, with a scrip that you modify (based on a script of yours, called Layer Selector) that bypass the midi input of all the zones, except the selected one.
the problem is that I also need to select the choice zone as if you manually select it from program so that for example the play post function is seen touring the envelopes of the selected zone
any clue on how to do it about this script

Code: Select all

zones = this.parent:findZones()

function getZoneNames()
  zoneNames = {}
  for i, zone in ipairs(zones) do
        zoneNames[i] = zone.name
  end
end

getZoneNames()

defineParameter("ZoneSelect", nil, 1, zoneNames)


function onNote(event)
  playNote(event.note, event.velocity, -1, zones[ZoneSelect])
end
regards
Not sure I understand what you are trying to do.

Do you have an Envelope template and you want it to be linked to currently selected zone?

You can find more info about editing scope here:
https://steinberg.help/halion/v6/en/hal ... ope_c.html

Here's an example preset. It has a simple UI script that creates a string list parameter (variable) used to set the scope.
Amp Envelope.zip
(10.65 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Dorico 3,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

miclo
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by miclo » Thu Jan 02, 2020 2:39 pm

Not sure I understand what you are trying to do.
sorry my english is really bad :(
Do you have an Envelope template and you want it to be linked to currently selected zone?
exactly, what I would like is that when choosing an area it is linked with the envelopes. I realized with your example that I was missing the script to be inserted in the main macro folder to be able to use the scope in the group folders of the envelopes, however the example does not work, but I think it is because I have the zones put in layers, attached photo so you can see my configuration. You will see how in the macro page zone there is no Zone in parameter value.
thank you very much for your help and happy new year
Attachments
photo 1.png
(102.86 KiB) Not downloaded yet

misohoza
Member
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by misohoza » Thu Jan 02, 2020 5:19 pm

however the example does not work, but I think it is because I have the zones put in layers
Yes.

You need to adjust the ui script so that it actually finds the zones.

Code: Select all

for i = 1, 2 do -- Check first 2 layers
  local layer = getElement():getLayer(i)
  local zones = layer:findZones()

  local zoneScopes = {}

  for j = 1, #zones do
    zoneScopes[j] = "@0:"..layer.name.."/@0:"..zones[j].name.."/"
  end

  defineParameter("ZoneSelect"..i, nil, 1, zoneScopes)
end
This checks first two layers and creates a ZoneSelect parameter for each layer. If you need to search more layers change first line of the script.
Amp Envelope 2.zip
(8.7 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Dorico 3,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

miclo
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by miclo » Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:29 pm

Hi
sorry because I had to put this before, the way I use the envelopes is different from yours.
I use amp, filter and pitch envelopes in a common way for the two layers (I don't want them independent) so I use the @type: Layer / @ type: Zone / for all the parameters of the envelopes.
when using its scripts, the scope causes each zone to have an individual edition of the envelope and ignores (@type: Layer / @ type: Zone /)
Without using the scope, envelope tracking only happens when I am in zone 1 of layer 1.
With midi envelopes there is no problem always follow up.
I have modified your program with an exact configuration to the one I have.
so you can see better what I mean

regards
Attachments
Amp Envelope 2 (mod).zip
(15.44 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

misohoza
Member
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by misohoza » Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:49 pm

I see now.

When you set the scope like this it affects all zones but displays the controls for and "tracks" the first zone. If the first zone doesn't play it doesn't show the playback position.

So you need to make sure first zone always plays.
Do you have more layers? Some that don't use the zone selector script?

Move it up in the program tree so it appears first (from top of the program tree)
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Dorico 3,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

miclo
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: impossible to access midi modules and control some parameters of the sample osc

Post by miclo » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:35 pm

If I had a layer with an oscillator, I have put this layer the first in the program tree and now there is always follow-up of the envelope, thank you very much, steinberg I should give you a salary :)

Post Reply

Return to “Macro Page Design”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest