Key Commands!

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
Post Reply
Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Key Commands!

Post by Joe90 »

I know the trend right now is all about drag and drop functionality from a big row of fancy plugin gui's, but every fast working professional I know does not work this way... They utilise key commands/shorcuts/hotkeys (call them what you like) at every opportunity they can, because it's MUCH quicker and easier than drag and drop, especially if you are a half decent typist (i.e. can fire off key commands without needing to look down at the keyboard). Not to mention the wrist strain that can occur from the repeated drag and drop movement, because it requires finger pressure for the whole drag... sounds silly I know, but when you're doing this 8-10 hours a day, every day, it matters.

Cubase is a bit lacking in the key commands area IMO, here are some options that I'd love to see -

'Bounce and Replace' - A no brainer as far as I'm concerned - simply a bounce without the the annoying dialog that needs clicking. Useful for macros too.

'Open 'insert' menu for selected track' - This would simply be the same menu you get when you click in a blank insert slot, except it would float at the mouse cursor, so you can hit the key command, type the first few letters of your plugin as normal, hit enter, and it's loaded on the currently selected track, in the next available slot... this sounds trivial but trust me it's so much quicker when your workflow involves loading a lot of plugins.

'Add plugin 'X' and load preset 'X' for selected track' - Again it would load in the next available slot for the selected track. See Studio One's implementation of this for a good example, it's elegant... when you setup the key command it brings up a dialog that allows you to select the plugin, then select a preset from it's list of presets, you can then name the key command what you like, and assign it. This would work especially well with the ongoing request for plugin renaming - as you can load up an instance of your favourite EQ, set up a HPF, save it as a preset called 'HPF', then rename the plugin instance to 'HPF'. Then when you save that preset to a key command, it will always load as 'HPF' and appear as such in the mixer... you can see how this would speed up your workflow.

'Insert Track with Track Preset 'X'' - using this you could create a variety of key commands/mid cc's/metagrid buttons for different VSti's, already setup with your desired drum map/expressions maps/quick controls/inserts etc... and load them from one key/button. Would also be helpful for quickly loading your standard vocal recording track for example, rather than digging through the track presets menu, where all these things are stored in separate folders.

'Move plugin window to mouse cursor' - this makes life so much easier on large/multimonitor setups... again it's one of those things that you don't realise how helpful it is until you use it. While we're on the subject - I'd love an option to make all plugin windows appear centred at the mouse cursor whenever opened. This request also pairs well the next one -

'Open plugin 'X' window on selected track' - This could work by name or by insert slot, both would be useful. I use this in Reaper to (for example) always open ProQ on the selected track, which I use as my main 'channel EQ'. This means that whichever channel is selected, i only need to press my shortcut (ctrl - E) and my 'channel EQ' appears straight at my mouse cursor... again this would pair well with the request to rename plugin instances and save them with the new name.

'Toggle Grid between Relative/Standard' - Self explanatory.

Separate 'Snap on' and 'Snap off' commands - again, self explanatory.

'Focus Main Window/Mixconsole' etc... - Shortcuts for toggling focus between different windows, mainly useful for macros.

Separate key commands for toggling the different right zone media sections, VST Instruments, User Presets, Favourites etc.

Key Commands for applying the various ARA extensions - Melodyne/Vocalign etc.

I'm sure there are more but these are off the top of my head. Feel free to chime in if you think of any more - hopefully if we get some momentum on this thread someone might take notice for 10.5 :)
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

TheScientist
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by TheScientist »

Some of these are great, moving plugin to mouse cursor could be a huge time saver.

User avatar
jordikt
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:35 pm
Location: Girona
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by jordikt »

+1
Agree100%: shortcuts are better than mouse actions. Shortcuts for plugins are now very limited.

currentsound
Member
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:16 am
Location: Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by currentsound »

I'd like to add two more.

Comp Tool when Alt Key is Held (Slicing Comp Tool) should be key command assignable and should appear in Generic Remote
The Comp Tool has a shortcut. But the Comp Tool can be assigned a shortcut but the Comp Tool when the Alt key is pressed does not and does not appear in any key command lists. This means, I need my keyboard just to press the alt key all of the time when I can assign the Comp Tool to be triggered by Cubase generic remote, I can't get it to trigger a slice other than slicing the entire Cubase project or with the scissors. The Comp Tool Slice, can't be selected or assigned by a control surface. This is annoying as a I assign every other function in Cubase that I commonly use to the control surface but I can't put the keyboard aside because I need to keep pressing Alt on it all the time.


Also Cubase seems to ignore 3rd party midi to keystroke software for some reason so if your key command is not in the list, you can't assign it.
So there should be...

User assignable macro keystroke buttons in the lower zone.
Selectable via touch screen, clicking, or pressing another keystroke (single key) and/or able to be triggered via Generic Remote.

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Joe90 »

currentsound wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:54 am
I'd like to add two more.

Comp Tool when Alt Key is Held (Slicing Comp Tool) should be key command assignable and should appear in Generic Remote
The Comp Tool has a shortcut. But the Comp Tool can be assigned a shortcut but the Comp Tool when the Alt key is pressed does not and does not appear in any key command lists. This means, I need my keyboard just to press the alt key all of the time when I can assign the Comp Tool to be triggered by Cubase generic remote, I can't get it to trigger a slice other than slicing the entire Cubase project or with the scissors. The Comp Tool Slice, can't be selected or assigned by a control surface. This is annoying as a I assign every other function in Cubase that I commonly use to the control surface but I can't put the keyboard aside because I need to keep pressing Alt on it all the time.


Also Cubase seems to ignore 3rd party midi to keystroke software for some reason so if your key command is not in the list, you can't assign it.
So there should be...

User assignable macro keystroke buttons in the lower zone.
Selectable via touch screen, clicking, or pressing another keystroke (single key) and/or able to be triggered via Generic Remote.

Good shout! Regarding the macro section in the lower zone - if you have a spare tablet lying around you should give the metagrid app a go (if you haven't already) - not exactly what you're describing I know, but it might provide the functionality you're after.

While I'm here - here's another one - a mouse modifier for split (ignore snap) would also be good - I use the alt modifier for quick splitting all the time, and it would be nice if I could hold alt+shift for example to split ignoring snap - I know you can get this by switching to the scissor tool, it just require a lot more clicks.
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

currentsound
Member
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:16 am
Location: Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by currentsound »

Joe90 wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 11:59 pm
if you have a spare tablet lying around you should give the metagrid app a go (if you haven't already) - not exactly what you're describing I know, but it might provide the functionality you're after.
Hi Joe, I've heard of MetaGrid. It looks cool. I think it just uses generic remote commands, which I can already assign to things. I tried a midi to keyboard macro app on Win 10 but Cubase seems to ignore the output of it even though it works for other applications like word and notepad. Not sure if Cubase would accept a key command macro from Metagrid or not on Win 10? Unfortunately, there is no room for an ipad. The desk is covered in physical control surfaces and midi controllers. There a bunch of buttons free that I can assign to things. I just wish there was a way to assign the Comp Splitter Tool. I might try Metagrid in a smaller studio that I'm setting up but I'm pretty happy having physical buttons labeled for things as I work long hours and touch screens aren't the best to use for long hours if you can avoid it.

User avatar
jordikt
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:35 pm
Location: Girona
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by jordikt »

Please also add a keycommand to switch on/off the option of "Window always in front" of the plugin windows and the marker window.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by In_Stereo »

I support this heartily, and I agree that key commands are often faster than drag n drop -- but not always.
Latest Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, i9 10920x 12-core 4.8gHz, 128 gigs RAM, AMD RX-550 , plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Joe90 »

In_Stereo wrote:
Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:54 am
I support this heartily, and I agree that key commands are often faster than drag n drop -- but not always.
Cheers. That's true - stuff like routing/copying sends, or copying and pasting a specific plugin from one insert slot to another is absolutely better with drag and drop, for example. (Having said that, if there was a key command for 'copy currently open/focused plugin including settings' and another for 'paste plugin with settings to next available slot on selected track' - I do think I'd actually use that).

On a side point - I think what's interesting is that many of these requests are not asking for new functions, they are just faster methods of implementing a function that already exists - so I'd like to think it wouldn't require TOO much time/effort at the programming end to implement. In fact, many of them could probably be replicated with complex autohotkey scripts if you are advanced enough to program them (I'm not).
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

User avatar
jordikt
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:35 pm
Location: Girona
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by jordikt »

90% of the times I like to have the same name in description field and name field in info line of audio events.

It should be nice to have 2 new KeyCommands:

1- Copy name field to description field of all events of the selected track
2- Copy name field to description field of all events of the project

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Joe90 »

Here's another - midi 'trim to contents' sometimes called 'crop to contents'.

Simply crops a midi event at either end, around the data it contains, including CC.
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

oneirogen
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:32 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by oneirogen »

Great suggestions! +1

A key command to 'loop cycle markers' is also needed. I don't understand it's not already there.


Edit: And one to 'Toggle Fader (Inspector)'. Its a pain in ass having to click your way to that fader on Instrument Tracks.

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Joe90 »

oneirogen wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:38 pm
Great suggestions! +1

A key command to 'loop cycle markers' is also needed. I don't understand it's not already there.


Edit: And one to 'Toggle Fader (Inspector)'. Its a pain in ass having to click your way to that fader on Instrument Tracks.
Good shout.

I'm one of those people who'd like to see an actual pan/volume fader/knob on every channel like protools/S1/Reaper - as this makes these adjustments so much easier, but that's a subject for another thread.

It strikes me that if we had a global 'all floating windows appear at mouse cursor' then you could just select the channel, press the key command to open the channel edit window (where you can see the fader, inserts, sends, strip, eq and routing all together) and it would appear at the mouse cursor ready to adjust anyway, and you wouldn't need to go digging through that bloody inspector panel (which I agree is cumbersome).
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Joe90 »

Oh - and how could I forget one of the most important ones - mousewheel+modifier for VERTICAL zoom!

Come on Steinberg... we've been asking for this one for ages! I am aware that it took up until version 10 until we actually got a shortcut for vertical zoom at ALL, so I'm not holding out too much hope unfortunately.

I've been a Cubase user for about 15 years but I've been testing the waters with Reaper for the last couple of months, and when you start to realise the workflow advantages that these basic things bring, it really opens your eyes. Not to mention that since I've been using it I've noticed maybe 5 or 6 little niggles like the ones I'm talking about here, extra modifiers I need for existing functions, that kind of thing, I've posted on them the forum, and at least three of them have been addressed, often within DAYS there's a new version of Reaper uploaded with a fix!

If you want to know what I mean, take a look at this vid, it shows some of the key commands I referenced in my first post as well as other things (some of them are actually features I loved in Cubase that scripters have recreated in Reaper).

https://youtu.be/Kg3D08UPoDk

If we don't start seeing some of this stuff for 10.5 then I expect Reaper will become my main DAW, and I expect Steiny will keep losing users to S1 and Reaper.
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

kostal
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by kostal »

jordikt wrote:
Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:50 pm
90% of the times I like to have the same name in description field and name field in info line of audio events.

It should be nice to have 2 new KeyCommands:

1- Copy name field to description field of all events of the selected track
2- Copy name field to description field of all events of the project
Yes!
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, Wavelab, Halion, Groove Agent // MacOS

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Joe90 »

Well....

At least we got discrete snap on/off commands I guess.

Sigh.
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

Pablo1980
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Pablo1980 »

Yes. I was hoping for lots more of keycommands like opening the channel editor of the instrument track that is from a midi channel
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 9990k - Gigabyte Aorus Pro Z390 - 64gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10.5 64bit - Cubase 10.5 Pro - Vepro 7 (two add PCs)

ericmusicstrasbourg
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by ericmusicstrasbourg »

https://sellfy.com/zendaw


you can speed up the workflow with cubazen and a touch screen. there is a demo version for cubase and nuendo. A solution with a cheap touch screen. macros and icons to work better.

try it!

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by In_Stereo »

Joe90 wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:19 pm
Oh - and how could I forget one of the most important ones - mousewheel+modifier for VERTICAL zoom!

Come on Steinberg... we've been asking for this one for ages! I am aware that it took up until version 10 until we actually got a shortcut for vertical zoom at ALL, so I'm not holding out too much hope unfortunately.

I've been a Cubase user for about 15 years but I've been testing the waters with Reaper for the last couple of months, and when you start to realise the workflow advantages that these basic things bring, it really opens your eyes. Not to mention that since I've been using it I've noticed maybe 5 or 6 little niggles like the ones I'm talking about here, extra modifiers I need for existing functions, that kind of thing, I've posted on them the forum, and at least three of them have been addressed, often within DAYS there's a new version of Reaper uploaded with a fix!

If you want to know what I mean, take a look at this vid, it shows some of the key commands I referenced in my first post as well as other things (some of them are actually features I loved in Cubase that scripters have recreated in Reaper).

https://youtu.be/Kg3D08UPoDk

If we don't start seeing some of this stuff for 10.5 then I expect Reaper will become my main DAW, and I expect Steiny will keep losing users to S1 and Reaper.
I agree with everything you've written here! Have been testing Reaper waters, too, and Cubase would do well to note exactly the kinds of things you mention.
Latest Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, i9 10920x 12-core 4.8gHz, 128 gigs RAM, AMD RX-550 , plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

kostal
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by kostal »

+1
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, Wavelab, Halion, Groove Agent // MacOS

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Joe90 »

ericmusicstrasbourg wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 6:30 pm
https://sellfy.com/zendaw


you can speed up the workflow with cubazen and a touch screen. there is a demo version for cubase and nuendo. A solution with a cheap touch screen. macros and icons to work better.

try it!
Yeah... I don't have a touch screen but I do have a 6 page metagrid macro setup on my ipad for Cubase and it certainly helps. However, whenever I need access to a list of actions in Reaper I just create a new dropdown menu or popup toolbar (with any icons I like), and set it to appear at my mouse cursor with a hotkey or button. My studio ipad is gathering dust.

I love Cubase, I've used it for about 15 years and made some genuine hit records with it, but Reaper is now my main DAW.

If Steinberg fixes the inconsistent core loading, constant audio interrupts on routing/adding/removing FX/sends etc, and opens up the key commands a LOT (or creates some kind of scripting/advancement to the logical editor that allows us to create these key commands ourselves) then I will be happy to make a return, there are still many things I love about it... Channel EQ gui's in the mixer for example, or variaudio, which is hands down the BEST vocal tuning software of any DAW. I use melodyne now via ARA, and it's great, I know it well, but I still pine for variaudio :D I can tune a vocal SO FAST in variaudio. The way they've set up the little handles around the notes is so elegant and fast to use (once you tick the 'advanced mode' or whatever it's called).
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

Tj99
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by Tj99 »

A key command to open the automation window of a track. To quickly add Insert/send/etc automation, without having to click around 1000 times each time.
Recording - Mixing - Mastering

ericmusicstrasbourg
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands!

Post by ericmusicstrasbourg »

the function allowing to open the window of edition exists. it is necessary to pass generic peripheral. in a new generic device, a new command must be created. it is then necessary to assign a CC or NRPN and a physical button of one of the devices that cubase knows. this is done in the top window.

in the bottom window you have to look for the edition menu. there are two. the first is to open the channel strip edit window. the second to open the plugin of an insert type slot.


on the other hand, what is regrettable is that the generic peripherals are recharged only when a new project is created. but when inserting a vstFX as an insert on a slot if a generic device has been created allowing this vstfx to be controlled, it does not automatically recharge. you have to go back to the studio menu and reload with the import menu the generic peripheral which allows you to control this vstfx. It's a shame because the generic peripheral tool is fabulous. you can even assign macros to a button !!!

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests