Automatic Zone Highlighting

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
Post Reply
DRDRDR
Junior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Automatic Zone Highlighting

Post by DRDRDR » Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:35 pm

When there are several Cubase Zones displayed, please make the selection of the highlighted zone automatically change following the mouse's cursor location.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Automatic Zone Highlighting

Post by -steve- » Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:46 pm

I don't use the mouse all the time- I want to have both hands on the keyboard- will I have to remember which mouse hover pref I have set, and then switch it to get at the function I want?

In my own opinion, there are enough challenges in regard to keyboard focus, this would add another layer to the convolution. :)
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

DRDRDR
Junior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Automatic Zone Highlighting

Post by DRDRDR » Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:59 pm

-steve- wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:46 pm
will I have to remember which mouse hover pref I have set?
No, you won't. An entry in the preferences, set and forget. Besides the fact that the mouse movement will or not move the visual highlighting of the zone's frame, the default can be the current setting so you won't even have to touch it. Actually, this option already exists, and you didn't select it, so you're all good... and I can be all good too. It doesn't and I am not but you get my point.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Automatic Zone Highlighting

Post by -steve- » Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:43 pm

I get your point ;) :lol:

My reason for posting is that if there's a pref, people will use it, and if they find it useful, they'll incorporate it into their workflow. Then, they will forget which way they have it set, and something unexpected will happen. The next day they will not understand what happened, and the following year, when they reflect upon having been not even nominated for a Grammy, they'll totally understand it's because of stupid Cubase.

Anyway, maybe a ton of people would like this! Just not me. The addition of new prefs should be made very conservatively, which is what i think they try to do.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
SpicyPonyHead
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Automatic Zone Highlighting

Post by SpicyPonyHead » Sun Jun 30, 2019 10:30 pm

+1000!

I'm sick of going to mute a MIDI note in the lower zone, only to realise I've forgotten to click-to-highlight the bloody thing first!

The fact that this isn't default behaviour seems dumb to me - if I've got my mouse pointer in a particular zone, then it's probably pretty safe to assume that I want to actually do something in that zone, as opposed to hitting a key command and having it change the cursor behaviour in a completely different part of the screen.
Main DAW: Intel i7 8700k | Asus Prime Z370a w/Thunderbolt ex3 | 32Gb ram | GTX1080 | Windows 10 Pro (latest version)
Laptop: Mid-2014 MacBook Pro | i7 2.5GHz | 16Gb ram | MacOS Mojave (latest version)
Interface: UA Apollo Twin mkii
Software: Cubase Pro 10.0.30

zigzag
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 20, 2019 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Automatic Zone Highlighting

Post by zigzag » Thu Jul 04, 2019 12:13 pm

+1

simthembile
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Automatic Zone Highlighting

Post by simthembile » Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:21 pm

This shouldn't be a request in Cubase 2019, it should have been long realized. I have been using FL Studio for long enough before switching to Cubase. FL is very disorganized with multiple windows. But you don't need to highlight each window or zone to work on it. If your mouse points in Piano Roll, you just work it, then go straight to playlist and work, then on mixer or channel rack as well, without having to highlight those areas.
In fact, Cubase should automatically detect and highlight the zone im working on.

+10000000000000
Last edited by simthembile on Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Zoberflote
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:12 am
Contact:

Re: Automatic Zone Highlighting

Post by Zoberflote » Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:21 am

simthembile wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:21 pm
This shouldn't be a request in Cubase 2019, it should have been long realized. I have been using FL Studio for long enough before switching to Cubase. FL is very disorganized with multiple windows. But you don't need to highlight each window or zone to work on it. If your mouse points in Piano Roll, you just work it, then go straight to playlist and work, then on mixer or channel rack as well, without having to highlight those areas.
In fact, Cubase should automatically detect and highlight the zone im working on.

+10000000000000
Please, Steinberg consider this in a future update of Cubase.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest