Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
petermcc
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:40 pm
Contact:

Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by petermcc » Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:23 am

Greetings,
quick question on the operation of audio punch recording.

Straight forward, set up punch points and do a take,..but must I UNARM the track every single time I wish to listen to the playback?

It would appear so, because hitting play (NOT record) on the transport will automatically punch right over the just recorded take.

I must be doing something wrong because this is very cumbersome.

Any advice on operation? I want to use punch record without constantly having to unarm the track to listen back to a take

Thanks in advance.

PM

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19779
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:29 pm

Hi,

Yes, your have to disable the record enable in the track or disable the Punch In, if you don't want to punch anymore. There is a preferences, and the Punch could be disabled automatically after the Punch Out.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

petermcc
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by petermcc » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:01 pm

Thanks for the reply Martin, Yes, I've tried "disable punch on stop" in preferences,=.

This is the same issue, then I need to renable punch for each take.

This may be a stupid question, but why couldn't steinberg make it so that,...if I have punch points set up it will only record when I actually hit the record button, NOT playback?

poorly thought out in my opinion

Thx!

User avatar
shanabit
Senior Member
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by shanabit » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:12 pm

"Punch in/out is a recording technique used on early multitrack recordings whereby a portion of the performance was recorded onto a previously recorded tape, usually overwriting any sound that had previously been on the track used.[1] The erasing and/or recording heads had to be very carefully aligned and applied to the tape surface with delicate timing and precision to avoid ruining the recording, and the practice was feared by most producers and engineers.

After the advent of 16- and 24-track equipment it was no longer necessary to risk the recording as a whole, as an empty portion of another track could be dedicated to such use. Vocalists in particular would usually record several renditions over separate parallel tracks, with the producers choosing the best bits from the layered vocals to mix together. The term "punching in" remained in use despite this fact."
Cubase 10.5.11 , MR816X, CC121
OSX High Sierra 10.13.6, 2010 MacPro 8 Core 2.4, 14 GB Ram

https://steinberg.help/cubase-manuals/cubase-pro/

petermcc
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by petermcc » Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:44 pm

Thanks for the definition of what punch recording is, shanabit.

My question was involving not WHAT it is, but WHY it,...RECORDS on playback, when it should be designed just like a Multitrack tape recorder.

Which would NOT record if you were listening to a playback. It SHOULD record with punch points ONLY if I hit the RECORD button.
It would be a great feature if after a punching I didn't need to disarm the track to listen to what was just recorded.

User avatar
shanabit
Senior Member
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by shanabit » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:26 pm

IF you set the prefs you have the same thing as a multitrack. BUT this thing of having to record enable verses playback is kinda wonky as you have said.

I agree with you BTW. As a workaround I use loop mode recording or I use a pedal to punch in and out of record

Cubase punch in is set to RECORD from the punch punch unless you disable it. This sound like a great feature request BTW
Cubase 10.5.11 , MR816X, CC121
OSX High Sierra 10.13.6, 2010 MacPro 8 Core 2.4, 14 GB Ram

https://steinberg.help/cubase-manuals/cubase-pro/

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by Nickeldome » Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:52 pm

petermcc wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:01 pm
Thanks for the reply Martin, Yes, I've tried "disable punch on stop" in preferences,=.

This is the same issue, then I need to renable punch for each take.

This may be a stupid question, but why couldn't steinberg make it so that,...if I have punch points set up it will only record when I actually hit the record button, NOT playback?

poorly thought out in my opinion

Thx!
I know, it gets confusing sometimes with recording preferences and taskbar functions overlapping?

But you can set the punch in disable after stop in the transport bar settings. That way it will automatically disables the punch in after you hit the stop button and it will automatically disable monitoring so you can play back the track.I think it's called something like 'disable punch in after stop'. Sorry not at my studio computer right now so I can't check the absolute names and locations. But I for sure know it can be configured the way you requested!

Steinberg manages monitoring, punch in and record modes differently over three places. Preferences, taskbar settings and audio/midi record modes. And I couldn't agree more that it's not really a logical workflow. They should try to group those items into a more logical workflow. Maybe under one menu? A right click on the taskbar (maybe a right click on the record button?) showing all those functions would have my preference. Because if you want to record something you always start at the taskbar and at the record button.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

petermcc
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by petermcc » Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:55 pm

Thanks for the input guys, I do find this annoying because i'm the engineer and doing the playing as well

"Deactivate Punch in on Stop" which does the same thing as "Punch In/Out" on transport bar

This is even worse because you have to RESET PUNCH POINTS whenever you hit stop. WT?!

Steinberg, what are you thinking here?..I'm not sure how this enhances workflow

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19779
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Feb 10, 2019 5:19 pm

petermcc wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:01 pm
This may be a stupid question, but why couldn't steinberg make it so that,...if I have punch points set up it will only record when I actually hit the record button, NOT playback?
Hi,

Some competitors have it like this. As it is in Cubase, you can decide, if you want to Record or Punch.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

petermcc
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Punch Recording Help Please

Post by petermcc » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:28 am

Yes, quite a concept.

Hit playback and your tracks playback, hit RECORD and they will RECORD.

I worked on all tape formats and there was never a "feature" like this that would wipe your track on playback because it was record ARMED. This "feature" is a nuisance not a workflow enhancement.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Funkybot, Google [Bot], x-pander and 2 guests