select only chord

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
shr23
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:56 pm
Contact:

select only chord

Post by shr23 »

a bit of a puzzle...
In the attachment below, the cursor is on the A.
What is the minimum key stroke sequence (using only the keyboard, no mouse), to select only the entire subsequent C chord and nothing else ?
Thx,
Attachments
2019-01-27 13_06_33.png
(9.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Craig F
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by Craig F »

<right-arrow> will select a note in the chord.
<ctrl><shift>A *select more* will select the rest of the chord.
Dorico Pro 3.5, Noteperformer 3.3.1
Windows 10 Pro v1909
Ryzen 5 1600X 3.6 GHz 6 Core 32GB RAM
Steinberg UR12

shr23
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:56 pm
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by shr23 »

thanks, but no, it selects everything subsequent to the chord in that voice. I just want that chord.
(sorry, My illustration was too simple.... imagine more music following the chord)

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8098
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by pianoleo »

Right arrow. Cmd/Ctrl+Shift+Left Arrow.
What it's actually doing is selecting everything to the left within that bar, on that stave.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

shr23
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:56 pm
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by shr23 »

:) ... and imagine more music preceeding the chord

ok, new attachment-- I amend my puzzle:

From either the E to the left or the A from the right, how do you select only the 3 notes of the c-chord
(ie, without using the mouse, how would you change the c chord to a d minor chord ? )

Thanks.
Attachments
2019-01-27 20_55_10.png
(11.44 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Craig F
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by Craig F »

If you want to change the chord, why do want to select ALL the notes at the same time? Select each one and then use <alt>+up/down arrow keys to change the pitch. <alt><shift>+Arrowkeys to move chromatically.
Dorico Pro 3.5, Noteperformer 3.3.1
Windows 10 Pro v1909
Ryzen 5 1600X 3.6 GHz 6 Core 32GB RAM
Steinberg UR12

Craig F
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by Craig F »

As an aside, <shift><up-arrow> will select all the notes but will also select anything attached at that point, like slurs, dynamics, etc.
Dorico Pro 3.5, Noteperformer 3.3.1
Windows 10 Pro v1909
Ryzen 5 1600X 3.6 GHz 6 Core 32GB RAM
Steinberg UR12

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5717
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by dankreider »

Craig F wrote:
Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:31 am
As an aside, <shift><up-arrow> will select all the notes but will also select anything attached at that point, like slurs, dynamics, etc.
...which is fine if you’re just going to change the pitch using Alt-whatever, but can be less than ideal at other times.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
dankreider.com/dorico-resources
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8098
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by pianoleo »

Yep, the obvious time is when you want to repeat the whole chord. The current system is less than ideal.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8098
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by pianoleo »

Looking at the second example, it’s one of those ones that has never appeared to me to be a problem, because I’m always in front of a MIDI keyboard.

I’d hit Enter to invoke the caret, arrow back to get to the chord, hit L and play a Dm chord on my keyboard.

Even without a MIDI keyboard, it is still possible to get there without the mouse, though. Hit W to switch to the part layout, arrow left to the chord, Shift+Up to select the chord. Then W to switch back to the score. The reason for switching the part is that Shift+Up selects everything above the current stave, which you won’t want if this is an ensemble piece.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

musicmaven
Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:11 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by musicmaven »

For the purposes of the puzzle given in this particular example ("without using the mouse, how would you change the c chord to a d minor chord ?"),

From the “E”:

right arrow
down arrow
Shift-up arrow (this will get the chord selected)
Option-up arrow (this will give you a d minor chord)

From the “A”:

left arrow
down arrow
down arrow
Shift-up arrow (this will get the chord selected)
Option-up arrow (this will give you a d minor chord)

As pianoleo explains, if there is any music written above the current stave, you could use his clever advice of switching to the part during the chord selection by using W.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, NotePerformer 3.3.1, Notation Express XL, Finale 1.0 through Finale 97, Sibelius 2-7.5, Notion 5.2, Composer's Mosaic, MuseScore 2, Digital Performer 5, iMac, MacBook Air, Oxygen 61, OS X High Sierra 10.13.6

shr23
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:56 pm
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by shr23 »

shift up/dn.. so that's what "extend navigation" means.

I like to enter the notes first and then come back and slide the rhythms around just using the keyboard. I'm getting fast at it, but I always had to reach for the mouse when I hit a chord to lasso it.


Thanks

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3953
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: select only chord

Post by Rob Tuley »

Clicking on the stem will select the whole chord. You don't need to lasso the notes.

shr23
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:56 pm
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by shr23 »

yes, true, but still a mouse operation.
thx.

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3953
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: select only chord

Post by Rob Tuley »

I realized the original question was about a keyboard-only method, but IMO if you are forced to use the mouse it's quicker to use one click, rather than a lasso operation that might accidentally select other things as well as the chord.

shr23
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:56 pm
Contact:

Re: select only chord

Post by shr23 »

agreed. all the suggestions were helpful.
thx.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andgle, Chris Davey, Oboino, Ulf and 7 guests