Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
sonic74
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Contact:

Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by sonic74 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:56 am

The worst thing with Cubase is audio cut outs during :

creating tracks
copying tracks
changing track outputs etc...
soloing/unsoloing (Edit: sometimes)
loading VST/VSTi,
moving/copying inserts,

Maybe there is more. But this shouldn't be. Some DAWs don't have such cut outs, so I have been told, pls tell me if I am wrong.
Last edited by sonic74 on Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:50 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Back to good old Cubase 9.5 / intel 5960x @ 4GHz / asus x99 deluxe / 64gb ddr4 @ 3000MHz / vst connect pro / vsl ensemble pro 5 / korg nanokontrol2 / spl 2control / behringer bcf-2000 / lynx aes-16e / lynx aurora 16vt / uad quad / neumann kh310 / genelec 8050a / too many plugins

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Audio engine optimization: Never cutting out audio

Post by Quinn3k3 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:37 am

+1

I have been using Cubase for so long that I have gotten used to this, but I totally agree that it is something that the developers should try to work on. It is much more noticeable to me after working in another DAW such as Studio One. I have a friend that finds this issue extremely annoying and it keeps him from switching over to Cubase. My fear is that the code would have to be totally re-worked to get rid of this annoyance. Otherwise, you would think it would have been addressed by now.

sonic74
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio engine optimization: Never cutting out audio

Post by sonic74 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:03 am

A friend of mine who uses Pro Tools, S1 and Logic says he cannot work with Cubase either, because of this thing.

I think I get more tired for nothing, because of this thing. Because these cut outs occur maybe a hundred times during long sessions, if not more (especially solo/unsolo which is used a lot with audio playing)

I believe this must be #1 thing in their list to fix.
Last edited by sonic74 on Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Back to good old Cubase 9.5 / intel 5960x @ 4GHz / asus x99 deluxe / 64gb ddr4 @ 3000MHz / vst connect pro / vsl ensemble pro 5 / korg nanokontrol2 / spl 2control / behringer bcf-2000 / lynx aes-16e / lynx aurora 16vt / uad quad / neumann kh310 / genelec 8050a / too many plugins

sonic74
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio engine optimization: Never cutting out audio

Post by sonic74 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:08 am

Quinn3k3 wrote:
Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:37 am
My fear is that the code would have to be totally re-worked to get rid of this annoyance. Otherwise, you would think it would have been addressed by now.
I don't think the whole code must change, it is the audio engine. I think when there is a change in routing etc, the audio seems to reset. I believe this is what's happening.
Back to good old Cubase 9.5 / intel 5960x @ 4GHz / asus x99 deluxe / 64gb ddr4 @ 3000MHz / vst connect pro / vsl ensemble pro 5 / korg nanokontrol2 / spl 2control / behringer bcf-2000 / lynx aes-16e / lynx aurora 16vt / uad quad / neumann kh310 / genelec 8050a / too many plugins

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1648
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by mozizo » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:35 pm

+1
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3772
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Prock » Wed Dec 12, 2018 5:02 pm

+1

The cutouts are definitely annoying.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Quinn3k3 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:51 pm

Sonic,

I hope that I am wrong about my comment regarding the complexity of a fix for this because I would love to see this resolved. I am pretty sure this has been a request for several versions now which is the reason for my comment. You would think if it was a quick fix that it would have already resolved. Of course, maybe they haven't had enough people complain to make this a high priority. It would be nice to know if this issue is even on Steinberg's radar.

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2155
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by marQs » Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:13 am

I can somehow understand why it happens on any action a new routing is patched (creating/copying tracks) or when adding plugins (taking care of latency compensation). It also does on moving tracks to a folder (using the function/key command, not manually) - which seems completely odd to me.

It would really disturb me on solo/unsolo which is working without dropouts for me. Always did.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo/Quad | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

nexis
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by nexis » Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:34 am

+1
Cubase 10 PRO, Steinberg MR816 CSX (2 of them), Windows 10 Pro, i7 Processor, 24 gigs of RAM, 3 TB Drives, Dual Monitors

sonic74
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by sonic74 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:12 am

I realized that actually solo/unsolo sometimes works without audio cut out. But for example, when a high latency plugin is present (such as Nebula) it is sure to make dropout when switching tracks in solo.
Back to good old Cubase 9.5 / intel 5960x @ 4GHz / asus x99 deluxe / 64gb ddr4 @ 3000MHz / vst connect pro / vsl ensemble pro 5 / korg nanokontrol2 / spl 2control / behringer bcf-2000 / lynx aes-16e / lynx aurora 16vt / uad quad / neumann kh310 / genelec 8050a / too many plugins

keyxmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by keyxmusic » Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:01 am

+1

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1710
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by suntower » Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:30 am

I have to say that -something- has DEFINITELY changed in C10. I have not had ANY problems since SX4-ish. I'm using the same Sandybridge rig since for-ehhhhver, The -only- variable is C10. And there is one totally reproduceable issue: When I open an editor during playback? HICCOUGH. Never happened before. In fact, I counted on being able to open/close editors and do all manner of tweaking as I played through a CPR. Now? It's a crap shoot. Totally stressful.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

simthembile
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by simthembile » Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:48 am

#1. This is the first thing i noticed when starting on Cubase. Its annoying.

sonic74
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by sonic74 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:35 pm

Quinn3k3 wrote:
Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:51 pm
Sonic,

I hope that I am wrong about my comment regarding the complexity of a fix for this because I would love to see this resolved. I am pretty sure this has been a request for several versions now which is the reason for my comment. You would think if it was a quick fix that it would have already resolved. Of course, maybe they haven't had enough people complain to make this a high priority. It would be nice to know if this issue is even on Steinberg's radar.
Well, you may be right. But they really shouldn't wait for people to complain.
Back to good old Cubase 9.5 / intel 5960x @ 4GHz / asus x99 deluxe / 64gb ddr4 @ 3000MHz / vst connect pro / vsl ensemble pro 5 / korg nanokontrol2 / spl 2control / behringer bcf-2000 / lynx aes-16e / lynx aurora 16vt / uad quad / neumann kh310 / genelec 8050a / too many plugins

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1648
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by mozizo » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:27 am

+1.many year's requested,maybe will
Be avaliable in 2045 cubase 30 pro +
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Quinn3k3 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:31 pm

Just wondering, does anyone not have this issue?

Is it better or non-existent on a Mac? I am on Windows 10 and noticed most of the other posters here are using Windows also.

kelp
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by kelp » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:44 pm

I noticed the issue when switching between stereo and mono in the Control Room.

x-pander
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by x-pander » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:03 pm

I never thought about that until i read this thread. Its very annoying and i thought all daws did this.

User avatar
EmilStudio
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by EmilStudio » Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:26 am

+1
http://www.emilstudio.eu
Cubase 10 pro (64-bit) | RME fireface 800 | MOTU midi express | Asparion D400 - DAW Controller | M-Audio Code-61 Keyboard Controller | Neumann 5.1 monitors KH80 DSP + KH810 sub
Asus X99-E WS/USB 3.1 | Intel Core i7-5820K | Win10x64 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB 2666 | SAPPHIRE PULSE Radeon RX 550 4GD5 graphics | Philips 40" & 32" displays | Samsung SSD 850 PRO SSD

Dmitry Chuvelev
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Dmitry Chuvelev » Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:50 pm

+1

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:57 am

+1 Very frustrating issue that other DAWs I've used has at this point in time don't have. When I have people over here for sessions they often comment on it, "why is it dropping out??"-- I'm not joking. They come from PT, Studio, Logic, others.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1343
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:59 am

Quinn3k3 wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:31 pm
Just wondering, does anyone not have this issue?

Is it better or non-existent on a Mac? I am on Windows 10 and noticed most of the other posters here are using Windows also.
Everyone has this issue.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Quinn3k3 » Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:31 am

Hi In Stereo,

Thanks for confirming this.

Gr8h8m
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Gr8h8m » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:21 am

+1

User avatar
n0nspaz
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by n0nspaz » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:31 am

+1 And sometimes audio comes back in erratically for a moment, and can even hurt the ears. At the very least, it makes A/B comparison difficult and fatiguing. VERY IMPORTANT ISSUE FOR WORKING ARTISTS/MIXERS
Win10-64, Cubase 10 Pro, CC121, Intel i7 64GB, RME UCX, UAD PCIe x2

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests