Video solution. What's New?

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Video solution. What's New?

Post by Big K »

Hello, ..
What is your best-working video setup* with Nuendo 5 64bit/32bit on an i7/win7/64bit machine?
I somehow think there could be something I have not yet come across, yet...

Cheers, Big K

* for synch work / video monitor for the voice talents
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne 5, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

mufi
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by mufi »

Anything but new: Blackmagik Intensity (HDMI, 720p output from QT PhotoJPEG 1280x720)

The only problem is this:
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Download/Nuendo ... update.pdf
Blackmagic Decklink native codec formats Photo JPEG (Mac) and Motion JPEG (Windows) do not playback without skipping in projects with more than 50% audio processing load.
N 7.1.35 64bit | Asus Sabretooth P67, i7 2600K, 8gb ddr3 | Windows 10 x64 | RME UC | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2
N 7.1.35 64bit | N 10.3 | Asus B360 TUF Pro Gaming, i7 8700, 16gb ddr4 | Windows 10 x64 | RME FF400 | Euphonix MC MIX | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2 | Equality | Equick | AutoAlign Post etc.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4440
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by MattiasNYC »

Big K wrote:Hello, ..
What is your best-working video setup* with Nuendo 5 64bit/32bit on an i7/win7/64bit machine?
I somehow think there could be something I have not yet come across, yet...

Cheers, Big K

* for synch work / video monitor for the voice talents
And I recall Blackmagic cards wouldn't run Quicktime under 64-bit OS', thanks to Apple and thanks to Steinberg putting all their eggs in one Apple basket (genius, since we all know Apple is the least likely to abandon standards....).
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

mufi
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by mufi »

I'm running Nuendo 5.1.1 32bit on Windows 7 64bit and it works allright with Intensity.
If I would run Nuendo 64bit then it wouldn't work, because of the reasons you stated.
N 7.1.35 64bit | Asus Sabretooth P67, i7 2600K, 8gb ddr3 | Windows 10 x64 | RME UC | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2
N 7.1.35 64bit | N 10.3 | Asus B360 TUF Pro Gaming, i7 8700, 16gb ddr4 | Windows 10 x64 | RME FF400 | Euphonix MC MIX | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2 | Equality | Equick | AutoAlign Post etc.

DG
Member
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by DG »

Lydiot wrote:
Big K wrote:Hello, ..
What is your best-working video setup* with Nuendo 5 64bit/32bit on an i7/win7/64bit machine?
I somehow think there could be something I have not yet come across, yet...

Cheers, Big K

* for synch work / video monitor for the voice talents
And I recall Blackmagic cards wouldn't run Quicktime under 64-bit OS', thanks to Apple and thanks to Steinberg putting all their eggs in one Apple basket (genius, since we all know Apple is the least likely to abandon standards....).
I think that the Apple Windows programmers are still trying to find the chapter on 64bit programming. It's probably a little bit too complicated for the poor dears. :lol:

DG
Nuendo 6.07
Intel Xeon 3.0GHz 10 Core 20 Threads
32GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
nVidia GT 640 graphics card

zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by zvenx »

Is Quicktime available as 64 bit for the mac as yet either?

I must imagine/hope with Final Cut Pro X now being 64 bit it must be close.
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

DG
Member
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by DG »

zvenx wrote:Is Quicktime available as 64 bit for the mac as yet either?

I must imagine/hope with Final Cut Pro X now being 64 bit it must be close.
rsp
I don't think that the standalone (version 7.*) is 64bit yet, but there is something built into the OS, isn't there?

However, Apple has had many years to bring out a Windows version and hasn't managed it, so who knows. Could it be politics? Surely not. :roll:

DG
Nuendo 6.07
Intel Xeon 3.0GHz 10 Core 20 Threads
32GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
nVidia GT 640 graphics card

zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by zvenx »

:-)............
no comments..

but mac users I am sure suffer too.

rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4440
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by MattiasNYC »

Either way it's not a good decision to rely on Apple. They're known to scrap standards on a whim. it's a decision I have as hard time finding a good reason for....
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by psvennevig »

Hi,

Nuendo 32 bit under Win7 x64 and OSX Snow Leopard 64 bit works fine with Aja and Blackmagic video out.

And I'm sure they will solve it for 64 bit Nuendo also, some day!

Until then, use Nuendo 5 32bit and you have video out.

Pål
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by Big K »

Thank you all for your input.

It seems, there is not much new about the topic.
I just sent my usual weekly complaint to Apple and once more requested a 64 bit Quicktime version...
I never got as much as an answer from them. Somehow, they must have found out that I hate their guts
eversince they took out video overlay from QT 5.xx.

Btw, I have set up a new system with W7 64bit and Nuendo 5.1/32 bit on a P6T Asus Mobo ( new bios and chipset version ) and don't get the Intensity Pro to work. I just get a black screen with white stripes... I wonder what that is now...
How easy it was, with a Parhelia and the QT video overlay feeding monitors and video from just one card... :-(
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne 5, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by psvennevig »

Hi!

Which connection do you use on the Intensity (pro) ?

Pål
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4440
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by MattiasNYC »

psvennevig wrote:And I'm sure they will solve it for 64 bit Nuendo also, some day!

Until then, use Nuendo 5 32bit and you have video out.

Pål
First of all I think they said it's not a Steinberg issue, but instead that it's up to Apple to get a Windows 64-bit version of Quicktime out. So in that sense SB did exactly what they've done before and claimed was a problem: Put their product(s) in the hands of "subcontractors". What motivation does Apple have to provide this update?

If you're creating a post-centric DAW then you want 100% control over all fundamental functionality. Add to that then the previous problems with the video engine, and it seems 100% "not good" to do what they did.

Secondly, if my memory serves me, I've seen recommendations here for people to switch to N5 64-bit to deal with memory issues, AND to use Blackmagic cards, BUT not in the same post. So it sets people up for the misunderstanding that they can get Nuendo 64-bit running with that card......
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by psvennevig »

Lydiot wrote:
psvennevig wrote:And I'm sure they will solve it for 64 bit Nuendo also, some day!

Until then, use Nuendo 5 32bit and you have video out.

Pål
First of all I think they said it's not a Steinberg issue, but instead that it's up to Apple to get a Windows 64-bit version of Quicktime out. So in that sense SB did exactly what they've done before and claimed was a problem: Put their product(s) in the hands of "subcontractors". What motivation does Apple have to provide this update?

If you're creating a post-centric DAW then you want 100% control over all fundamental functionality. Add to that then the previous problems with the video engine, and it seems 100% "not good" to do what they did.

Secondly, if my memory serves me, I've seen recommendations here for people to switch to N5 64-bit to deal with memory issues, AND to use Blackmagic cards, BUT not in the same post. So it sets people up for the misunderstanding that they can get Nuendo 64-bit running with that card......
I still think this might be solved someday :-p
Wait and see.

/P
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by Big K »

psvennevig wrote:Hi!
Which connection do you use on the Intensity (pro) ?
Pål
----------------------------------------------------

I only use the composite out ( green Y out plug ) to feed the video monitors.

The decision to use QT as integrated video standart must have intergalactic alien reasons we can't understand.
I, too, have critisized that already when I heard about the plan. But, what a surprise... it was not heard nor commented.
And now, we are stuck in a 64 bit DAW world without being able to use its advantages to the full because of a stupid decision and the reluctance of Apple to deliver QT64.

And we need an extra XP PC to run our Nuendo Dolby Digital Encoder for surround work ...

This is the M i d d l e A g e s ....
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne 5, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by psvennevig »

Big K wrote:
psvennevig wrote:Hi!
Which connection do you use on the Intensity (pro) ?
Pål
----------------------------------------------------

I only use the composite out ( green Y out plug ) to feed the video monitors.

The decision to use QT as integrated video standart must have intergalactic alien reasons we can't understand.
I, too, have critisized that already when I heard about the plan. But, what a surprise... it was not heard nor commented.
And now, we are stuck in a 64 bit DAW world without being able to use its advantages to the full because of a stupid decision and the reluctance of Apple to deliver QT64.

And we need an extra XP PC to run our Nuendo Dolby Digital Encoder for surround work ...

This is the M i d d l e A g e s ....
I'm quite confident that you can use N5 64bit with Intensity pro soon.

Regarding composite out, you have to set the Blackmagic setting in control panel to composite and y/c, default is HDMI only. But I guess you knew that.

Pål
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4440
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by MattiasNYC »

psvennevig wrote:I'm quite confident that you can use N5 64bit with Intensity pro soon.
Pål
psvennevig wrote: I still think this might be solved someday :-p
Wait and see.

/P
You either know something everyone else does not or you're tremendously optimistic.

We've lived with a video engine that's had some sort of flaw for years now. YEARS! And this for a pro post-DAW that "competes" with the industry leading app. So there's no real reason for optimism now.

And if this is a matter of you being on the BETA team and knowing that they're working on it, then SB is a bit dumb not to announce that an update is coming which solves this problem. Or you could tell us.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by Big K »

Oh, I have 2 systems up and running with N5 32bit on W7 64 bit, already, for some time, now.
It is just this new setup making trouble..
Computers, ey... ;-)

I wished I had reason to be as optimistic as you are..
Anyway, my main work is producing music... and there our DAW rocks like hell.
There is always a light at the end of the tunnel... and if it is the headlight of an express train..lol..
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne 5, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

mufi
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by mufi »

A triple head videocard would also be something to consider, especially when running N5 64bit. For example something like AMD Sapphire Flex HD would allow you to run a 3 monitor setup without active adapters.
Or even dual vid cards, but that did not work on my old P35 mobo.
N 7.1.35 64bit | Asus Sabretooth P67, i7 2600K, 8gb ddr3 | Windows 10 x64 | RME UC | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2
N 7.1.35 64bit | N 10.3 | Asus B360 TUF Pro Gaming, i7 8700, 16gb ddr4 | Windows 10 x64 | RME FF400 | Euphonix MC MIX | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2 | Equality | Equick | AutoAlign Post etc.

User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by Big K »

Problem solved ...
Was a mechanical problem on the MoBo. Does anybody know why it is seemingly impossible to make a slightly wider MoBo for easier placement of all those cards? 2 centimeters would already be cool.
Obviously, the designers of MoBos are just as stupid and unwordly as those guys who design computer plugs ( eSATA, optical, etc...) .


A feature request:
can we have a toggle button in the project window for easier switching between between
video play in Nuendo and, e.g., an Intensity pro? Or can I set a shortcut for that?
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne 5, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by J L Bowie »

Lydiot wrote:
psvennevig wrote:I'm quite confident that you can use N5 64bit with Intensity pro soon.
Pål
psvennevig wrote: I still think this might be solved someday :-p
Wait and see.

/P
You either know something everyone else does not or you're tremendously optimistic.

We've lived with a video engine that's had some sort of flaw for years now. YEARS! And this for a pro post-DAW that "competes" with the industry leading app. So there's no real reason for optimism now.

And if this is a matter of you being on the BETA team and knowing that they're working on it, then SB is a bit dumb not to announce that an update is coming which solves this problem. Or you could tell us.
Don't know if you guys have figured this out yet, but the 8.02 Blackmagic driver/video setup brings Intensity Pro into use with Nuendo 5.5 64 bit on Windows 7. It is very smooth and stable here on an old Q6600 Quad with 8GB of DDR2 Ram, using HDMI out from the Intensity card. Goodbye System Link for video playback, and likely altogether once I move to a new I7 setup. Anyway, just thought I'd share.
By the way, I wound up having to install Catalyst with the drivers for my Radeon X1300 card in order to get Nuendo's Video engine to recognize everything. They are the legacy Vista 64 drivers and they are working great.
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10.3/64 on Win 10 Pro version 20H2, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -18 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10.5/64 on Win 10 Pro version 20H2/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 16, WaveLab Pro 10.0.40/64, Spectralayers Pro 7.0.20, DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by psvennevig »

The Blackmagic 8.0x driver is great.

But it is N5.5 that brings video output support for its 64bit DAW.
Steinberg solved the puzzle, and it is (AFAIK) the first 64-bit DAW with support for video out (Blackmagic, Aja etc.)

Beat that Avid!!

(Oh thats right. They don't have a 64bit daw.)

Pål
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

olamo
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by olamo »

psvennevig wrote:The Blackmagic 8.0x driver is great.

But it is N5.5 that brings video output support for its 64bit DAW.
Steinberg solved the puzzle, and it is (AFAIK) the first 64-bit DAW with support for video out (Blackmagic, Aja etc.)

Beat that Avid!!

(Oh thats right. They don't have a 64bit daw.)

Pål
And they don't even support Intensity in 32bit PT on Windows.. 8-)

User avatar
Bifop
Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by Bifop »

olamo wrote: And they don't even support Intensity in 32bit PT on Windows.. 8-)
Well, at least they do support Intensity PRO with PT9 32 bit on windows 7 64 bit system.
Personal setup : Nuendo 10 on ASUS PRIME Z270-A -I7 7700K - Win10 pro 64bits- SSD - 4 x LCD screens + 40" on Blackmagic intensity. Steinberg UR824 + MR816 - 2 X Avid Artist Mix + Artist control + Euphonix transport. LCR Focal Twin.

Nuage 32 faders on Mac Pro 12 cores. 5.1 Focal twin. Ssl Xlogic Alpha link Madi at workplace.

kallevsven
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Video solution. What's New?

Post by kallevsven »

psvennevig wrote:The Blackmagic 8.0x driver is great.

But it is N5.5 that brings video output support for its 64bit DAW.
Steinberg solved the puzzle, and it is (AFAIK) the first 64-bit DAW with support for video out (Blackmagic, Aja etc.)

Beat that Avid!!

(Oh thats right. They don't have a 64bit daw.)

Pål
Do i understand you correctly? I can now run N5.5 in 64Bit with video out thru Blackmagic Intensity on Win7 64Bit? I thought, this is a Quicktime issue.
Or is it the first 64 Bit DAW on MAC to support video out?
I just installed it in 32 Bit on Win7 64Bit. But perhapes i just have to reinstall in 64 Bit.
Did you install successfully in 64Bit with video out?
N 7.0, Wavelab 7.2.1, Win7 64 Bit, RME Fireface 800, Asus MB, Blackmagic Intesity Pro, Waves, RX4

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests