VstBridge not working on Halion 64bit

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
Post Reply
PnoBln
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:05 pm
Contact:

VstBridge not working on Halion 64bit

Post by PnoBln »

hello,

i just bought the halion 4 and installed it as a 64bit plugin. it works well standalone but cubase 6 32bit does not recognize it. after installing halion 4 again as a 32bit plugin finally cubase 6 recognizes it.

what is going on??? i thought that the build in vstbridge is able to bridge at least steinbergs very own plugins.
jbridge can't bridge halion 4 due to its many outputs.

best
steffen
Q9550 Quad Core, 8GB, RME Hammerfall, Win7 64bit Ultimate, Cubase 6, Wavelab 6, Halion 4, HalionSonic, The Grand 3, VSL SE, DDMF, CC121

valsolim
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Brno, Czechia
Contact:

Re: VstBridge not working on Halion 64bit

Post by valsolim »

Hello,

Steinberg VstBridge works only the other way around: it can introduce 32bit plugins into Cubase 64bit, that's it.

Best regards
--
Miloslav
Cubase Pro 9.5, Dorico Pro 2, HALion 6, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10, Plogue Bidule, Cognitone Synfire, Celemony Melodyne, MeldaProduction, ToneBoosters, Voxengo, Steinberg MR816csx, Presonus DigiMax FS, ART HeadAmp 6 Pro, IK Multimedia ARC 2, Adam Audio A7X + Sub10, AKG K271 mkII, TC Electronic Konnekt 24D, Steinberg UR22, Audix D2, D4, D6, i5, ADX-51, Sennheiser e614, 2x Shure SM137, Røde NT1-A, DPA 4099 S/U, Roland FC-300, Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX49

PnoBln
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: VstBridge not working on Halion 64bit

Post by PnoBln »

thank you!
that's good to know, steinberg didn't mention this anywhere.
at least i didn't see it....
Q9550 Quad Core, 8GB, RME Hammerfall, Win7 64bit Ultimate, Cubase 6, Wavelab 6, Halion 4, HalionSonic, The Grand 3, VSL SE, DDMF, CC121

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: VstBridge not working on Halion 64bit

Post by dorremifasol »

In any case, it's better if you install the 32 bit version too. Only the plugin will be installed, the library is shared between both versions.

There is a huge impact in efficiency when using any bridge for the 64<->32 bit conversion.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

DjRavix
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: VstBridge not working on Halion 64bit

Post by DjRavix »

PnoBln wrote:thank you!
that's good to know, steinberg didn't mention this anywhere.
at least i didn't see it....
I remember that in the part where they explained what The VST Bridge Actually wrote that it was for running 32 Bit Plugins within a 64 Bit host

But What I don't understand is why you only Use the 32 Bit Version Of Cubase 6 instead of the 64 Bit (You can also have both installed on your system if you like)
PC Related Hardware:
Intel 3930K, 64GB Ram, SSD + Lot of HDD Space
Audio Related Hardware:
828MK3,61SL MKII,Virus A,Ultra Nova,Perception 200,Se Reflexion Filter,Nano Patch+,KRK RP8
Audio Related Software:
Cubase9,WavelabElements9,HSO,Grand3,HALion5,Korg LCAE,RPExplorer3,FF Bundle,Inflator,Sylenth1,Z3TA+2,Nexus2,VengeancePlugins,Various Sample Packs

PnoBln
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: VstBridge not working on Halion 64bit

Post by PnoBln »

i am using the 32bit version of cubase because i thought it's better to bridge just a few ram-intensive plugins like vsl, kontakt, superior drummer than all my plugins that are not available in 64bit.
i'm working a lot with freeware plugins and most of them are not available as 64bit version.

but as cubase 6 has a bridge for 32>64bit plugins i'll give it a try.
are waves plugins working with that bridge?

thanks
steffen
Q9550 Quad Core, 8GB, RME Hammerfall, Win7 64bit Ultimate, Cubase 6, Wavelab 6, Halion 4, HalionSonic, The Grand 3, VSL SE, DDMF, CC121

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests