Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

Hi,

When I click on the solo button of a folder track, every track in it are in solo. Ok. But when I click on one of those tracks name, it removes the solo state of all the other tracks to solo the one I clicked on it... although I only wanted to select the track and not change the solo state of any track.

When I solo each track from the folder one by one, I can select any track without changing the solo state.

So why is Cubase behaving like this with folder tracks? Did I miss some option in the preferences?

EDIT: I did a video of what I'm talking about. Remember I'm working with these preferences settings: Image

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfomg7_4mi8

Not logical to me so I consider it a bug. Minor bug, ok, but still.
Last edited by Innervision on Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:21 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Guest

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Guest »

Solo on Select

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

Seems like you didn't read my post.

Guest

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Guest »

How about "Select channel/track on solo"?

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

That was it man, thanks!

Guest

Re: Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Guest »

No worries :)

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

Well that wasn't it. :? Now when I have a track in solo, if I'm selecting another track, it doesn't solo it.
Image

Guest

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Guest »

Maybe you would have to trash your prefs.

Does seem rather strange though.

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

You can't reproduce it ? It's rather quick to test:
- create 5 midi tracks
- create a folder track
- put all the midi tracks in the folder
- solo the folder track
- select one of the tracks by clicking on its name

It should remove the solo state of all the other tracks from the same folder.

On the other hand,
- solo all the tracks in the folder one by one
- select on of the tracks by clicking on its name
- the solo states from each track is kept

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

Nobody can confirm this?

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2014
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Puma0382 »

Innervision wrote:You can't reproduce it ? It's rather quick to test:
- create 5 midi tracks
- create a folder track
- put all the midi tracks in the folder
- solo the folder track
- select one of the tracks by clicking on its name

It should remove the solo state of all the other tracks from the same folder.
Ok, firstly I notice that doing as you describe does NOT remove solo state from all other tracks in the same folder. However, should it...?

OK, so you examined your preferences - and what have you got them set to now..?

Me..? I don't have 'Select Channel/Track on solo' checked; I don't have 'Enable solo on selected track' checked
Innervision wrote: On the other hand,
- solo all the tracks in the folder one by one
- select on of the tracks by clicking on its name
- the solo states from each track is kept
Still with my preference settings above, this I find true.

However, something strange for me now - when I check 'Enable solo on selected track', it does NOT work as the help says it should. I happily select tracks all day long, none get solo'd. It also changes nothing in behaviour, as to both scenarios described above... (or, 'Select Channel/Track on solo' - no difference to behaviour seen). Strange indeed.

Sorry, not sure if I've really helped... :?
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

You're right, I should have stated the preferences I'm using, so here we go:

Image

TwinOak
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by TwinOak »

I can confirm what you experience and I think it can be summed in this sentence: (?)

When using "Enable Solo on Selected Track", tracks which are globally soloed by a folder track behave the same way muted tracks are if you try to select them.

If you play around with it a while outside a folder track you get the hang of it. Only muted tracks get exclusive solo when selected, already soloed tracks can be selected without altering solo states.
Not quite a bug I'd say.

/A

*Edited for clarification*
Last edited by TwinOak on Thu May 26, 2011 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ASUS Z8NA-D6, 2 x Xeon 5620, Kingston 16GB, RME Fireface 800, Win 7 x64/Surface Book 2 - Cubase 10.0.60

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

Still, this is not logic to me, why would there be a different behavior for folders? Like I said, when I'm soloing tracks manually, I can select one track among these without removing the solo state of the others... but NOT when I hit the solo button of a folder track.

TwinOak
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by TwinOak »

I wouldn't say that it's more or less logical than any other solution, it's just one behavior against another. There are so many different ways you could configure the solo/mute functionality in Cubase there will probably never be a "one size fits all" solution.

/A
ASUS Z8NA-D6, 2 x Xeon 5620, Kingston 16GB, RME Fireface 800, Win 7 x64/Surface Book 2 - Cubase 10.0.60

Guest

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Guest »

Personally I don't think Folder Tracks should have a solo "state" but rather are mere transparent containers and have no functional purpose other than simple colors.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3507
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by jaslan »

mysteryshopper wrote:Personally I don't think Folder Tracks should have a solo "state" but rather are mere transparent containers and have no functional purpose other than simple colors.
I think I agree. A folder should just be a folder. Functionality seems more in line with a group track?
Sincerely,
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
Vinylizor
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Vinylizor »

mysteryshopper wrote:Personally I don't think Folder Tracks should have a solo "state" but rather are mere transparent containers and have no functional purpose other than simple colors.
Muting and soloing aside, they also allow arming and recording of all enclosed tracks for recording. Returning them mere containers would loose us a lot of functionality.

I see nothing wrong in soloing working on folders. The problem is again down to the fact that the inherent built in logic of the system is flawed. If they could finally fix it properly, we wouldn't be having this conversation.
C10.5
Antelope Orion 32+ Thunderbolt
Core Audio driver
Mac Pro 6,1 3 GHz 10-Core Intel Xeon E5 64Gb Ram 1TB HD
OSX 10.15

Guest

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Guest »

Vinylizor wrote:Muting and soloing aside, they also allow arming and recording of all enclosed tracks for recording. Returning them mere containers would loose us a lot of functionality.
In that case I'd rather have folders only arm tracks for recording and steinberg provide a decent implementation of VCA's as well to only use folders if they have some kind of audio grouping functionality.

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

Ok, you don't seem to understand so I did a video of what I'm talking about. Remember I'm working with those preferences settings: http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/253/capturersg.png

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfomg7_4mi8

Not logical to me so I consider it a bug. Minor bug, ok, but still.

Guest

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Guest »

Hi,

I looked at your first image and those prefs, eg "solo on selected track" and "select track on solo" I don't have selected.

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

Did you watch the vid?

Guest

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Guest »

Innervision wrote:Did you watch the vid?
Yes.

I think with solo defeat it has introduced a new situation/behavior.

Innervision
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Innervision »

Can't believe I'm the only one using folder tracks here.

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Bug? Selecting soloed tracks within folder tracks

Post by Conman »

Would the new folder function in Cubase 6.0.3 be relevant here?
http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 19&t=10086
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anando and 2 guests