9.0.30 crashes

All topics on WaveLab 9 and WaveLab Elements 9
User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

9.0.30 crashes

Post by Sonik »

I've some crashes on 9.0.30 when I tried to open some presets made on earlier version on MasterSection..
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 4.6|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2696
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Justin P »

I think that to know the cause and find a possible solution, you will need to post the crash reports for PG to analyze.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

electrodaddy
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by electrodaddy »

I'm getting the same. v9.0.30 crashing constantly. Will save some crash reports today.

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7734
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by PG »

Providing the preset would help too.
Philippe

electrodaddy
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by electrodaddy »

I'm getting a crash every time I 'edit source' in the montage. No presets or plugins are loaded.

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Lasso »

crashing when switching between master section presets. never happened before.
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Thomas W. Bethel »

Wavelab 9.0.30 fails to open one out of three times on my PC. I had to restart my computer to get it to open on more than one occasion. It is also studdering on playback with no plugins on my Mac. Oh well! I may have to go back to 9.0.25
Last edited by Thomas W. Bethel on Wed Nov 02, 2016 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 25 years in business in 2020

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7734
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by PG »

Wavelab 9.0.30 fails to open one out of three times.
Do you have Cubase or Nuendo on the same computer?
Philippe

electrodaddy
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by electrodaddy »

Its crash city here. Every 2-3 minutes on simple operations with no plugins loaded. I've rolled back the previous version and stability has been restored.

Kay Thomsen
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Kay Thomsen »

Hi,

are you speaking about crashes mostly on PC or Mac?

cheers
Kay

electrodaddy
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by electrodaddy »

I'm on Mac here.

Kay Thomsen
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Kay Thomsen »

10.11 or 10.12 ?

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7734
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by PG »

Crash report welcome, because no problem here...
Philippe

electrodaddy
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by electrodaddy »

I have major issues on both 10.11.6 and my test partition with 10.12.1. Same issues on my studio iMac and MacBook Pro. So I did a complete uninstall and installed v9.0. Everything was fine on 10.11 and 10.12. Upgraded to v9.0.20 and again everything was fine. Due to the complete uninstall then I have no crash logs. Except for a few on 10.12 but I'm assuming they aren't much use.

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Lasso »

PG wrote:Crash report welcome, because no problem here...
Mail? PM? :)
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Lasso »

Check this out: http://tonekontrol.dk/temp/IMG_2866.MOV

You'll see that I'm first loading a master section preset that I've been using for a long time before the current release.

It will load fine one time but when loading the exact same preset again Wavelab will crash every time - totally reproducible.

I will mail you the crash logs if you wish.
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

User avatar
da goose
Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by da goose »

No crashes here on win10x64. Works as expected.

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Thomas W. Bethel »

PG wrote:
Wavelab 9.0.30 fails to open one out of three times.
Do you have Cubase or Nuendo on the same computer?
I do not. I have Audition and Sound Forge and Samplitude installed but seldom use them. 9.0.25 seemed to be rock stable on both the PC and the Mac. Now on the PC it fails to open one out of 3 times and studders on the Mac. Any idea of what could be causing this?

Thanks in advance!
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 25 years in business in 2020

Kay Thomsen
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Kay Thomsen »

Hi Lasso,

can you say from which WL version you created these presets?

Thanx and cheers
Kay

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Lasso »

hard to say - some from the previous, some are earlier.

But just created a test preset and it seems to switch fine between this and one I made on 9.0.30 as well.

However when I then choose an earlier preset it will crash again
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Lasso »

funny - it seems to not crash if I load a "blank" preset first.
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7734
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by PG »

I do not. I have Audition and Sound Forge and Samplitude installed but seldom use them. 9.0.25 seemed to be rock stable on both the PC and the Mac. Now on the PC it fails to open one out of 3 times and studders on the Mac. Any idea of what could be causing this?
Try this:
Locate the following file:

C:\Users\[UserName]\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\WaveLab Pro 9\Startup.ini

Add this line:

NoExchange=1

Does that help? (this disables the WaveLab Exchange feature, that requires some special initialization).

Philippe
Philippe

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Thomas W. Bethel »

PG wrote:
I do not. I have Audition and Sound Forge and Samplitude installed but seldom use them. 9.0.25 seemed to be rock stable on both the PC and the Mac. Now on the PC it fails to open one out of 3 times and studders on the Mac. Any idea of what could be causing this?
Try this:
Locate the following file:

C:\Users\[UserName]\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\WaveLab Pro 9\Startup.ini

Add this line:

NoExchange=1

Does that help? (this disables the WaveLab Exchange feature, that requires some special initialization).

Philippe
I will do it now and report back. Thanks so much!!!

The "patch" works GREAT. Thanks again!
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 25 years in business in 2020

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Sonik »

Lasso wrote:funny - it seems to not crash if I load a "blank" preset first.
Yes, it's the way I use it here now..
I reset the Master Section and open the preset I want and it works good..
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 4.6|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide

Rat
Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.30 crashes

Post by Rat »

There are no crashes on Windoze 7 Professional 32 bit. Solid as.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro, Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro, Razer Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4.1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests