[Feature Suggestion] - Offline function like Audiosuite

Post general topics related to Nuendo 7 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

[Feature Suggestion] - Offline function like Audiosuite

Post by jorisdeman »

Hey Guys,

For certain things (time stretching, pitch shifting, normalising, some offline plugs) I tend to use the audio offline processing mode.

One of my longstanding pet peeves with offline processing is that as soon as the dialog appears, you're locked out of everything else.
Moving locators (that some processes like time stretch use to determine length), selecting different files, changing selection length etc. can't be done without quitting your process, making or tweaking your selection and then using the process again.

This gets boring real quick; and even though assigning key commands to often used processes speeds things up, it's still a pain in the *hits*.

So, suggestion is:
Make offline processing work like Audiosuite in PT; a floating window that processes whatever is selected, and allows you to keep working like normal (much like the Audio Quantize window).
The dialog could have preferences or radio buttons for deciding what happens to processed audio (replace, new file etc)
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4214
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [Feature Suggestion] - Offline function like Audiosuite

Post by MattiasNYC »

This one goes way back to Nuendo 6. I posted a feature request like yours back in fall 2013. Domilik posted something very similar last year in like July.

I've now copied that post and put it in the request section, as I think it might be clearer and more comprehensive. Please bump it up if you find it matches your request.

Here's the new thread
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: [Feature Suggestion] - Offline function like Audiosuite

Post by Dog and Pony »

I remember this being asked for all the way back to N3 when Max Howarth was a regular contributor. This request has been ignored for years. :roll:
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [Feature Suggestion] - Offline function like Audiosuite

Post by jorisdeman »

Thanks for the responses guys.

I guess in the the grand scheme of things this might not be a biggie, though I think workflow wise it is actually pretty important, as it saves a whole bunch of keypresses and menu clicks, and would increase productivity.

I'll have a look at the post and bump :)
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

wasweißich
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [Feature Suggestion] - Offline function like Audiosuite

Post by wasweißich »

Since a short time, I'm working with Nuendo 10 because I recently started my own business and needed another DAW. Before I started to work with Nuendo, I was working with Pro Tools at work in another recording studio. In Pro Tools you can click on the AudioSuite, select a plug-in effect you for an audio clip you want to render or just a specific area of an audio clip, click on "render" and that's it. And it worked. In Nuendo the audio preview of the plug-in doesn't play the whole audio clip(s) you selected to render. It stops everytime at the first cut / crossfade. What the hell is that? It's absolutelly impossible to work professionally with this f...... DAW! If I had know this before I never would have bought Nuendo. Now I really think about to change to Pro Tools!

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4214
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [Feature Suggestion] - Offline function like Audiosuite

Post by MattiasNYC »

So you bump a three year old thread about version 7 in the N7 section to complain about version 10?

Makes sense.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests