Gain Structure

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
vapordan
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:49 pm

Gain Structure

Post by vapordan »

Quite by happenstance, on a selected wave form in the editor, I dragged the wave-form itself upward inside the wave form bar. I noticed that the waveform shape increased inside the waveform bar from its current size to a waveform that was larger in amplitude. The results seem to look like a weak signal compared to a very strong signal without going thru the recording process again.

My question is this: What exactly is that process doing? Specifically, does it really remove the recording step if you have a weak signal. So if you recorded a weak signal, just stretch the wave form up and you're done. To do that it must manipulate the signal to noise ratio. Otherwise, a constant signal to noise ration doesn't provide a better product. Or is this just aesthetics! Thoughts?

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Structure

Post by xenteq »

Did the sound level increase? I think all that does is change the display scale of the waveform, rather than actually applying any processing to the audio file.
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Gain Structure

Post by enjneer »

If you dragged up on the top part of a clip, you did apply gain. The amount of gain displays in the info line above the project arranger window.

It's simply adding gain. Exactly as if you raised the fader, except this is all before the signal hits the channel.

The ratio of signal to noise won't change, but the noise floor will rise.

It doesn't replace getting a healthy level to tape, because, if you record too quiet, the nose will become apparent when you raise the clip gain. As always, one needs to get a nice, solid level to tape.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

vapordan
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:49 pm

Re: Gain Structure

Post by vapordan »

Thanks man. makes sense.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3303
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Gain Structure

Post by peakae »

I prefer to normalize instead of using the clip gain. I received a project from a friend wanting me to do a quick mix. In that project there was a guitar track recorded at -25dB then clip gain 30dB up, and the fader pulled down to -15dB. So I got a guitar track playing that is clipping but nothing going into the red, and to make things even more difficult the clip was shared with 2 other tracks. I really wish every clip had an obvious indicator on it that showed the clip gain value in big bold red color :-)
It's immensely useful but requires some discipline or you can get completely lost.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

vapordan
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:49 pm

Re: Gain Structure

Post by vapordan »

I didn't initially understand what you were saying. But after some reading I think what you are saying is that you rather adjust the gain of the entire track as opposed to each individual clip. Is that correct?

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3303
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Gain Structure

Post by peakae »

correct,
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

vapordan
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:49 pm

Re: Gain Structure

Post by vapordan »

Let me ask another way. If there are two clips (A and B) that make up an audio file on track C, assume also that clip A is 3 db louder than clip B, when C is normalized, what exactly happens? Does both clips A and B increase by a set amount of db irrespective of whether or not A is louder than B or does the normalization process take into account the difference in gain of A and B and only increase B to match A?

User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Gain Structure

Post by Adam_Bove »

Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 8.3.0 | Cubase 10.0.10

vapordan
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:49 pm

Re: Gain Structure

Post by vapordan »

Ok good stuff. Good read. Clears up my questions.

charliewonder7
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:07 am
Contact:

Re: Gain Structure

Post by charliewonder7 »

enjneer wrote: It's simply adding gain. Exactly as if you raised the fader, except this is all before the signal hits the channel.
Makes sense but never thought about it. Noted.
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33Ghz, 32g RAM - Aurora 16, AES PCI-e,
Cubase 8 - OSX 10,8.5 & 10.10.1

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Gain Structure

Post by alexis »

I will usually, *in the project window*, adjust the gain structure in this way so when it hits the compressor it's already kind of evened out, makes it easier on the compressor. It's nice also because you get a visual representation of what is louder or softer than the other parts.

I use the split tool with KCs for gain up/down, can work pretty quickly that way. There is a pencil tool for that purpose too, but I never could work smoothly with that.

There are some plug-ins that do this, Waves Vocal Rider actually being the only one I know that might work in Cubase. I was drooling for a few years hoping that Quiet Arts' Wave Rider would be made available to Cubase users, but I've long since given up on them.

I've never checked how adjusting the gain of the clips might be same/different from automating the "Pre-gain" in the rack ... anyone know?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

vapordan
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:49 pm

Re: Gain Structure

Post by vapordan »

I find myself doing that a lot too.

charliewonder7
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:07 am
Contact:

Re: Gain Structure

Post by charliewonder7 »

Wouldn't the pre-gain have the same effect as adjusting the gain on audio events, but globally for the whole track?
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33Ghz, 32g RAM - Aurora 16, AES PCI-e,
Cubase 8 - OSX 10,8.5 & 10.10.1

vapordan
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:49 pm

Re: Gain Structure

Post by vapordan »

The pre gain does not discriminate. The event boost is per event or per clip. If u select all events or all clips and boost behaves globally per track as you indicate.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests