Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.
Stefan Schreiber
Moderator
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:49 am
Contact:

Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by Stefan Schreiber »

Dear MR customers,

during our thorough test cycles we discovered a few incompatibility issues between some of our hardware products and the initial Cubase 7.0.0 release version. We highly recommend that you refer to this corresponding Knowledge Base article if and how your Steinberg hardware product is affected before updating to Cubase 7.

We know that this isn't great news but it's our goal to be transparent. Rest assured that we are taking all issues seriously and already scheduled actions to resolve them as soon as possible to make your experience with Steinberg products the best there is.

Best regards,

Stefan Schreiber
Stefan Schreiber - Senior Marketing Manager Hardware
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by Elektrobolt »

And here too! :) Thanks again for the increased transparency. I, for one, appreciate it!
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

mikelionfox
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by mikelionfox »

Cubase 7 is showing a error message with the Mr816 - Warning-Sample rate not supported by hardware..

This was not listed with kno issues with the MR. Any insight is appreciated.Thanks, Mike

Retina Macbook Pro OSX 10.8.2 / MR816 / Cubase 7

mikelionfox
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by mikelionfox »

update, listed under know issues.

General Mac OS X issue - switching the sample rate
Under OS X 10.8 it is not possible to switch the sample rate. This issue occurs with all audio hardware interfaces, including the Steinberg CI, MR and UR series.

The sample rate does not switch with the cubase project settings as before, but it is also showing a message

"Warning sample rate note supported by hardware" All settings at 44.1.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

ltf3
Member
Posts: 463
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by ltf3 »

Thanks and thanks again for letting us know.

I'll just avoid the 'sinking feeling' I would have got and wait a while!!!
Lee

Cubase 8.5, Nuendo 10, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), Arturia Audio Fuse, OS 10.13.6, IMac Quad Core 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB RAM, Radeon Graphics 4GB

User avatar
brissyproducer
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by brissyproducer »

So how do we work around the Sample Rate issue?

Please

I am now on Cubase 7 and wanted to start utilizing it but I run at 48khz....

Greg
Cubase Pro 9
Reason 8.3.2d7
Steinberg UR824
RME ADI-8 PRO
RME ADI-8 DS
CMC QC,FD and AI
2016 iMac Retina 27inch
OS : Mac El Capitan
CPU : intel i7 4GHz
Ram : 32GB OWC
Waves Various Plugins and Bundles

bduffy
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by bduffy »

Very, very disappointed with the sample rate snafu. I swapped my RME Fireface for an MR816 CSX, and they said I was crazy; I said "no, Steinberg makes fully professional hardware"; now, I feel like a laughing stock, with projects I simply cannot open.

What do we do about this?
bduffy
Cubase 8 Pro| Mac OS X 10.9 | Early 2008 Mac Pro (Dual 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon)
Steinberg MR816 CSX | Wavelab 7/8/8.5
UAD 2 Duo | Waves Mercury | Kontakt | Zebra2 | Omnisphere | SD2 | A Bunch of Other Crap


Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 869
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by Norbury Brook »

Cant you just change the sample rate with the MR editor before opening your project?



MC
ASRock x570 Taichi -Ryzen 3950x-16 core -32 gigs 3600 DDR4- AMD 580- Windows 10 x64-OSX Mojave- AXR4-Euphonix mix,Transport-CC121-Cubase 10.5.x

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by fenderchris »

bduffy wrote:Very, very disappointed with the sample rate snafu. I swapped my RME Fireface for an MR816 CSX, and they said I was crazy; I said "no, Steinberg makes fully professional hardware"; now, I feel like a laughing stock, with projects I simply cannot open.

What do we do about this?
You were crazy - I swapped my MRs for RME UFX+TotalMix and have never been happier.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

TwanV
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:36 am
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by TwanV »

Stefan,

I was running Cubase 6.5.3, with MR816 and CC121 under Windows 7 64 Ultimate.
Running great. 6.5.4 was causing problems, hick-ups, so got back to 6.5.3.
6.5.3 is also running smooth under windows 8 pro.

Cubase 7 and MR816X, does not matter windows 7 or 8, is not working.
Can't play a single project, just hick-ups and stutter.
So frustrating!!!!!!
Any advice?

Best regards and thanks in advance,
Twan
Windows 10 pro 64bit, Cubase Pro 8.5.15 64bit, Melodyne Studio 4.04.001 64bit.
Intel DX58S02, I7 X990 4,13GHz, 24GB DDR3 1772MHz, Sapphire HD6970.
SSD (OS, Cubase), Raid 4hdx1tb (Plugins), 1hd 1tb Cubase projects,
1hd 1tb Backup,

MR816X

User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by MRedZac »

Win 7 x64 and C7 x64 with 2 MR816x running like charm, buffer down to 96 and absolutely stable on my i7 DAW...
My only problem: I cannot find the hardware strip in the input channels. Anyone knows how to open it ? Please advice !
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: i9 7940X auf Asus WS X299 SAGE/10G, 32GB RAM, 2x 1TB PCIe M2 SSDs, Nuendo und Cubase Pro, Focusrite RedNet PCIe, Diverse Orchester Libraries von Zuspielservern via Vienna Ensemble Pro...

ELager
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by ELager »

I'm selling my MR816X. Anyone wants to buy it? It is in great shape
Last edited by ELager on Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by fenderchris »

You'd think that the first thing they would test (and make sure it worked) would be their own hardware and software!
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

ELager
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by ELager »

We are still waiting for a solid driver for the MR816.

User avatar
kzarider
Member
Posts: 836
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by kzarider »

ELager wrote:We are still waiting for a solid driver for the MR816.
+1
I am having the Stutter and and drop out problems on MR816csx & Cubase 7 also. Cubase doesn't shut down properly when this happens and I have to reboot. I got rid of two Motu (had 4) when I switched to 816, both the 8pre and 828mk2 were rock solid and Motu is always updating firmware/driver. Still have Motu Audio Express and I updated the firmware to latest and hooked up tonight...no dropout no reboot just worked TG. I usually use with laptop and there aren't enough pre's for me on it but at least I can mix with it.

Also had trouble with 816csx on 6.5.4 and had to roll back to 6.5.3 on Win7 Desktop. My laptop is running 6.5.4 w/no issues using Audio Express

I am really disappointed in Yamaha/Steinberg on this and probably will have to shy away from any other of their hardware. I always judge company by what is done when there is a 'problem'. SHould have had a solution on book by now...

If Motu (a Mac oriented company) can make their stuff work right on Cubase I am shocked that Steinberg can't find a way to fix :(
PC i7-8770K Gigabyte 370 Win10 64bit -32gb ram; i7 2015 MackBook Pro; Cubase 9.5, Wavelab 8.5, Presonus 3, Digital Performer, Access Virus TI2, Vienna Instruments Cube-MIR-Pro 5, Imperial Grand, EastWest PlayComposer, UAD Quad, Baldwin L3, Hammond B3-Sk2, Rhodes, Wurlitzer 200, Hohner Clav, Waldorf, NI Komplete 10, Gretch Brooklyn, Omnisphere, Keyscape, Trillian, RMX, Superior Drums, BFD, etc. Antelope Orion 32HD, Antelope Goliath HD
http://zkeysmusic.com/
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=zkeysmusic
https://www.facebook.com/ZKeys-Studio-1608666072789495/

User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by MRedZac »

kzarider wrote:
ELager wrote:We are still waiting for a solid driver for the MR816.
+1
I am having the Stutter and and drop out problems on MR816csx & Cubase 7 also. Cubase doesn't shut down properly when this happens and I have to reboot. I got rid of two Motu (had 4) when I switched to 816, both the 8pre and 828mk2 were rock solid and Motu is always updating firmware/driver. Still have Motu Audio Express and I updated the firmware to latest and hooked up tonight...no dropout no reboot just worked TG. I usually use with laptop and there aren't enough pre's for me on it but at least I can mix with it.

Also had trouble with 816csx on 6.5.4 and had to roll back to 6.5.3 on Win7 Desktop. My laptop is running 6.5.4 w/no issues using Audio Express

I am really disappointed in Yamaha/Steinberg on this and probably will have to shy away from any other of their hardware. I always judge company by what is done when there is a 'problem'. SHould have had a solution on book by now...

If Motu (a Mac oriented company) can make their stuff work right on Cubase I am shocked that Steinberg can't find a way to fix :(
I seriously think, that it is not always the interface or its drivers not working well... Might be your computer hardware and software installation as well...
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: i9 7940X auf Asus WS X299 SAGE/10G, 32GB RAM, 2x 1TB PCIe M2 SSDs, Nuendo und Cubase Pro, Focusrite RedNet PCIe, Diverse Orchester Libraries von Zuspielservern via Vienna Ensemble Pro...

User avatar
kzarider
Member
Posts: 836
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by kzarider »

MRedZac wrote:
kzarider wrote:
ELager wrote:
I seriously think, that it is not always the interface or its drivers not working well... Might be your computer hardware and software installation as well...
You seriously think so :lol:
PC i7-8770K Gigabyte 370 Win10 64bit -32gb ram; i7 2015 MackBook Pro; Cubase 9.5, Wavelab 8.5, Presonus 3, Digital Performer, Access Virus TI2, Vienna Instruments Cube-MIR-Pro 5, Imperial Grand, EastWest PlayComposer, UAD Quad, Baldwin L3, Hammond B3-Sk2, Rhodes, Wurlitzer 200, Hohner Clav, Waldorf, NI Komplete 10, Gretch Brooklyn, Omnisphere, Keyscape, Trillian, RMX, Superior Drums, BFD, etc. Antelope Orion 32HD, Antelope Goliath HD
http://zkeysmusic.com/
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=zkeysmusic
https://www.facebook.com/ZKeys-Studio-1608666072789495/

ELager
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by ELager »

So I switched to RME interfaces. What a joy. They work without a flaw.
I thought the MR concept was to be trusted since Yamaha was in the picture. Integration of Cubase with a dedicated specially designed interface sounded great to me. Unfortunately it has cost me so much time and frustration. Also to my engineer. It's terrible to give other people so much headache.
So suddenly it dawned upon me: "Buy RME interfaces." They have the reputation. And they work great directly from the box. With 96 samples buffer with hardly any latency.
The new RME mixersoftware has excellent monitoring facilities with direct monitoring with rev and eq.

It would have been great if the MR series would have worked. But I'm out.

I'm happy for anyone who has a good working system with the MR. Good for you.
The MR is always great to use as a micpreamp on lightpipe. But maybe get RME to design interfaces and drivers for the Steinberg/Yamaha interfaces in the future?

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by fenderchris »

ELager wrote:So I switched to RME interfaces. What a joy. They work without a flaw.
I thought the MR concept was to be trusted since Yamaha was in the picture. Integration of Cubase with a dedicated specially designed interface sounded great to me. Unfortunately it has cost me so much time and frustration. Also to my engineer. It's terrible to give other people so much headache.
So suddenly it dawned upon me: "Buy RME interfaces." They have the reputation. And they work great directly from the box. With 96 samples buffer with hardly any latency.
The new RME mixersoftware has excellent monitoring facilities with direct monitoring with rev and eq.

It would have been great if the MR series would have worked. But I'm out.

I'm happy for anyone who has a good working system with the MR. Good for you.
The MR is always great to use as a micpreamp on lightpipe. But maybe get RME to design interfaces and drivers for the Steinberg/Yamaha interfaces in the future?
Same experience as I had. Originally bought 6 MR816s when they first came out believing that an integrated software/hardware system would work. Unfortunately it did not, so I sold 4 of them and bought an RME UFX and connected the remaining 2 MRs to the RME via lightpipe - all problems solved! - The TotalMix software that comes with the RME is totally fantastic.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1812
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by mozizo »

We are still waiting for a solid driver for the MR816.
+1
good sounding units with not good driver and only 1 updated firmware since it came ? ok thanks but we need more improvments.
channel strip always on top windows not solved, its like no body at steinberg/yamaha hears users need regarding MR units. :evil:
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

tommelxy
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by tommelxy »

MRedZac wrote:Win 7 x64 and C7 x64 with 2 MR816x running like charm, buffer down to 96 and absolutely stable on my i7 DAW...
My only problem: I cannot find the hardware strip in the input channels. Anyone knows how to open it ? Please advice !
Hey I have the same problem, and can't find the hardware strip...
did you find it meanwhile MRedZac? Or someone else?

aljames
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by aljames »

Steinberg, please can you give us an update now please on the disappearance of the hardware strip and other incompatibility issues with the MR816 and C7.

Thank you.

Al
Al James Musician * Songwriter * Producer - www.aljamesproductions.com

SYSTEM
Intel i7 930 Quadcore | Asus P6TSE | 12Gb DDR 1600 | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 512Gb (Mac OSX)



There are no passengers on Spaceship Earth. We are all crew.


User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by AlakaLazlo »

tommelxy wrote:
MRedZac wrote:Win 7 x64 and C7 x64 with 2 MR816x running like charm, buffer down to 96 and absolutely stable on my i7 DAW...
My only problem: I cannot find the hardware strip in the input channels. Anyone knows how to open it ? Please advice !
Hey I have the same problem, and can't find the hardware strip...
did you find it meanwhile MRedZac? Or someone else?
Its now in the rack under hardware.
Moog IIP, One, and MiniMoog, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 10.0.5, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, and SL41MkII, Slate Raven MTI2, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2.5, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax (heavily customized) JTV69S (the Hexstainocaster) and 700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by MRedZac »

AlakaLazlo wrote:
tommelxy wrote:
MRedZac wrote:Win 7 x64 and C7 x64 with 2 MR816x running like charm, buffer down to 96 and absolutely stable on my i7 DAW...
My only problem: I cannot find the hardware strip in the input channels. Anyone knows how to open it ? Please advice !
Hey I have the same problem, and can't find the hardware strip...
did you find it meanwhile MRedZac? Or someone else?
Its now in the rack under hardware.
Are you sure it´s there ? - Can you please post a screenshot ? - Thanks in advance ! :?
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: i9 7940X auf Asus WS X299 SAGE/10G, 32GB RAM, 2x 1TB PCIe M2 SSDs, Nuendo und Cubase Pro, Focusrite RedNet PCIe, Diverse Orchester Libraries von Zuspielservern via Vienna Ensemble Pro...

tadpole
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and MR

Post by tadpole »

Here's a picture of the mixer. The picture is from Nuendo but it should look very similar to Cubase. Just make sure that "Hardware" is selected in the "Racks" dropdown list.
Attachments
mixer.jpg
(603.29 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Windows 8 64/ Nuendo 6/ Wavelab 8/ The Grand 3/ Steinberg MR816csx/ Steinberg CC121/ Intel Core i7-3770 @3.40GHz/ 20 GB RAM/ NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg MR816”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests