Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
Cessquill
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 3:13 pm
Contact:

Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by Cessquill » Mon May 07, 2018 12:40 pm

Hi - with a GA sale on, I decided to buy two new add-ons. Installing these seemed to have made GA forget about my other kits and add-ons. I've had similar problems before, leading me to think that the software can get in a mess pretty easily.

However, I wiped my machine and reinstalled Windows 10 Home from scratch, and I'm looking for installation pitfalls, and ways to fix them without a reformat. I've been trying several combinations - each with a clean windows install -and so far nothing has seemed to work.

Prerequisites...
  • Windows 10 Home PC
    OS on M.2 Drive, apps on SSD
    Make sure Windows configured and up to date, with e-licenser installed
    Installed latest Cubase 9.5
    Installed GA4
    Typically I install for any user to use, but I suspect this may be part of the problem, so have been experimenting with both
    I only change install paths of apps (to ssd drive), I don't touch appdata (should I?)
    Reboot between installs (and click update library icon in GA and wait where appropriate)
Addons I'm trying to install - Blues Essentials, Rock and Roll Essentials (existing ones), Nashville, Simon Phillips (new ones)

Problems experienced at various times (all by right clicking on slot and selecting "load kit with patterns"...
  • Only SE Kit available - all others gone
    Blues and Rock and Roll not available after installing
    Blues & Rock and roll available, but will not load when pattern clicked on
    installing Nashville & SP makes all other kits disappear (plus missing sounds warning with metronome and another file)
    Possibly others and will add
Questions...
  • Why does the installer for addins offer to install for any user? Surely this should adhere to the host app's settings
    I think it's getting confused about where kits and patterns are, is there any way I can make sure all files are in correct place?
    Is there any log file? When failing to load a pattern it would help if I could find what and where
    Would it improve things if I manually set a location for the appdata for everything?
Like I say, there needs to be a way to fix this post install, since it doesn't seem robust enough to work out of the box. Apologies for the long post, but I've been putting a bit of time in over the weekend...

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3014
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon May 07, 2018 12:53 pm

Make sure that you're also installing the latest Groove Agent 4 update.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Cessquill
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by Cessquill » Mon May 07, 2018 2:32 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 12:53 pm
Make sure that you're also installing the latest Groove Agent 4 update.
Thanks - I'm pretty sure I'm using the latest GA installer from the website, but downloading again just in case (hard to tell, since I can't find full version info in any of the files). Prefer full install on a clean machine.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3014
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon May 07, 2018 2:34 pm

You can download the latest updates for Groove Agent 4 here:
https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... gent_4&L=1

Groove Agent SE 4:
https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... t_se_4&L=1
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Cessquill
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by Cessquill » Mon May 07, 2018 4:47 pm

Thanks - that *may* have fixed things. Clean install of Windows today. Fresh download of GA and gradual reboots and everything's on there (I think)

The only problem that I currently now have is in Instrument Editor - with Nashville & Simon Phillips, clicking on an instrument does not make it sound (I don't have Mute Instrument Trigger on Editor selected). It's not the end of the world, and I'm not sure whether they're supposed to trigger on add-on instruments, but it would be handy.
GA4 Kits.PNG
(46.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I've attached the kits I now have installed on the off-chance that somebody may know if any are missing.

Thanks for your time.

folkfreak
Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by folkfreak » Mon May 07, 2018 7:57 pm

"Fresh" download of GA means stone-old installer. You have to install the updates nevertheless.

Cessquill
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by Cessquill » Mon May 07, 2018 8:18 pm

folkfreak wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 7:57 pm
"Fresh" download of GA means stone-old installer. You have to install the updates nevertheless.
How do you do that? The update on the site is the same version as the full download, and I cant find anywhere in the app to check/trigger.

Cessquill
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by Cessquill » Thu May 10, 2018 9:13 am

UPDATE: Apologies - had been staring at the GA download page for so long that I didn't realise the full app was 4.2.0 and the update was 4.2.4.

Clean install, selecting "all users" on main app and add-ins, and all seems to be working as expected now! I'd also noticed that my previous install that I thought was OK was missing some instruments on the Simon Phillips pack - none of the crash cymbals would play.

Thanks for your time guys.

jeff wraight
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: West Sussex. UK
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by jeff wraight » Thu May 10, 2018 4:32 pm

Hi Folks,

A rare visit here for help because I can usually work out any problems by trial & error.

Over the years I have purchased some extra sounds for GA 4 but I still find it overcomplicated to access all the drum sounds. I think it is because some of the content is on different drives. The whole thing could do with a sort out.

The problem is within' the 'Load' window - in the 'Browser' section I often get a red 'unavailable' icon. My workaround is to move to the 'Media Browser' - From there I can usually access the files I'm after.

What I cannot work out is where Groove Agent looks for the 'content'! I have tried using shortcuts to direct GA to the right files but I'm doing something wrong. Is there a tutorial I have missed somewhere?

If I go to....... C/ Users/ My computer/Appdata/ Roaming/ Steinberg/ Content ..... I have folders 'VST Sound' and 'Groove Agent/VST Sound. Both have content. However I also have content on at least 2 other drives. I'm reluctant to move anything in case I muck up the files for Cubase, hence using shortcuts.

I would be so grateful if some kind soul could at least point me in the right direction. (I'm 64 this year but I think the old grey matter is still working!!)

Best wishes

Jeff
Cubase Pro9.5 Windows 10 Pentium i7 16gig Custom build. 2 monitors. M-Audio delta 1010lt internal sound card. 20tb storage. Nord Stage2-88hd. Roland Jupiter80. Korg Kronos 88(upgraded & maxed out) Korg TR. Waldorf Blofeld. Yamaha s80. Yamaha DX7, Roland jxi, Korg MicroXL+. Sibelius Ultimate. NI Komplete Ultimate11. Spectrasonics Trillion. AAS Lounge Lizard. Tascam MM1, Yamaha MV1602, Mackie ProFX8 & Spirit Folio (x2) mixers, SE z5600A Tube mic. Pair SE 1 mics. Heil hd vox mic. Medion Laptop W10, Android tablet. Roland P330 (x3) Roland D110 & U110

Cessquill
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by Cessquill » Thu May 10, 2018 5:41 pm

I'd be interested in this as well, since I've had patterns not loading, samples not firing, and things just plain not there. I wouldn't really mind where it kept things if it "just worked" (as long as it wasn't filling up my system drive), but that doesn't always seem to be the case. And without much to go on in terms of diagnosing if/when it does fall apart, a crib sheet would be handy.

folkfreak
Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by folkfreak » Fri May 11, 2018 3:28 pm

Cessquill wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 9:13 am
UPDATE: Apologies - had been staring at the GA download page for so long that I didn't realise the full app was 4.2.0 and the update was 4.2.4.

Clean install, selecting "all users" on main app and add-ins, and all seems to be working as expected now! I'd also noticed that my previous install that I thought was OK was missing some instruments on the Simon Phillips pack - none of the crash cymbals would play.

Thanks for your time guys.
Thats the best example to demonstrate the Steinberg download mess...
If I buy the newest Absolute today, do I have to expect a 3 year old GA Installer in my downloads ?

dmitry_milenky
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by dmitry_milenky » Sat May 12, 2018 8:06 am

Romantique Tp wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 2:34 pm
You can download the latest updates for Groove Agent 4 here:
https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... gent_4&L=1

Groove Agent SE 4:
https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... t_se_4&L=1
It works for me. Couldn't load Several Extensions with an alert: It was created for a newer version of a GA.

theodorozzz
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 10:19 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 Missing Kits, Patterns & General Mess

Post by theodorozzz » Thu May 17, 2018 6:22 pm

Hello!
I make the topic for my problem, but no one answer, so maybe here someone can help:

I purchased Neuro and Prime Cuts sets and I expected they should add some of their patterns in Pattern library. In screenshot you can see that only user and Beat Agent SE patterns are shown.
When I load any of Neuro or Prime kits with patterns - its loaded, but still doesnt show any other of their patterns in library.

I had problem also with kits, which were shown in Mediabay in DAW, but were absent in any of GA options. After I'm uninstalled trials and install GA and extensions in one place by default - they appeared everywhere and it's seems ok now.
But patterns are absent - as you can see here https://yadi.sk/i/421bGGRa3Vgj5m ((

I use Cubase 9.5.21, GA4, installed last update and Windows 10.

I'd be appreciate for your help!
Regards

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: joedtrucker and 1 guest