Audio Interruptions

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
Post Reply
IadAslan
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:43 am
Contact:

Audio Interruptions

Post by IadAslan » Sun May 19, 2019 12:37 pm

Since ProTools 2019 just came out Cubase is the only remaining DAW where every single action (insert effect/instrument, create track, duplicate track etc.) results in the audio being paused for a second. It‘s SUPER annoying when you‘re in a session and people are trying to write while I‘m working on the production simultaneously.

It‘s 2019, why can Ableton, Logic Pro, FL Studio, Studio One and now even the old geezer Pro Tools manage to have a continuous audio-stream but Cubase can‘t?

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by Prock » Sun May 19, 2019 1:43 pm

+1

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by In_Stereo » Tue May 21, 2019 1:58 am

+1 Yes, this has been mentioned many times and needs as much repeating as possible. I remember reading that it's on the list but is a very huge job, understandably. My hope is that the entire audio engine is being re-coded so that this will be possible along with other needed improvements.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

peterhoffmann
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by peterhoffmann » Thu May 30, 2019 3:29 pm

+1

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by Joe90 » Fri May 31, 2019 1:31 am

+1

Whenever I've been working on another DAW I come back to Cubase and I'm reminded of how jarring this is - it also feels extremely unprofessional when you have clients in the studio, especially when they are you used to (any) other DAW that loads plug-ins and adds/removes tracks smoothly without throwing out a glitching pause every single time!
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

Renesas
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:43 am

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by Renesas » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:57 pm

+10000000000000

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2201
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by marQs » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:15 am

viewtopic.php?f=285&t=150091

Hope something will happen :-)

Anyway, keep calm. I remember times when Y-cables for inserting real hardware (a few compressors & multi fx) into real mixing desks did cost a multiple of Cubase plus the proper machine to run onto. And I've not even spoken of the few milliseconds drop out vs. the time creeping behind racks, trying to differentiate inputs/outputs with a headlight on. Heyho, I admit I'm talking about the previous century but that's not even 20 years ago :mrgreen:
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by In_Stereo » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:44 am

marQs wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:15 am
viewtopic.php?f=285&t=150091

Hope something will happen :-)

Anyway, keep calm. I remember times when Y-cables for inserting real hardware (a few compressors & multi fx) into real mixing desks did cost a multiple of Cubase plus the proper machine to run onto. And I've not even spoken of the few milliseconds drop out vs. the time creeping behind racks, trying to differentiate inputs/outputs with a headlight on. Heyho, I admit I'm talking about the previous century but that's not even 20 years ago :mrgreen:
I came from the tail end of that world, too. I can appreciate your point, but every other DAW has it and it's what people are used to unless they've stayed on Cubase for years, is the issue. :-)
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2201
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by marQs » Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:12 am

In_Stereo wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:44 am
I came from the tail end of that world, too. I can appreciate your point, but every other DAW has it and it's what people are used to unless they've stayed on Cubase for years, is the issue. :-)
Yeah, I'm absolutely not saying I'd not be a fan of 'gapless audio'. I am/will be - and I'm sure it will be coming sooner or later! 8-)

As you state, for long term almost-only-Cubase-users it just seems so normal, you could call it Stockholm syndrome. Maybe I'll have to see a psycho doc, getting me down to earth, once Cubase is running gapless :mrgreen:
Last edited by marQs on Sun Jun 09, 2019 1:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9173
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by -steve- » Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:55 am

It's ironic we are having this discussion now- in 1992, I think it was, 'gapless' audio was a selling point chez Steinberg. And, yeah, a plus one here too.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

wjoyce
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by wjoyce » Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:55 pm

+1

I'm new to Cubase and am totally shocked that this is as designed. Really hope it gets addressed soon.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1758
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by Stephen57 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 6:04 pm

+1

The audio drops out with nearly every move -- solo track, un-solo -- audio drops out, etc. etc. etc.

Also the clocks go all to hell. So, if you're playing a part with an Arpeggiator ....
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by Winter Rat » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:01 pm

+1

2019 - time to say good-bye to drops.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by In_Stereo » Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:02 am

If you haven't already, please re-post and re-reply on this thread, which has a big number of responses already, so Steinberg can see it all in one place: viewtopic.php?f=285&t=150091
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by 01w » Fri Jul 05, 2019 1:21 am

These audio drops-outs are starting to drive me crazy
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

IadAslan
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:43 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Interruptions

Post by IadAslan » Fri Jul 05, 2019 2:13 pm

In_Stereo wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:02 am
If you haven't already, please re-post and re-reply on this thread, which has a big number of responses already, so Steinberg can see it all in one place: viewtopic.php?f=285&t=150091
Done!

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests