Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
ctothel
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by ctothel » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:36 pm

+1 This would be amazing!!

Vinylizor
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Vinylizor » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:35 pm

Seamless playback is a major feature for ProTools 2019
C10
Antelope Orion 32+ Thunderbolt
Core Audio driver
Mac Pro 6,1 3 GHz 10-Core Intel Xeon E5 64Gb Ram 1TB HD
OSX 10.14.4

Aurosonic
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Aurosonic » Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:12 am

Used to it, but agree. Kinda annoying thing. For those who tries to move to Cubase from another DAW could be potentialy
decisive factor
ITWT

Pitchline
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:25 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Pitchline » Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:49 pm

+1
Intel i9-9900K /ASUS PRIME Z390-A /Corsair HX850i /Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz 2x16 GB /System: Samsung EVO970 NVMe M.2, 250 Gb /Samples: Samsung EVO970 NVMe M.2, 1 Tb /RME HDSPe AIO /Dell 43" 4K LED P4317Q /NI Komplete Kontrol S49 /Elgato Stream Deck

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by galvinstephen » Fri Feb 08, 2019 10:38 am

Is this simply a legacy issue from the 386 4mB RAM processor days?
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.0.10 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 2.2.0.11108
Laptop: Lenovo Intel i7-2630 CPU @ 2GHz 8GB RAM. Windows 7 64bit. Intel SSD 120GB.
Desktop: Intel i5-4660 3.20 GHz 8GB Windows 7 64-bit

Focusrite Scarlett Octopre Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

DRDRDR
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by DRDRDR » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:45 am

+100000000000000000000000000000000

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:24 pm

Needs to happen.
Last edited by In_Stereo on Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Weasel » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:07 pm

I’ve been thinking about why this problem has increased dramatically in C10...and it occurred to me that one of the biggest under the hood things they’ve done with C10 is how the program now deals with high res monitors.

I think there is some sort of correlation between C10’s widget elements changing states in the GUI interfering with the audio engine. It’s as though what they did to upgrade monitor performance is now bottlenecking audio calls to the CPU. I say this because all kinds of GUI elements that never used to affect playback integrity are now doing so. Just a empirical guess.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

audiosprite
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by audiosprite » Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:08 pm

I've also been experiencing a lot of cutouts - often can't hear an entire section of a song, even though I've been freezing my tracks compulsively.
cubase 10 pro // windows 10

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by HowlingUlf » Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:50 am

Yeah, it's noticeable in a very irritating way but we're so used to it ... we just have to move on with the project, and we forget about it.
It's JUST a cut-out and we know nothing is crashing ... right ... maybe ... should I check something? Mmmm ....
It would be a relief to not have that stuff bothering us.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Another request for gapless audio.

Post by In_Stereo » Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:04 pm

I work with a ton of young topliners and producers and they all get bummed out by the interruptions in audio when we're writing or producing here -- none of them have that problem on their systems with Ableton, FL, or Logic. Please let's get this rolling ASAP! I'm looking like an old fart to them with things like this in Cubase, and I'm not even that old yet. :-)
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Another request for gapless audio.

Post by Quinn3k3 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:57 pm

Just wondering, why start multiple threads for the same request? IMHO, it makes more sense to add support to the original thread. I think threads with higher post counts draw more attention.

This is a legit question because I wonder every time someone create a duplicate thread. I always feel that this approach of having 5 separate threads with 4 or 5 posts opposed to 1 with 20-25 posts dilutes the importance of the feature and makes it harder to track for those at Steinberg that monitor the forum. I think if we want Steinberg to listen to our requests we should do what we can to make it easier on them to identify the features that are most wanted by their user base.

By the way, this request a big one in my eyes and that is why I would like to see one thread with tons of support behind it.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for gapless audio.

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:20 pm

You're totally right -- I just got frustrated with the whole issue and posted out of ire after yet another session with writers and producers complaining about it. I had already posted on the thread you're referring to. But I'll add to it again. It's an issue that Cubase has fallen very much behind on and I get called out on it by almost every younger topliner and producer I work with here, and it's frustrating for them and me.
Last edited by In_Stereo on Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:26 pm

Just to re-iterate and add to this thread: I work with a ton of young topliners and producers and they all get bummed out by the interruptions in audio when we're writing or producing here -- none of them have that problem on their systems with Ableton, FL, or Logic. Please let's get this rolling ASAP! I look like an old fart to them with things like this in Cubase, and some of the other workflow issues. :-) That's not an exaggeration -- literally almost everyone I work with complains about how not having a gapless audio engine kills our writing and producing workflow for them here. They're used to a modern way with things like this on their DAWs, so let's have that new audio engine soon...!
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Another request for gapless audio.

Post by Quinn3k3 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:32 pm

Thanks for your response and I understand your frustration. I also know a few producers that won't consider using Cubase for this very reason. They are both S1 users now. They feel that the constant audio dropouts kill their creative vibe.

I know a lot of Cubase purists will say that Cubase has features that these other programs don't offer, but since a DAW's primary purpose is to create music you would think rock solid audio playback would be a top priority. I am a long time Cubase user and am unlikely to switch to another DAW any time soon, but don't have on Steinberg colored glasses when it comes to certain flaws that the program has either.

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Quinn3k3 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:43 pm

It would be nice to know from Steinberg how much of a development effort this would be for them as that would give us some indication if we were likely to see this addressed any time soon. Also, if this is even on their shortlist of issues they are looking into

Has any one seen a reference of Steinberg making any kind of statement regarding this in any other parts of the forum?

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by 01w » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:49 pm

I thought this happens in all DAWs
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

Renesas
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:43 am

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Renesas » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:51 pm

Definitely need this fixed

Renesas
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:43 am

Re: Another request for gapless audio.

Post by Renesas » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:52 pm

Huge +1

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2152
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by marQs » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:00 am

Well, I think it can't be not on the list. Ok, of course that's my personal guess.

I don't use one of the other mentioned DAWs so I have no idea how they manage drop outs to not happen. In my mind it's clear that the DAW has to compensate for latency and in any case this should work properly any sort of drop out has to happen. A thing I fully understand when I insert a new plugin but not so much when I put tracks into a folder or close the DOP window. Guess there's much room for improvements.

Been into Cubase since 2001 or 2002, so it's a mature/'old' DAW by now. A lot of progress happened since then - in Cubase as well as in the tremendous power common computers offer today - while the code base was originally made with limitations in mind from digital lightyears back. 'Younger' DAWs may suffer less from heritage at the moment but maybe will in the not so far future. Nonetheless I'd love to see improvements in Cubase whereever possible but I expect slow transition into 'modern times' to be honest.

Anyway, any limitation that falls feels like a big relieve to me. Just upgraded Win 10 to 1903: happy to never see that FLS limit again :-)
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo/Quad | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by In_Stereo » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:53 am

01w wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:49 pm
I thought this happens in all DAWs
In 2019 it doesn't, no. I can't think of any other major DAW I've seen or used where it does at this point (though maybe I'm missing one or some). All of the people who work with me here at the studio...well let's just say that none of them will be buying Cubase when they're used to things like gapless audio on their DAWs. Steinberg will need to get their audio engine up to par with others if they want to continue luring new buyers, especially young ones who are so used to things being so fast and efficient without stumbling blocks in workflow like pauses and gaps in audio when moving/inserting inserts, changing inputs or outputs, changing routing, etc.

I'm sure they're working on it -- let's just hope it's coming in 10.5.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by mozizo » Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:33 am

In_Stereo wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:53 am
I'm sure they're working on it -- let's just hope it's coming in 10.5.
AMEN !!!
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

mhak
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by mhak » Sun Jun 09, 2019 2:13 pm

This is highly annoying. Super annoying. Please fix this asap. No other DAW do this. 30 years old code, blah.

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by mozizo » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:38 am

the same is for nuendo ,wonder if the cutouts also happen in Dorico,which is relatively new steinberg product
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Proper audio engine: End of audio cut outs

Post by Musicmould » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:50 pm

+1
This is super annoying.
Steinberg need to shape up if they want to stay in the game. :|
Last edited by Musicmould on Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10.0.30 | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro |
Mac OS X 10.14.5 | iMac Pro, 32Gb Ram| UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT |
Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest