Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:46 am

This has been requested many times over the years and is the one of the biggest time killers/click-and-navigate-adders with Cubase for me (and clearly others): In all other DAWs I've seen or used there is (at the minimum) a volume and pan control on the header for every kind of track. Having to click first on the header, then navigate over to the inspector, then sometimes have to click again because the right inspector page isn't open, than finally click on and adjust the volume or pan, vs. simply clicking once on the header of the track and directly adjusting pan or volume (and many other controls in some other DAWs) on the track header is a night-and-day difference in speed and fluidity.

For those who for whatever reason would like to click and navigate more, it would be configurable as all the other track controls currently are in Cubase. Many other DAWs have even more options than volume and pan for the track headers, such as inserts, sends, etc. -- and again, all configurable so if you don't want to see them you don't have to.

Whenever I use Pro Tools and some other DAWs, this issue in Cubase stands out greatly.
Last edited by In_Stereo on Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:05 am, edited 3 times in total.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by Puma0382 » Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:27 pm

ResonantMind wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:21 pm
I can't remember, not on my DAW right now, but I think you can click on the small track meter to get a fader, alt-click maybe?

*edit*

Disregard, this is incorrect, the small fader is when alt-clicking on the volume # value below the fader or on automation track value #... which, I'm unsure of why that would be needed, when you can just click drag on the number itself.

It would make more sense to have this fader pop when alt-clicking on the small track meter.
Now, I like that idea - alot..! Anything 'extra' that doesn't involve messing with the heights of tracks, is good in my book. Would like a Pan control like I've seen in Reaper too...
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5, WaveLab Pro v10, Studio One v4.5.4, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

ResonantMind
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:39 am

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by ResonantMind » Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:46 pm

Puma0382 wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:27 pm
ResonantMind wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:21 pm
I can't remember, not on my DAW right now, but I think you can click on the small track meter to get a fader, alt-click maybe?

*edit*

Disregard, this is incorrect, the small fader is when alt-clicking on the volume # value below the fader or on automation track value #... which, I'm unsure of why that would be needed, when you can just click drag on the number itself.

It would make more sense to have this fader pop when alt-clicking on the small track meter.
Now, I like that idea - alot..! Anything 'extra' that doesn't involve messing with the heights of tracks, is good in my book. Would like a Pan control like I've seen in Reaper too...
Yes it would be good for quick adjust volume rather than having to rely on inspector. Could simply be a different modifier for pan clicking on the same track meter.

Would it ever be nice to have devs in here discussing these things with us - it's difficult to gauge if they even see our posts and %90 of the stuff I see in this thread - would make their program better in such a way that... they would profit from having a better a program.

ResonantMind
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:39 am

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by ResonantMind » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:22 pm

Well alt-click on small meter is already reserved for resetting peaks, So ctrl could be used for small pop-up fader, ctrl+shift could be for pan.

Right clicking on it as it stands does have a pop up menu for meter settings.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:39 pm

Puma0382 wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:14 pm
ResonantMind wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:46 pm
Yes it would be good for quick adjust volume rather than having to rely on inspector. Could simply be a different modifier for pan clicking on the same track meter.
Exactly, keep the (slightly clunky) Inspector closed.

Yes, a different modifier for pan perhaps... Or, how about a new, additional 'utility tool' in the right-click toolbox, that toggles behaviour when modifier+clicking on the small meter, to access control over vol or pan..? Too finicky..?
I feel that right-clicking or modifiers aren't necessary at all, and it should be kept stupid simple. The fastest and most workflow enhancing way is to simply have it be a value box like it is on the other DAWs, where you can adjust it easily without having to right-click/use a mod key, or do anything else -- simply click and move. On PT the value box for volume or pan automatically turns into a little fader when you click and move it, which is perfect. I'm asking to make it as least click and mod-key heavy as possible. :-)
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
Transistor
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:31 am
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by Transistor » Wed Nov 28, 2018 12:02 pm

I vote for click-hold (1.5 secs?) to adjust track volume. And CH+shift? for pan? Or something else, just implement the thing! :)

j,
i7-5820K/16384/Win10
CPro 9.5.41 / CPro 10.5 / WLPro 10.0.0 / SpectralayersPro 6.0.2
Studio: RME HDSPe AES / Mytek 8x192 / Midex8 / (+ Aurora 8)
Mobile: CAI & WLElements [latest versions] / RME Babyface
Plugins. Hardware.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:20 am

I'm going to post again because today I worked on Pro Tools all day for a vocal session. We need lots of support for this because it will make people's lives much easier if they want to move faster and more efficiently. Having everything available in the track header is vastly superior to only having the Inspector in the following ways:

> Instant control (no mod key necessary, no hold-and-wait necessary) of volume and pan without even needing to first select the track then the inspector, or go to the mixer. It's impossible to argue how much faster and more efficient it is than Cubase in this way.

> Freely moving, adding, copying inserts from one track to another without having to go to the mixer. Since you can see the inserts and sends in the track headers (if you want them there), you can see exactly what you're moving and where you're moving it to. The way it's arranged in Pro Tools doesn't take up too much real estate. Again, very noticeably and inarguably faster than Cubase.

> Instant routing of input and output on each track because they're also right on the track headers if you want them there.

Basically, anything that Cubase requires you to first click/select the track then move over to the inspector then adjust (and even click again if you're on the wrong Inspector page) is instantly done on Pro Tools, as well as copying/moving/adding inserts and sends. And all if it is customizable so you can see these things or not see them as you wish. Once you use Pro Tools (and other DAWs that are set up like this) in a session, you will be frustrated going back to Cubase if you like to move fast and efficiently in the specific ways I'm talking about here. The Inspector should still be kept, of course, because it provides some additional things as well.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

simthembile
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by simthembile » Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:04 pm

+10000000

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1676
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by mozizo » Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:21 pm

+1
the inspector is good,but its an old "cubendo" workflow, that needs so much clicking to set basic parameters from track to track.
started using protools for few days and the idea of all controls including insert/send on track header is great as options.
you don't need even select the track first, just adjust what you need very fast without tons of clicks
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Jul 02, 2019 12:56 am

Bump

I massively hope this is coming in 10.5. Every other DAW I see or use has it, and it's inarguably faster in a significant way. As I've said many times on this forum: Less clicks and mousing around to perform a function is always better, and this illustrates that very well. No click-and-hold or mod keys, just directly being able to adjust these things immediately and intuitively like in all other DAWs in varying degrees.

Thanks for listening and bringing Cubase up to speed with other DAWs in this important way. By all means, let's KEEP the inspector for its very useful functions and also have this addition to fast workflow (but have it as an option for those who maybe prefer to click and mouse more, for some reason??).
Last edited by In_Stereo on Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by Winter Rat » Tue Jul 02, 2019 3:36 pm

+1
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

J Buckingham
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:44 am
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by J Buckingham » Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:48 am

Cubase actually has implemented a really good fader design. If you check out 'Show Note Expression Data' in the key editor, there is a little triangle that if you click on it, a fader pops up. A few of these in the track header would work a treat.
In_Stereo wrote:
Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:20 am
> Freely moving, adding, copying inserts from one track to another without having to go to the mixer.
This is Ok if you enjoy huge track heights. I for one enjoy low track heights as it make navigating much faster.
Cubase Pro 10 (Latest), i7 9800x @ 4.2GHz, 128GB RAM, Windows 10 Home, Focusrite Scarlett Solo, Geforce GTX 1060

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by In_Stereo » Thu Jul 04, 2019 5:39 am

J Buckingham wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:48 am
Cubase actually has implemented a really good fader design. If you check out 'Show Note Expression Data' in the key editor, there is a little triangle that if you click on it, a fader pops up. A few of these in the track header would work a treat.
In_Stereo wrote:
Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:20 am
> Freely moving, adding, copying inserts from one track to another without having to go to the mixer.
This is Ok if you enjoy huge track heights. I for one enjoy low track heights as it make navigating much faster.
Yes, as I said, it should all be an option for those who don't want it (just like it is in PT and Reaper -- you can customize how much you want to see in the track headers - brilliant). For many, having this stuff visible (the values themselves) and instantly accessible without any kind of key mod would speed things up significantly. When I work in PT or Reaper, the difference is really big in speed and efficiency.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
cubic13
Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by cubic13 » Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:27 am

+10^6...

And I am thinking of any user who doesn't want to have the MixConsole opened : things get difficult in this case, as there is no way to see the volume/pan settings of several tracks in the project window at a glance.
So, we have both to rely on the inspector and to open the Fader panel. This for only one track, which means that there is no visual comparison between different tracks allowed. In the case of instrument tracks, we additionaly have to open the Instrument panel first, before seeing the Audio fader one.

So, I suggest to implement, at least, volume and pan controls exactly as they appear in their respective automation track, with the same behavior (which is very efficient, IMO). It would look as something like this, when the pan control is set as Stereo combined panner :

Image

... both volume and pan controls being available in the Track control settings, of course.
Last edited by cubic13 on Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:39 am, edited 2 times in total.
DAW : i7-870 (HT enabled) - Asus P7P55D-E - 16 Gb DDR3-1600 - 2 x WD Black Caviar 1 Tb - Radeon 6450 GPU (512 Mb) - Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64) / RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft & plug-ins : Cubase 6.5.5 (64), Cubase Pro 9.5.50 & 10.0.40 / Emulator X3 & several VSTis
Gear : Studiologic VMK-188+ / Akai MPD32 / Akai ME30P MIDI Patchbay / Korg 05RW / Roland D110 / Yamaha TX802 / Pre-MIDI stuff.

User avatar
soundpeaks_net
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by soundpeaks_net » Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:12 pm

I wish volume staging was the most slow and frequent thing I do in a project...

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:21 pm

cubic13 wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:27 am
+10^6...

And I am thinking of any user who doesn't want to have the MixConsole opened : things get difficult in this case, as there is no way to see the volume/pan settings of several tracks in the project window at a glance.
So, we have both to rely on the inspector and to open the Fader panel. This for only one track, which means that there is no visual comparison between different tracks allowed. In the case of instrument tracks, we additionaly have to open the Instrument panel first, before seeing the Audio fader one.

So, I suggest to implement, at least, volume and pan controls exactly as they appear in their respective automation track, with the same behavior (which is very efficient, IMO). It would look as something like this, when the pan control is set as Stereo combined panner :


C10ImprPanel.png


... both volume and pan controls being available in the Track control settings, of course.
Yes! It would be a great starting point. Thank you for that pic. I'm super surprised no one mentioned this in the recent feature poll by Matthias, though many might not even have used another DAW that his this so they can see how much faster it makes everyday work.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

brycem
Junior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by brycem » Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:26 am

cubic13 wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:27 am

C10ImprPanel.png


... both volume and pan controls being available in the Track control settings, of course.
I like it. Can you post the .png on imgur and insert the code in your post so it's visible to everyone skimming the thread? I almost missed it.
Cubase 10, Wavelab 9.5, Windows 10, UAD Quad, 2x RME Hdspe AES, 2x Lynx Aurora, i7 8700k, asus rog maximus x hero

User avatar
cubic13
Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by cubic13 » Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:04 pm

Thanks to you both... 8-)

brycem, I don't have an imgur account, but if you have one, feel free to put it in and send me the link via PM : I'll then edit my previous post with it...
DAW : i7-870 (HT enabled) - Asus P7P55D-E - 16 Gb DDR3-1600 - 2 x WD Black Caviar 1 Tb - Radeon 6450 GPU (512 Mb) - Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64) / RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft & plug-ins : Cubase 6.5.5 (64), Cubase Pro 9.5.50 & 10.0.40 / Emulator X3 & several VSTis
Gear : Studiologic VMK-188+ / Akai MPD32 / Akai ME30P MIDI Patchbay / Korg 05RW / Roland D110 / Yamaha TX802 / Pre-MIDI stuff.

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by Joe90 » Sun Aug 04, 2019 3:57 am

+1

I always have the mixconsole open on a second screen, and I'm no stranger to the open/close channel editor hotkey - but even I would love to see this optional feature implemented... just makes sense.
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

Accel0001
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 6:32 am

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by Accel0001 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 3:22 am

+1
Personally, I use Automation Lanes for faster workflow. "Show All Volume Automation", "Show All Pan Automation", etc.
DAW: Cubase 10.0.50 (6.5 - 10), FL Studio 20.5 (8 - 20.5), Studio One 3.3 (2 - 4.5), etc.
PC: Win7 Ultimate, i7 3930K 4.2GHz (OC), 32GB RAM

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:00 am

Accel0001 wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 3:22 am
+1
Personally, I use Automation Lanes for faster workflow. "Show All Volume Automation", "Show All Pan Automation", etc.
That's indeed a workaround, though it takes up a good amount of space; I can't do that on one of my 350-track scoring templates -- yikes! :-)
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

For those who might not "get" the wish to have more adjustability in the track headers:

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:25 am

I'm probably too late at this point for the feature request poll, but I'm seeing that some people don't quite get what a significant improvement having at the very least volume and pan available (take a deep breath: we'd have it AS AN OPTION) on every track header would be. This might be because they've only used Cubase, but regardless:

I'm suggesting to implement (again at the very least), volume and pan controls exactly as they appear in respective automation tracks, with the same efficient behavior. Very simple, very small, and instead of having to first click on a track then move over to the inspector, possibly click yet again on the inspector, then find the volume or pan and adjust you would simply immediately and directly adjust right on the track header. Every other DAW out there has this for a very good, very smart reason. If for some reason you prefer to click and move your mouse around much more than necessary, it would be an option like everything else in the track headers already currently is in Track Control settings. Ideally we would also have I/O settings and inserts (see Pro Tools and Reaper and some others for brilliant examples of how this can be integrated, again AS AN OPTION) - the increase in speed when mixing and project construction can be very significant. Click-click-click-move-your-mouse-around-click-click-click is old, dated behavior, and this would be another great step forward in that regard.

When you see this in action in any other DAW and/or have used it yourself the difference in speed is inarguable, so I'm hoping people think about this for the Feature Request poll.
Last edited by In_Stereo on Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

JohnfromSonar
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:14 pm
Contact:

Re: For those who might not "get" the wish to have more adjustability in the track headers:

Post by JohnfromSonar » Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:15 am

I can agree to this. I think it would be very useful.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Oct 29, 2019 5:28 am

A bump just to keep this fresh in everyone's minds, and for future Feature Request polls.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Tj99
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Another request for more track controls directly on the track headers.

Post by Tj99 » Tue Oct 29, 2019 3:27 pm

In_Stereo wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 5:28 am
A bump just to keep this fresh in everyone's minds, and for future Feature Request polls.
+1

We are discussing similar things in this thread over there: viewtopic.php?f=285&t=171067

The more people are talking about features like this the higher the chance to have it implemented some day!
Recording - Mixing - Mastering

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests