Use group tracks as folders

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by peakae » Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:56 pm

I hope never, still a bad idea.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by Musicmould » Mon Jan 20, 2020 8:02 am

peakae wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:56 pm
I hope never, still a bad idea.
So, even though it wouldn't affect you at all, you don't want anyone else to have it?
Grumpy much? :D
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.0.50 / 10.5 | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by peakae » Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:14 pm

But it will affect me, just by wasting resources on a feature that IMHO is unnecessary.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by Musicmould » Mon Jan 20, 2020 10:37 pm

peakae wrote:
Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:14 pm
But it will affect me, just by wasting resources on a feature that IMHO is unnecessary.
To each his own

Some would say that ARA is unnecessary.
Some would say that loops are unnecessary.
And some might even say that a DAW is unnecessary.

It is probably right for them but a lot a people would disagree and say it’s vital and necessary.

To me, having worked in both Logic and Studio One, I would say that having the choice to use group Tracks as folders is an amazing organizational and structually simplifying tool that I miss and I would love to see it in Cubase.
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.0.50 / 10.5 | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

ozinga
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by ozinga » Sun Jan 26, 2020 12:15 pm

After Avid adding it to the upcoming Protools (imo with the best workflow fo the concept), Cubase is the only big gun left without it. I'm sure Steinberg is thinking or working on to add it.

ozinga
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by ozinga » Sun Jan 26, 2020 12:50 pm

soundpeaks_net wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:46 pm


You won't deny that there are more "noobs" than "PROs" in the world, simply because being a PRO is hard. So noobs will get together and will shout their noobish ideas. And PROs will shout theirs, but they will always be a minority.

So whom Steinberg should listen too?
I'm here not to say your idea is bad. I am here to say there are some more important problems to solve in Cubase.
And you can have a test: if you can name a few bigger issues Cubase have, I'll consider you as a man who knows what is he talking about.

How is it related to being a pro or noob or lazy? It is just a workflow which some users find useful. If we will go to the noob/lazy route I can say chord tracks are lazy and noob. You can also add quantize to the list if you wish.
Anyways at least all the bedroom Protools noobs got it. :lol:

audiosprite
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by audiosprite » Sun Jan 26, 2020 3:21 pm

Every time I stop making music to fiddle with groups and folders and other bull *flower* I remember this is actually good because other users want it this way
cubase 10.5 pro // windows 10

Tj99
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by Tj99 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:50 pm

peakae wrote:
Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:14 pm
But it will affect me, just by wasting resources on a feature that IMHO is unnecessary.
/agree!
Recording - Mixing - Mastering

chednb
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by chednb » Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:51 pm

+1
I would love to have this feature. Maybe just as an addition, so you can choose if you want to use a "normal" group track, or a "folder group" track.

cheers
Win10 Enterprise 1909 | Nuendo 10.2.10 | Ryzen 9 3950X | Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 3200 | ASUS Pro WS X570-ACE | NH-D15 SE-AM4 | Seasonic Focus RX-750 | 1x 512GB Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2, 1x 1TB Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2, 2x 2TB Intel 660p NVMe M.2, 1x 2TB Samsung 860 Evo | NVidia Geforce GTX Titan | RME Fireface UFX+ | Avid S1 | Komplete Kontrol M32

arkhive
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:25 am
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by arkhive » Fri Apr 17, 2020 3:34 am

+1
i would love the option to be able to group tracks together and have them automatically bussed into a group track

ggmanestraki
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Use group tracks as folders

Post by ggmanestraki » Fri May 01, 2020 2:09 pm

To be honest I don't understand what function is requested.

- Add selected channels to group: Possible with one key command.
- Move tracks inside folder track: Possible with Click, Shift Click, Drag.
- Move group track inside folder track: Possible with Drag.
- Show Channels that are connected with the First Selected Channel: Erm.

This is possible, IF the command is fired in the Mixconsole, and "Sync Project and Mixconsole selection is enabled", AND you have the folder open in the project window.

I don't understand what exactly is missing in Cubase that having group tracks as folders will solve.

1) I agree that visibility agents could be improved. In the above for example, "show connected channels" could work in the project window. Folders could automatically open when a channel within is selected by other means. This is a feature request. (viewtopic.php?f=285&t=187221)

2) I agree that groups could get a "folderlike" style in mixconsole and apply their own visibilty agents on the spot. (If "sync project and Mixconsole" is enabled, it would apply to the project window too) viewtopic.php?f=285&t=187510

3) I agree that it should be easier to add channels to an existing group. viewtopic.php?f=285&t=187230

Could the OP be more specific? In what ways would group tracks be akin to folders? If we wanted to assign the same track to 3 or 4 different groups, how would that be handled?

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest