Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
luiza177
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:43 pm
Contact:

Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by luiza177 » Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:12 am

Cubase 9.5 was a huge improvement in terms of workflow for automation. But I'd love to have something like a hybrid between the click/mouse/main and range tools, especially if you could single click even on top of a clip to locate the cursor without having to hold down shift+alt. Similar to what Pro Tools and S1 have.

User avatar
Naked Man on Balcony
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Naked Man on Balcony » Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:26 pm

+1!!! I hate clicking in the upper half of the tiny bar on top just to postition the cursor. It´s such a waste of time. I also get cramps in my mouse hand after a while because it´s such a small space.

TheDude
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by TheDude » Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:13 pm

+1
luiza177 wrote:
Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:12 am
Cubase 9.5 was a huge improvement in terms of workflow for automation. But I'd love to have something like a hybrid between the click/mouse/main and range tools, especially if you could single click even on top of a clip to locate the cursor without having to hold down shift+alt. Similar to what Pro Tools and S1 have.
I agree. This is one of the the features I really miss, since I switched from Pro Tools. Audio editing in Cubase could definitely benefit from some improvements.

User avatar
Iftekharul Anam
Junior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:10 am
Location: Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Iftekharul Anam » Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:46 pm

+1
www.youtube.com/musicanam

Nuendo 10
WaveLab 9.5 Pro
Windows 10 Pro
Komplete 12 Ultimate
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 2nd Gen
Ryzen™ 7 1700X, X370, GTX 970

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1336
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by In_Stereo » Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:46 pm

+1. Requested for years, and not implemented yet. This would make such a major difference in speed and workflow for those who use it. Most DAWs have it, for a very good reason.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Quinn3k3 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:38 pm

+1

User avatar
nshtain
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:08 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by nshtain » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:24 am

+1
| iMac 5k i7 | OS X 10.14.1 | Cubase 10.0.5 | Genelec 8040a | Sennheiser HD650 | RME Babyface Pro |

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5354
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Centralmusic » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:42 am

Would like to have the same behavior like in Pro Tools - without switching tools...

+ 1 !!!!
"They told us all they wanted was a sound that could kill someone from a distance" (Kate Bush, Experiment IV)
"Do you already know the manual?" ^^
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?" ^^

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by HowlingUlf » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:45 am

+1
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Evertone
Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Evertone » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:01 pm

+1
Cubase Pro 10.0.30
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

TheDude
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by TheDude » Wed Jan 09, 2019 4:51 pm

+1

User avatar
Norbendo
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Norbendo » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:42 pm

+ 1

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by shanabit » Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:23 pm

No need for this at all, what we need is more loops or wiz bang things. Why would you improve speed of the DAW?

Remember, if you DONT ask for it may show up

+1

User avatar
Iftekharul Anam
Junior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:10 am
Location: Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Iftekharul Anam » Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:32 am

shanabit wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:23 pm
No need for this at all, what we need is more loops or wiz bang things. Why would you improve speed of the DAW?

Remember, if you DONT ask for it may show up

+1
😂😂😂
www.youtube.com/musicanam

Nuendo 10
WaveLab 9.5 Pro
Windows 10 Pro
Komplete 12 Ultimate
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 2nd Gen
Ryzen™ 7 1700X, X370, GTX 970


Charlemagne
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Charlemagne » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:21 am

+1

Pablo1980
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Pablo1980 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:02 pm

+100000
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 9990k - Gigabyte Aorus Pro Z390 - 64gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10 64bit - Cubase 10 Pro - Vepro 7 (two slaves)

fbeauvaisc
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 10:08 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by fbeauvaisc » Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:13 am

+1 Assignable mouse modifiers for different contexts like in REAPER.
François Beauvais
www.francoisbeauvais.com
Master - Windows 10 / RME Fireface UFX / Cubase 10.0.20 / P9X79 / i7-4820k / 32gb 1866mhz
Slave 1 - Windows 10 / x79 / Xeon E5-1620 / 64gb 1333mhz
Slave 2 - Windows 10 / x79z / i7-3960x / 32gb 1600mhz

TheDude
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by TheDude » Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:48 pm

fbeauvaisc wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:13 am
+1 Assignable mouse modifiers for different contexts like in REAPER.
A simple Grab+Range tool (like in Pro Tools or Studio One) would be more than enough as a starting point, but I do have to agree, that Reaper puts other DAWs to shame in this aspect:
https://youtu.be/hsPDVzDeJck

nexis
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by nexis » Thu Feb 28, 2019 3:23 am

+1, I've always wondered why don't we have such a cool feature like this yet...
Cubase 10 PRO, Steinberg MR816 CSX (2 of them), Windows 10 Pro, i7 Processor, 24 gigs of RAM, 3 TB Drives, Dual Monitors

Turnicate99
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Turnicate99 » Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:29 am

TheDude wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:48 pm

A simple Grab+Range tool (like in Pro Tools or Studio One) would be more than enough as a starting point, but I do have to agree, that Reaper puts other DAWs to shame in this aspect:
https://youtu.be/hsPDVzDeJck
+1

Whoah. Reaper puts Cubase deeply to shame with what that video shows (as does Pro Tools, but not to the degree of Reaper). Things like that speed up work by so much it's not even funny.

Nemeton
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 7:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Nemeton » Thu Feb 28, 2019 2:54 pm

+1
once you meet them, you can´t eat them

TheDude
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by TheDude » Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:45 pm

nexis wrote:
Thu Feb 28, 2019 3:23 am
+1, I've always wondered why don't we have such a cool feature like this yet...
Exactly - it is 2019, Cubase is at version 10, Stephen Hawking and Stan Lee are no longer among us (R.I.P.), One Direction is no longer a thing (which I personally don't mind) and we still don't have a Smart Tool.

Dear Steinberg developers - its time to make Cubase great again..

User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by vanhaze3000 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:36 am

+1000 for Reaper's Mouse Modifiers concept implemenation in Cubase plz.
It' so utterly powerful for fast edit workflows.
Macbook Retina 2015 * OSX Mojave 10.14 (always latest version) * UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt * Cubase 10 Pro (latest version) * Maschine Studio2 * Novation Impulse * Lots and lots of legal plugins.

Tomek
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool (or main+range tool hybrid)

Post by Tomek » Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:12 pm

Read carefully Steinberg please!

We need SMART TOOL not New Colour Tool :D
MBP 2017, Mojave, Cubase Pro 10, Apogee Ensemble TB

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests