mix concole - center selected track ?

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 8 can be posted here.
Post Reply
sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

mix concole - center selected track ?

Post by sylvainmoreau » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Hi,
when i select a track in EDIT view the linked console also selects this track and scroll the mixer so the track is visible.
BUT ! if the track is out of visible range, mixer console will be automatically scrolled so that the track is visible but always on one side either left or right of the mixer .. :| so when you select multiple tracks that or at the right of the actual visible part of the mixer then only the left track of that selection is visible. you have to manually scroll right the mixer view to see all your selection.

also.. when you select a track chances are you might be interested with track nearby just because .. people tend to groups tracks by stems no ? or you have guitar mic 1 / pickup / room etc..
so when you display track "y" you might want it to be in the center of the mixer view so you can easily see what's going on track "x" and "z" left and right of it .

is there a way to force selected tracks to be "centered" in the mixer console display ?
nuendo 10.2.10 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: mix concole - center selected track ?

Post by Niekbeem » Mon Aug 13, 2018 8:13 pm

+1
I totally agree with you. Why is the selected track automatically scrolled to the left side of the window? Why isn't it in the center? or (preferably) to a user-defined-position?

Same counts for zooming in the project window; why is the cursor automatically centered when zooming in and out? Very annoying.........

Niek/ Amsterdam.
Last edited by Niekbeem on Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 10
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: mix concole - center selected track ?

Post by sylvainmoreau » Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:07 am

And +1 for the zoom centering the timeline.
Why not have the timeline positionned at 1/4 left of screen so you see what happens right of it... but also can have a look at what was just before.
Anyway I talked about this timeline line..6y ago 8? So it doesn't give much hope for the mix console center 🤣
nuendo 10.2.10 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1471
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: mix concole - center selected track ?

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:08 am

+1 Great idea.
Cubase 10.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests