Add gain reduction meters in the Mixer.

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 8 can be posted here.
Post Reply
Helidream
Junior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:19 pm
Contact:

Add gain reduction meters in the Mixer.

Post by Helidream » Sat May 19, 2018 11:29 am

Useful when recording as well as mixing, a gain reduction meter for each input, audio and output tracks in the mixer would be nice.

See what the concurrence do at this level.

This is something we have since decades on analog mixing consoles.

Here a SSL channel strip where we can see the gain reduction meters on each channel strip :

(Can be combined in a single bargraph instead of two to save room in the mixer).

Image

And an implementation in a well known DAW mixer :

Image

Or here in a well known workstation mixer :

Image
Attachments
Harrison.png
(151.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
gain reduction.jpg
(31.01 KiB) Not downloaded yet
ssl-channel-strip.png
(215.06 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Comps+OS: PC Intel Core i7 six core 's - X79 Chipset - 256 Go SATA SSD - 1 To SATA Hard disk, 16 Go RAM - Win 7 Pro 64 Dual 27" monitors - AMD Firepro V7900 video card - Nuendo 8.3.20.
MR816csx - UR44 - MOTU 828 mkIII audio interfaces.
JLCooper MCS3800 (Mixing and Transport) - AKAI AFX + Midi translator Pro (Control Room) - TouchOSC Android (Personal Monitoring Controller) Control surfaces.
Rogers LS3/5a proximity monitors.
Sony PCM-7040 DAT - TASCAM HD-P2 recorder - PTV PT5210 Digital sync generator - Steinberg Timebase - Adam Smith ZETA3 synchronizers.
Lindos LA100 audio analyzer, HP 5372A frequency and time interval analyzer, Siglent SDG2042X signal generator - Tektronix TDS5000 scope - Efratom 10 MHz rubidium clock - HP Z3816A GPS frequency standard.

Dolfo
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Add gain reduction meters in the Mixer.

Post by Dolfo » Sat May 19, 2018 10:50 pm

Are you refering about gain reduction of a compressor?
If yes you’ve it at meter bridge at the top of mixer.
MacPro 12 cores 3,06GHz 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.5
Nuendo 10 (4 rooms) / Cubase Pro 10
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Yamaha DM2000 V2 / Yamaha 01V96 V2 / Houston
MOTU 896HD mk3 / MOTU Traveler / MOTU 8Pre / MIDI Express 128 / MOTU MTPII

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 661
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Add gain reduction meters in the Mixer.

Post by Niekbeem » Sun May 20, 2018 8:36 am

Dolfo,
have you got a minute to explain how to get them working?
I never got them working unfortunately.

For instance, just a minute ago I imported a simple MP3 onto a stereo music track in my Post Production template, where there is a Steinberg brickwall limiter on the (surround, 5.1) M&E-bus (a group) where this stereo music track feeds into.
When I bring down the threshold of this brickwall limiter, I can clearly see high levels of gain reduction in the plugin-window, but the meter above this track (I am in the Mix Console window) only shows peak input- or output levels.......no gain reduction at all.

If you've got a minute to explain what's going wrong?
Thanks, Niek/ Amsterdam.
Last edited by Niekbeem on Sun May 20, 2018 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 10
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

Helidream
Junior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Add gain reduction meters in the Mixer.

Post by Helidream » Sun May 20, 2018 10:35 am

Dolfo, I can't find this option in the meter bridge. Where is it located ?


I did add a Steinberg compressor on an audio track to see if a gain reduction meter did automatically appear in the meter bridge, but no success.


Anyway it would be better in the lower meter. To save room.
Comps+OS: PC Intel Core i7 six core 's - X79 Chipset - 256 Go SATA SSD - 1 To SATA Hard disk, 16 Go RAM - Win 7 Pro 64 Dual 27" monitors - AMD Firepro V7900 video card - Nuendo 8.3.20.
MR816csx - UR44 - MOTU 828 mkIII audio interfaces.
JLCooper MCS3800 (Mixing and Transport) - AKAI AFX + Midi translator Pro (Control Room) - TouchOSC Android (Personal Monitoring Controller) Control surfaces.
Rogers LS3/5a proximity monitors.
Sony PCM-7040 DAT - TASCAM HD-P2 recorder - PTV PT5210 Digital sync generator - Steinberg Timebase - Adam Smith ZETA3 synchronizers.
Lindos LA100 audio analyzer, HP 5372A frequency and time interval analyzer, Siglent SDG2042X signal generator - Tektronix TDS5000 scope - Efratom 10 MHz rubidium clock - HP Z3816A GPS frequency standard.

Dolfo
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Add gain reduction meters in the Mixer.

Post by Dolfo » Mon May 21, 2018 9:36 am

It's located next to track meter. I send you a capture.
Compressor gain reduction.jpg
(1.54 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Attachments
Compressor gain reduction.jpg
(1.54 MiB) Not downloaded yet
MacPro 12 cores 3,06GHz 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.5
Nuendo 10 (4 rooms) / Cubase Pro 10
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Yamaha DM2000 V2 / Yamaha 01V96 V2 / Houston
MOTU 896HD mk3 / MOTU Traveler / MOTU 8Pre / MIDI Express 128 / MOTU MTPII

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 661
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Add gain reduction meters in the Mixer.

Post by Niekbeem » Mon May 21, 2018 10:20 am

Weird......
on my system there is no gain reduction meter in the Mix Console......Is there a place where I need to switch it on?
Or is this a N8.2-feature only?
Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 11.13.16.png
(424.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 10
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

Helidream
Junior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Add gain reduction meters in the Mixer.

Post by Helidream » Mon May 21, 2018 10:51 am

Ok i got it. It does work only with the channel strip compressor !

It does not work with the channel strip gate, nor does it work with channel plugins. So this is not terribly useful, except if the channel strip compressor is used exclusively.

More, i feel that channel gain reduction is something that should be shown in the lower part of the mixer, near faders. And this is how other software editors did it.

The logic suggest that we should have pre fader meters in the upper side of the mixer (meter bridge), and post fader (or post panner) meters with gain reduction indication in the lower part of the mixer, near the faders,

If we could have a gain reduction and a crest factor meter near each fader, this would be nice, and better than the competition that show only the gain reduction. The two could be inline, each one with a different color, to save channel width room. Short bargraphs are ok for this use. See the SSL channel strip, only a few leds.

Gain reduction should take into account all plugins. This is quite easy to do even without specific VST support, comparing the channel input signal with the channel output signal and make a subtraction.
Comps+OS: PC Intel Core i7 six core 's - X79 Chipset - 256 Go SATA SSD - 1 To SATA Hard disk, 16 Go RAM - Win 7 Pro 64 Dual 27" monitors - AMD Firepro V7900 video card - Nuendo 8.3.20.
MR816csx - UR44 - MOTU 828 mkIII audio interfaces.
JLCooper MCS3800 (Mixing and Transport) - AKAI AFX + Midi translator Pro (Control Room) - TouchOSC Android (Personal Monitoring Controller) Control surfaces.
Rogers LS3/5a proximity monitors.
Sony PCM-7040 DAT - TASCAM HD-P2 recorder - PTV PT5210 Digital sync generator - Steinberg Timebase - Adam Smith ZETA3 synchronizers.
Lindos LA100 audio analyzer, HP 5372A frequency and time interval analyzer, Siglent SDG2042X signal generator - Tektronix TDS5000 scope - Efratom 10 MHz rubidium clock - HP Z3816A GPS frequency standard.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest