Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1415
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:14 pm
You know, I sometimes wonder how I can keep my company alive.
Since we are a Nuendo-only facility, we must be unable to get any work done with all these useless and totally broken features.

Fredo
Dear Fredo,

this comment is rather inappropriate here, I think.
I have been in the professional audio business for 20+ years now. Since I switched from fairlight with Nuendo 4 I‘ve used Nuendo for almost all jobs I have been given the chance to participate in. I must say that I can‘t remember a software release ever to get so many basic things completely wrong as N8 and 8.1

I know that as a pro you must ALWAYS work around bugs or missing features.

But if an audio post daw gets things like displaying video, rx integration, reversing a clip or simple mouse interaction wrong and does not get fixed for allost half a year I must say that it does not meet the most simple quality standards I can think of as a user.
A company that releases such useless versions is not a company I trust with the most important software in my business. That is the reason I will finish my projects for amazon prime and zdf and switch to another option. It‘s a matter of missing trust of Steinberg‘s understanding of my business.
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2627
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by Fredo »

If I were in your shoes, and really couldn't get any work done in Nuendo, then I would switch DAW too.
It must be that we are different.
In all honestly, I have always worked with the tools that served me best. Until now that was CoolEdit pro and Nuendo.
RX ... I have much bigger issues with Izotope than a not properly working RX Connect.
Izotopes code is so bad that it even breaks projects upon reopening, issues which haven't been resolved for years now.
But apparently that isn't as important than things that are hyped.
For the record, I could make RX connect work. Granted with some specific precautions, but I made it work.
I have one freelancer who had a BIG problem with N8 and RX connect, so we just fired up N7. No big deal.
Nothing more than just clicking another icon on the toolbar.
Yes, I am biased and not objective, but I do am realistic.
If PT or any other DAW could make me more money tomorrow, I would switch in a heartbeat.

And it's different for each and everyone.
I can only tell youi my side of the story. Which is the story of a happy user.
And for the record .... None of our 6 Nuendo systems is sponsered by Steinberg, none of our Nuage systems is sponsered by Yamaha.
They were all paid for.

Fredo

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by ChrisPolus »

Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:14 pm
You know, I sometimes wonder how I can keep my company alive.
Since we are a Nuendo-only facility, we must be unable to get any work done with all these useless and totally broken features.
I guess from your point of view we're just whining for no reason. The thing is, everybody has a different point of view. There are many workflows, many systems, many ways to get work done. Some people choose one way of working, others have a different way of working. Both are legitimate. It's great Nuendo really works for you and you're really close to Steinberg. I guess that's why you also get annoyed by our posts. You have a view into Steinberg, what's going on behind the scenes. And it's a great personal treat if you don't get beaten down by crashes, slow UI, and you can just look over these things. And I really mean it! If you can, you can concentrate a lot more on getting work done!

I'm somebody who needs a very clear way of working. I clean my table and I have a very structured work environment. And I'm really hindered and annoyed by crashes, slow UI response, and all the workarounds I have to keep in mind to work in a way Nuendo is actually supposed to work. I'm sure there's a workaround for everything. If automation crashes, don't use automation. Use clip gain. Create a bus for every track when automation on the bus doesn't crash. If VCA's don't work, don't use them. VCA's were not present in older versions and we could get our work done all the same. All true. But many don't have a personality as you and are genuinely annoyed by the sum of itches, to the point where they cannot get their work done. At least me, when I constantly run into problems where I have to find workarounds, I get angry. One thing doesn't bother me. 10 things do. Especially when it's supposed to work "as advertised".

When I buy a car where I first have to open the rear left door to open the trunk, there's something wrong with the car. If I have to use a third party gearbox because the built-in gearbox stutters and makes the car randomly turn down the engine on the highway, I'd be really angry. Sure you can get from point A to be in this car. But who'd willingly buy such a car? Some people love a car with an "attitude". I don't.
Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:34 pm
I have one freelancer who had a BIG problem with N8 and RX connect, so we just fired up N7. No big deal.
It IS a big deal because we all paid for it. I want to use the new functions of N8, that I paid for, why else buy N8 in the first place? But those new features don't work in N7. So how can I just fire up 7? I use one Nuendo, not 20 versions, 1 version for each track because DOP works OK in 8, video in 7, and the UI was more responsive in 6. I have no plans to start taking notes which projects and parts of projects I have to open in which version because other stuff is broken. When your car breaks down on your way to an important client meeting, 100km in and 100km to go, no big deal? You just get your 6 year old second car out of the garage and ride on? Well, it only cost €40'000, so why complaining. You'll get to your destination with one of your 3 cars in the garage.

I really envy you Fredo.
Last edited by ChrisPolus on Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by MattiasNYC »

Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:34 pm
If I were in your shoes, and really couldn't get any work done in Nuendo, then I would switch DAW too.
It must be that we are different.
Basically you're saying one out of two things above;

Either I don't know how to get the job done with the tools at my disposal,
Or I do know how to do it, but shouldn't complain, because it can be done.

Those are the two options. You already know that I can get work done in Nuendo, so your question is rhetorical and disingenuous. You seem to just not like that some of us have a problem with how Steinberg conducts its business relative to us users.

I've done far more work in PT these past two years after a peak on Nuendo about three years ago. I have been able to take work that otherwise would have priced some people out of the studios I work in by doing that at home. This includes everything from Tourism commercials to ESPN / Mastercard commercials to shows on MTV. But not recently.

So my question was simply what my incentive is to give Steinberg more money.

You want to argue about facility use then go ahead. I worked on Superbowl 50 for example, and CBS had how many Nuendo stations? I'm currently working on NHL content, how many Nuendo stations in the facility? Zero. Last time I encountered a Nuendo setup in the US was a remote source connect VO where the talent was deep in New Jersey or somewhere. It's just not widely used here.

So if the point is that people can use Nuendo (because you can) then that argument falls completely flat in New York the second I tell them how VCAs looked on release, and then proceed to tell them about Steinberg reps being pricks on a public forum (gearslutz) as well as then not fixing it for over a year. They'd laugh in my face if I proposed switching to Nuendo, or even using.

ADR functionality. Great. Now can I trim ADR tracks when doing the ADR predub using VCAs? No? Ok....
Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:34 pm
RX ... I have much bigger issues with Izotope than a not properly working RX Connect.
Izotopes code is so bad that it even breaks projects upon reopening, issues which haven't been resolved for years now.
But apparently that isn't as important than things that are hyped.
Well, let me respond in exactly the same way you come off: If you can't do ANY work in RX then you should use something else. Personally I don't have those problems with RX, I have problems with RX in Nuendo.

And that is actually true. Zero "broken projects" upon reopening.

It's a bit hard to take you seriously when you on the one hand tell us indirectly that the app is good enough to do work in, and that any problems we have are with personal setups or with hyped features, then go ahead and complain about RX breaking projects.
Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:34 pm
I have one freelancer who had a BIG problem with N8 and RX connect, so we just fired up N7. No big deal.
Nothing more than just clicking another icon on the toolbar.
It's 'some' deal if you paid for a product and it doesn't work. Not a big deal to you, but a big deal to other people.
Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:34 pm
Yes, I am biased and not objective, but I do am realistic.
If PT or any other DAW could make me more money tomorrow, I would switch in a heartbeat.
And this is why I haven't paid for N8. So you didn't have to tell me that. As a matter of fact, I'm pretty sure I said exactly that in this thread (though I'm not going to check).
Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:34 pm
I can only tell youi my side of the story. Which is the story of a happy user.
Good for you.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

umfufu
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by umfufu »

The thing that we want is information, from Steinberg, about the roadmap of Nuendo. Not the opinions of a moderator.
iMacPro 10 Cores, 64 Gigs Ram. High Sierra 10.13.6. CubasePro 10 and Nuendo 8 (latests). Universal Audio Interfaces.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2627
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by Fredo »

Ok, sorry about that.

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1415
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

Fredo wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:34 pm
If I were in your shoes, and really couldn't get any work done in Nuendo, then I would switch DAW too.
As I have stated I do get work done in N7 and have survived in the business for 20+ years.
No need to fire your guns at iZotope either.
THEY did not break connect
THEY came up with a software that has become industry standard in a heartbeat and that no audio post studio lives without.
THEY have happy users who embrace new innovative software that works very well for me.
Speaking of noise reduction. Have you heard the new NR in Wavelab, a Steinberg product. It‘s not even close to the old Sonnox solution that was included before. I am talking about what I perceive as a problem of Steinbergs decrasing product quality that I get tired of witnessing.

You say we must be different. Well yes, we must be. While you try to defend bug ridden releases, I get annoyed by bad software. It is the reason I once chose Nuendo.

It is the reason I now leave it.
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1415
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

umfufu wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:12 pm
The thing that we want is information, from Steinberg, about the roadmap of Nuendo. Not the opinions of a moderator.
+1
or even better, a bug fix release
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by MattiasNYC »

umfufu wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:12 pm
The thing that we want is information, from Steinberg, about the roadmap of Nuendo. Not the opinions of a moderator.
He's also a user though, running a multi-room facility. So even though I may disagree I think the above is a bit "off".
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by ChrisPolus »

MattiasNYC wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:22 pm
He's also a user
And a very helpful and well respected one at that.

I for one am not interested in a roadmap from Steinberg. What should we do with a roadmap that said "VCA functionality" or "New Lower Zone Window Layout", or "Direct Offline Processing" or "Profile Manager to manage multiple user profiles". All of them sound wonderful on paper. Many of them didn't work or somehow work but were half-heartedly implemented. I'm not interested in a roadmap but more in a dialog with Steinberg so we could work together in fixing outstanding issues that plague users. This should get us the studio environment we paid for and make the experience better for everybody in the process.
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

deneverstudio
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by deneverstudio »

"I'm sure there's a workaround for everything. If automation crashes, don't use automation. Use clip gain. Create a bus for every track when automation on the bus doesn't crash. If VCA's don't work, don't use them. VCA's were not present in older versions and we could get our work done all the same. All true. But many don't have a personality as you and are genuinely annoyed by the sum of itches, to the point where they cannot get their work done. At least me, when I constantly run into problems where I have to find workarounds, I get angry. One thing doesn't bother me. 10 things do. Especially when it's supposed to work "as advertised"."

+100

The N8 can not use for any serious work. N7 also has a lot of bugs, but N8 is really terrible.
It has never been so bad, over the past 18 years.

umfufu
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by umfufu »

ChrisPolus wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:21 pm
I'm not interested in a roadmap but more in a dialog with Steinberg so we could work together in fixing outstanding issues that plague users.
Fixing outstanding issues would be a roadmap conversation as well ;)
(Or at least the way I was thinking of it).
iMacPro 10 Cores, 64 Gigs Ram. High Sierra 10.13.6. CubasePro 10 and Nuendo 8 (latests). Universal Audio Interfaces.

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by jorisdeman »

Fredo man, I love you, and your support for SB and its product is admirable.
I don't doubt you have a solution that works for you.

Here is my situation: switched to the an iMac 5k 2 years ago as I couldn't stand Windows any longer. N7 performed fairly well, though it did struggle on bigger sessions; SB had been aware already for some time that GUI lag was becoming a serious issue on the Mac (other Daw's, like Logic or even Studio One didn't appear to struggle to get a good responsive UI going)

N8 got released; liked the functionality, but totally unusable on the Mac. GUI lag to such a degree that even clicking and selecting things can take seconds. Sometimes the tool switching is so slow, it causes a crash because it hasn't switched tools whilst you're already clicking something else (poof!)
Checked various forums, seems I'm certainly not the only one.

Got my first major feature film to score - realised the Mac version would bot be able to handle my +500 track template.
Had a PC specialist build me a £2000 Sky-lake PC so i could quickly switch back.
N8 still not usable enough, even with the 8.1 update.

Back on N7 which for the most part is flying on the new PC; but still can't use N8 on my projects.
Yeah, that *quiz* me off.

So, now I'm in a rock and a hard place; Nuendo on the Mac is generally a joy to use; it seems more stable, and we don't have the annoying issue of disappearing plug-ins or 64 unique plug-in limit that Windows has (I'd completely forgotten about it until I loaded a session...ah, there are the bugs I remember!)
But, the Mac version is just too laggy to be useable.

On the PC, N7 works, N8 doesn't for me. And we have the mssing plug-in issue back again..seems I'm fracked whatever I do :P
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by jorisdeman »

And, to drag up an old issue again - I'm still baffled as to why a Nuendo license can't run Cubase either. Hell, I'd be happy to even pay for Cubase updates if that's what takes - SB could even consider offering a rebate/price difference for the Nuendo update if people have bought the Cubase update first).
It frustrates me no end that every year we get to look at Cubase features for 4-6 months before we get to use them....is SB really that concerned they're loosing out on potential Cubase users, considering these people would likely never splash out on a new license anyway as they already have the flagship product?
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

umfufu
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by umfufu »

jorisdeman wrote:
Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:04 pm
And, to drag up an old issue again - I'm still baffled as to why a Nuendo license can't run Cubase either. Hell, I'd be happy to even pay for Cubase updates if that's what takes - SB could even consider offering a rebate/price difference for the Nuendo update if people have bought the Cubase update first).
It frustrates me no end that every year we get to look at Cubase features for 4-6 months before we get to use them....is SB really that concerned they're loosing out on potential Cubase users, considering these people would likely never splash out on a new license anyway as they already have the flagship product?
100% agree with this. It would be a simple, painless gesture for Steinberg. It would be the right thing for them to do.
iMacPro 10 Cores, 64 Gigs Ram. High Sierra 10.13.6. CubasePro 10 and Nuendo 8 (latests). Universal Audio Interfaces.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by MattiasNYC »

The right thing was to drop the NEK. How many years did we make that point? It was clear from the beginning it was an unnecessary thing to have, yet version after version it persisted.... Same thing here....

But I'll reiterate: It sits wrong with me to develop the "lesser" app with new features while important issues in the "flagship" linger for months, only for the "flagship" to then on top of that also have to wait for those new features to be incorporated. It sits poorly with me. Very poorly.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

umfufu
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by umfufu »

Same feelings completely.
iMacPro 10 Cores, 64 Gigs Ram. High Sierra 10.13.6. CubasePro 10 and Nuendo 8 (latests). Universal Audio Interfaces.

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by Getalife2 »

I believe this is why we we will not see a Nuendo license also apply to Cubase.

It would be in an admission by Steinberg that it can be preferable to work in a Steinberg DAW that costs 25% of the price of their Flagship DAW. Which is of course true for months at a time based upon the release schedule, and depending on how you work.

So yes, in many ways it seems logical and it seems as though it would be painless for the company to make that available. But from a Steinberg marketing standpoint it is anything but a selling point for Nuendo. It's a corporate admission of the reality we are all discussing in this forum regarding preferable features currently available in a much lower-priced DAW from the same company.

Awkward.

Had I known then what I know now, I would have spent the upgrade money for N8 as half the purchase price of owning a Cubase license. It's not a lot of money and it's not like I'm all bent out of shape about it. Just practically speaking, Cubase would be a smarter way to go for me at this point. My confidence in Nuendo as a more professional and stable application has definitely evaporated over the last two years.
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7 Pro 64bit - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

DaniDonadi
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by DaniDonadi »

Perfect example: the automation.

After working with the wonderful CB9.5 automation, I'm having a hard time re-adjusting to the N8.1 one.
The same project started in CB9.5 and very snappy on an old Mac, is a drag on N8.1 on a brand new one.

Dani
Dani Donadi
Composer/Producer
Donadi Media DBA Donadi Music Productions LLC
Music & Sounds for Film/TV/Video Games & Themed Attractions
WWW.DONADI.COM
Latest: Nuendo 10.3 - Cubase Pro 10.5 - WaveLab Pro 10 - Dorico 3.5 | MAC OS

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by MattiasNYC »

DaniDonadi wrote:
Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:49 pm
Perfect example: the automation.

After working with the wonderful CB9.5 automation, I'm having a hard time re-adjusting to the N8.1 one.
The same project started in CB9.5 and very snappy on an old Mac, is a drag on N8.1 on a brand new one.

Dani
How does the automation differ between the two?
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

DaniDonadi
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by DaniDonadi »

You drag a selection and it creates 4 nodes, like Pro Tools, also the nodes are bigger, more precise, very snappy.
I used to dislike the automation on CB/N until now, it seems very advanced.
I used Pro Tools, Logic, Digital performer and I can now say that Cubase Pro 9.5 has my favorite automation workflow.

Dani
Dani Donadi
Composer/Producer
Donadi Media DBA Donadi Music Productions LLC
Music & Sounds for Film/TV/Video Games & Themed Attractions
WWW.DONADI.COM
Latest: Nuendo 10.3 - Cubase Pro 10.5 - WaveLab Pro 10 - Dorico 3.5 | MAC OS

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2627
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by Fredo »

When writing automation in Cubase, during the first pass it behaves like "To eNd" is activated.
I.e. The fader stays at the level last set. So if your fadre is é -6dB, then the rest of the track will stay at -6dB.
While in Nuendo, the fader will snap vack to it's initial value. (Unless you use one of the Automation "fill" functions.

Fredo

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1415
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

Fredo wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:32 am
When writing automation in Cubase, during the first pass it behaves like "To eNd" is activated.
I.e. The fader stays at the level last set. So if your fadre is é -6dB, then the rest of the track will stay at -6dB.
While in Nuendo, the fader will snap vack to it's initial value. (Unless you use one of the Automation "fill" functions.

Fredo
That‘s pretty limited and shows the dilemma Steinberg is putting users into: You can either have proper automation or a snappy gui.
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

vespesian
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by vespesian »

Fredo wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:32 am
When writing automation in Cubase, during the first pass it behaves like "To eNd" is activated.
I.e. The fader stays at the level last set. So if your fadre is é -6dB, then the rest of the track will stay at -6dB.
While in Nuendo, the fader will snap vack to it's initial value. (Unless you use one of the Automation "fill" functions.

Fredo
Huh? In touch mode you just have to punch out and the fader returns to the original value.

umfufu
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Features in Nuendo 8 - When?

Post by umfufu »

It'd be awesome to hear from Steinberg this week... Just sayin.
iMacPro 10 Cores, 64 Gigs Ram. High Sierra 10.13.6. CubasePro 10 and Nuendo 8 (latests). Universal Audio Interfaces.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests