curve editor question

Use this forum to post about your macro page designs in HALion 6
Post Reply
splunk
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:10 am
Contact:

curve editor question

Post by splunk » Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:51 pm

I'm new to designing macro pages and am probably missing something simple, but I can't get the curve editor to ever show a curve. The online description of the parameter seems to suggest that if I insert a Velocity Curve MIDI module and hook up the curve.function to the CurveData field in the Curve Editor template and the Min and Max parameters to their same named fields in the Curve Editor, I'll get something that looks similar to what I see in the VC MIDI module itself (although the description under the Controls and Sub Templates section is a little vague since it seems to be implying that every parameter should be hooked up to the Maximum parameter of the Velocity Curve module.) I suspect that I've got an oversimplified understanding of how this template works, but I've tried everything I can think of and haven't had any luck. Can I hook up H6 parameters to this template like I can do with switches and knobs or does it require some scripting?

misohoza
Member
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: curve editor question

Post by misohoza » Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:26 pm

Hi splunk.

You've been doing it correctly but you need to change the curve of the Velocity Curve Module to Custom.
Velocity Curve.PNG
(254.7 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

splunk
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:10 am
Contact:

Re: curve editor question

Post by splunk » Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:15 pm

Thanks Misohoza! This is the second time you've helped me with something on this forum. I really appreciate it!

The problem I was having was a partially due to a misunderstanding about or inconsistency in how H6 assigns parameters to the template. I was right clicking the User Curve icon in the Velocity Curve edit window and selecting Connect to Macro Page. I then right clicked the CurveData field on the template, right clicked and used the Connect to Parameter Velocity Curve.Function menu item to make the connection. This has worked with all the other controls I've used so far, but it doesn't work in this case. No curve line ever shows up. I have to select the User Curve in the Program Tree, open the Parameter List and then drag the FuncData parameter to the CurveData field. That gets me my curve line. (BTW, what is up with the long kanji string in the Parameter List value field for the Function parameter directly above the FuncData parameter? I see that even when I hover over a curve in the Velocity Curve edit window. I'm pretty sure that isn't supposed to be there.)

Unfortunately, there appears to be a fatal bug with the curve display, at least on my system. If I try to add a node, Halion goes into the spinning ball of death and there's no recovery other than to force quit. Not only that, if I save a program with a working curve display as part of the macro page, H6 crashes immediately if I try to load the program.

So, the good news is that I have the curve working, but the bad news is that it freezes or crashes H6 whenever I try to use it. Is anyone else seeing this or is there some other parameter I need to set in order to stop this behavior?

misohoza
Member
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: curve editor question

Post by misohoza » Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:53 am


So, the good news is that I have the curve working, but the bad news is that it freezes or crashes H6 whenever I try to use it. Is anyone else seeing this or is there some other parameter I need to set in order to stop this behavior?
Yes, same here. When I try to add a node it freezes and I have to kill it in task manager.
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

splunk
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:10 am
Contact:

Re: curve editor question

Post by splunk » Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:04 pm

Thanks for checking. So, this template needs fixing. Is there a place to submit bug reports to Steinberg?

roger-s.
Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: curve editor question

Post by roger-s. » Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:15 am

I can confirm Halion 6 crashing on using Curve Editor or Envelope window in Macropage designer...
Steinberg Training Center FAMA Foco Audio & Music A. , Mexico City

Post Reply

Return to “Macro Page Design”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest