Page 1 of 1

Cubase 9 pro - VST instruments won't load

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 4:00 pm
by daanhaeyen
Hi, I use Cubase 9 pro, and up until a few weeks ago everything worked fine.

I recently bought a RME Babyface Pro interface. When I started Cubase and loaded a project, I got some errors and warnings ("could not create record file") and now most VST instruments won't load.

I have some old ones that are bridged, for example Battery 3, that won't load, but also newer ones like Repro 1 and 5 don't work. Those last ones produce a white loading screen, then nothing...

Does anyone have an idea what could be wrong here? When I start Cubase 5 everything works fine. But I'm not willing to go back after all this expensive upgrading...

EDIT: I also have Cubase 8.5 installed. Weirdly, all these VST's work okay in this version.

Thank in advance!

Daan

Re: Cubase 9 pro - VST instruments won't load

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 9:40 pm
by Martin.Jirsak
Hi,

Then I would probably recommend to trash Cubase 9 preferences.

Re: Cubase 9 pro - VST instruments won't load

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 10:16 pm
by daanhaeyen
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 9:40 pm
Hi,

Then I would probably recommend to trash Cubase 9 preferences.
Thanks, I did that, but now there are no plugins left whatsoever... How can I point Cubase to the right folders?

I find this so confusing, all these different locations for plugins... Do I have to install everything again?

Re: Cubase 9 pro - VST instruments won't load

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 11:17 pm
by daanhaeyen
Okay, resetting Cubase and rebuilding the bridge files seems to have done the trick. Thanks!!