Device ports missing

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
braxted18
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:47 am
Contact:

Device ports missing

Post by braxted18 »

Never had a problem with this before but the device ports column is missing from external effects page, still there for inputs/outputs. So the only choice is 'audio device' and it defaults to the main ins/ outs. Have I done something somewhere? Using a Lynx aes16r with various converters. Like I say no issue recognizing the 8 stereo ports in the main ins/ outs and also in Ableton..and up till now every other version of Cubase. I just downloaded 10.5.10 to see if it made a difference but no.

Cheers,
Steve

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23192
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Could you try in Cubase Safe Start Mode, please?
Last edited by Martin.Jirsak on Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

braxted18
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by braxted18 »

Thanks I'll give it a go tomorrow in the studio

braxted18
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by braxted18 »

Of course I realise after looking at Cubase 10.5 on my laptop, not the studio pc, that all the columns after audio device are missing, delay etc. Tried the safe mode loading with factory preferences, no difference

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23192
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Could you attach a screenshot, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

braxted18
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by braxted18 »

Ok this is a not great pic of my screen, attached

Steve
Attachments
Screen audio devices.jpg
(1.93 MiB) Not downloaded yet

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23192
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Just unfold the External Effect in the Bus Name column on the left. The Audio Device and Audio Port names appear.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

braxted18
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by braxted18 »

Thanks Martin but this isn't the issue, even when you can see the audio device, you don't see the ports. It defaults in Lynx AES16s case as outputs 1-2 , and they do emit a sound but doesn't show those outputs on the screen. I've attached a screen grab to show what I mean (bus Cubase) and also one of my laptop to show it is working on there (bus Cubase 2)

All very bonkers...
Attachments
Bus Cubase 2.PNG
(37.53 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Bus Cubase.PNG
(19.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23192
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Could you attach your preferences folder (ZIPped), please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

braxted18
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by braxted18 »

In the end Martin, I threw the preferences folder away from the 'appdata' folder for 10.5 and that seems to have fixed it. Still can't quite work out which 'preference' it would have been or why the columns disappeared, but it's now back to normal and though I have the pain or replacing a few of my settings, it's worth it!

Cheers and thanks for your help
Steve

braxted18
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Device ports missing

Post by braxted18 »

In the end Martin, I threw the preferences folder away from the 'appdata' folder for 10.5 and that seems to have fixed it. Still can't quite work out which 'preference' it would have been or why the columns disappeared, but it's now back to normal and though I have the pain or replacing a few of my settings, it's worth it!

Cheers and thanks for your help
Steve

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests