Cubase highjacks the soundcard HELP PLEASE

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
selsong
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 11:47 am
Contact:

Cubase highjacks the soundcard HELP PLEASE

Post by selsong »

HI
Im finding in the last few days if play a wave or mp3 using Foobar or windows media player for eg...., its all
fine, but as soon as I open Cubase it highjacks the sound card and cuts
off the other players. Even if I close down Cubase the sound card still
wont play with the other players......

I have ticked the box to release soundcard when in the background in
Cubase/soundcard options,.

If I reboot Windows 10, it seems to be fine for a while then it reverts to the above

Does anyone know why this happens with Cubase, and what I can do to fix this. ?
Many thanks
Selsong
Cubase Elements 9, Windows 10,64 bit, Intel CPU @ 3.00 Ghz, 8GB ram

vyvyanhs
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase highjacks the soundcard HELP PLEASE

Post by vyvyanhs »

Me too! updated to the latest version of Cubase Pro 9.5.41
Vyv
Cubase 9.5/10 + Windows 10 + ASUS Z97-A + i7 4790 + 16Gb + Audient id22 + Focal SM9

vyvyanhs
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase highjacks the soundcard HELP PLEASE

Post by vyvyanhs »

... also I found that you can sometimes get it to allow another program to play sound but makes an almighty thump every time it switches. After a few times it stops switching altogether. Has there been a change in soundcard management with 9.5.41?
Vyv
Cubase 9.5/10 + Windows 10 + ASUS Z97-A + i7 4790 + 16Gb + Audient id22 + Focal SM9

selsong
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase highjacks the soundcard HELP PLEASE

Post by selsong »

Intesting thought that it might be a change in soundcard management with 9.5.41.. STEINBERG can you come on board and tell us whats going on please ????
Selsong
Cubase Elements 9, Windows 10,64 bit, Intel CPU @ 3.00 Ghz, 8GB ram

vyvyanhs
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase highjacks the soundcard HELP PLEASE

Post by vyvyanhs »

Just hoping to bump this thread along, does anyone else get the same problem? Mister Steinberg?
Vyv
Cubase 9.5/10 + Windows 10 + ASUS Z97-A + i7 4790 + 16Gb + Audient id22 + Focal SM9

vyvyanhs
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase highjacks the soundcard HELP PLEASE

Post by vyvyanhs »

Hello? Anybody there? STEINBERG?????? This is becoming a massive PITA, I can't audition loops, listen to stuff online etc whenever I have Cubase running, even after closing it down I have to reboot before I get any sound back. I have tried the Release driver in Background (now set by default) but this doesn't seem to do anything.
Vyv
Cubase 9.5/10 + Windows 10 + ASUS Z97-A + i7 4790 + 16Gb + Audient id22 + Focal SM9

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests