Third Party MIDI inserts

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Matthieu_1
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:47 am
Contact:

Third party MIDI inserts

Post by Matthieu_1 »

Drop the VST-MA or make a VST-MA wrapper so we can use third party MIDI inserts without having to manage them as VSTi's and make complicating routing. There's some cool 3rd party MIDI inserts out there like midi curve modifiers and stuff.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4500
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by raino »

+1
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by CubeDAW »

+1

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by orchetect »

+1 big time. Open this up. Make it easily scriptable too, like Logic's Java MIDI processing.

Cubase's Transformer is powerful but it certainly has its limitations that could be overcome in such a way.
Last edited by orchetect on Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 10.5.20 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5

scoredfilms
Junior Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by scoredfilms »

+1 on midi plugins and scripting. I really don't get why Cubase doesn't have more script/api/macro abilities. Heck, if I could write my own toolbars, piano-roll features I would!!

More control = :)

Vas314
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by Vas314 »

Matthieu_1 wrote:Drop the VST-MA or make a VST-MA wrapper so we can use third party MIDI inserts without having to manage them as VSTi's and make complicating routing. There's some cool 3rd party MIDI inserts out there like midi curve modifiers and stuff.
is this what you mean?
Please allow VST Midi FX to be included in Midi Inserts Menu
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 82&t=48785
Cubase 10.0.30, S1 4.5, Reaper 6, FLS 20, Bidule - Windows 10 - 64bit, Focusrite 2i4, iPad Air as Midi Controller, 23" 10-touch monitor, ExpressionMate, Waves Horizon, Komplete 12, PSP, Eventide, Melda, Soundtoys, Hornet etc.

User avatar
InLightTone
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:39 am
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by InLightTone »

+1
++1 on Java scripting!
I've asked for this for a years, hopefully they will listen. I really like how Bitwig allows you to drop plugins in any order. The double track routing thing is a pain. I'm surprised Studio One didn't allow dropping in midi VST's in their NoteFX area of their multi-instrument rack...

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9665
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by -steve- »

Isn't the point of this request to allow 3rd party midi inserts without using VST effects or instruments to do it?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

Frozenwave
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by Frozenwave »

Yup, it's a mess.

+1

wilcofan
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by wilcofan »

+1
Cubase Pro 10 | Windows 10 | HP Envy 15

Vas314
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by Vas314 »

Hope this happens in Cubase 9!

There are just so many VSTi midi fx out there.
Here is a partial list (and many are free):
https://www.kvraudio.com/q.php?search=1 ... 79#results
https://www.kvraudio.com/q.php?search=1 ... 36#results

Yes you can use the VST midi fx on the instrument track but many like
myself find it much easier to use them in the way MFX are used.

see my post: viewtopic.php?f=228&t=75009
Cubase 10.0.30, S1 4.5, Reaper 6, FLS 20, Bidule - Windows 10 - 64bit, Focusrite 2i4, iPad Air as Midi Controller, 23" 10-touch monitor, ExpressionMate, Waves Horizon, Komplete 12, PSP, Eventide, Melda, Soundtoys, Hornet etc.

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5644
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by Centralmusic »

+ 1
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by vic_france »

+(think of any big number here ;) ).
I have a vague memory that, in the olden days (pre- Cubase SX) this was possible.. at least on PC, but there was no availability on Mac.
The current routing is a real headache (often in order to achieve a very simple MIDI modification).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Vas314
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by Vas314 »

If Cubase allows VST midi FX (actually VSTi midi fx) to be used interchangeably with the Cubase proprietary MFX and the MFX Cakewalk style that would be great. The MFX specifications may have to be altered to accommodate VST's?

Better yet make an MFX modular environment that can host all the MFX and the VST midi fx. This will be my preference. What I mean by modular environment is something like Bidule https://www.plogue.com/products/bidule/ that can host both MFX and VST midi fx. Yes I have requested that Bidule be made into an MFX (Cakewalk) that can host both MFX and VST's. In this case it will will only have a midi input and output and no audio input and output.

Here is a partial list of VST midi fx: https://www.kvraudio.com/q.php?search=1 ... 79#results and https://www.kvraudio.com/q.php?search=1 ... 36#results Now these VST midi fx are put in the VSTi track which is fine for some but many like myself prefer that the VST midi FX be available as inserts.

Keep in mind that many of the VST midi effects are free.

If Cubase allows total integration of VST midi fx into MFX it will bring many of the midi fans to start using this wonderful DAW. This includes me.
Cubase 10.0.30, S1 4.5, Reaper 6, FLS 20, Bidule - Windows 10 - 64bit, Focusrite 2i4, iPad Air as Midi Controller, 23" 10-touch monitor, ExpressionMate, Waves Horizon, Komplete 12, PSP, Eventide, Melda, Soundtoys, Hornet etc.

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by estrica2000 »

+1
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

User avatar
InLightTone
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:39 am
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by InLightTone »

PLEASE make this happen before Studio One gets it done...

beerbong
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by beerbong »

Totally, please make this sort of usages easier. I would be ok if it was limited to Instrument Racks.
+1
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

Mustermann
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by Mustermann »

yup

User avatar
willrice
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:17 am
Contact:

Re: Third party MIDI inserts

Post by willrice »

+1 to the original post. Most DAWs now support 3rd party MIDI inserts in VST / AU format - time for Cubase to catch up with the crowd.

drmq
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:23 pm
Contact:

Third Party MIDI inserts

Post by drmq »

bump!

one of the few reasons I'm still jealous of Logic users...
Last edited by -steve- on Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: merged

ceanganb
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:39 am
Contact:

Re: Third Party MIDI inserts

Post by ceanganb »

+1, please. I could do my own in JUCE, and Insert Piz MIDI have some nice plugs as well.
A. C.
Cubase 9.5 / Windows 10 Home x64 / M-Audio Fast Track C400
Intel Core i7 2700K / 32GB RAM DDR3 1333 Mhz / Asus P8H67-M EVO

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Third Party MIDI inserts

Post by tepa »

+1
Nuendo 10 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i9-9900K 4.8 Ghz / RAM 32G / RME UFX / RME FF800 / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

bendy303
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Third Party MIDI inserts

Post by bendy303 »

+1000 if Studio One gets it done I will jump ship

saxmand
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 1:32 am
Contact:

Re: Third Party MIDI inserts

Post by saxmand »

+1
Mac OS 10.12

wpostma
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:51 am
Contact:

Re: Third Party MIDI inserts

Post by wpostma »

+1.

Please allow scripting by end users, or some powerful way for end users or third parties to add modern sequencing (euclidean, non-linear, algorithmic) inserts into Cubase tracks at the Midi INSERTs layer.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest