To Be Released Q1 2019 - Please add ARA integration

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by McBass »

The fact that people on this forum seem to get annoyed at feature requests that they don't personally need or want really puzzles me and makes me laugh. So afraid that some other request or issue will not be fixed because of some preceived resource limit. Steinberg is going to do what they do. Ours is to ask for features or fixes not complain about others asking for stuff they personally don't want.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

User avatar
balinas
Junior Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by balinas »

Thanks for that write up. I have used Melodyne in Cubase’s, and was set to try VocAlign today. So very timely. Yes, ARA was super easy. But for now these slightly extended processes for Melodyne and VocAlign are worth. Still wish I could control the time within Melodyne and not to keep going back to the Cubase window to change start times. Thanks.
WIN 10 (2004), Intel i9 9900 5GHz, 32GB RAM, PreSonus Quantum2 through thunderbolt pcie, MCU-PRO, IKM iRig keys 49, Focusrite Asa ONE, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20,

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by McBass »

Balinas try using your MCU to control the transport and jog wheel to fine tune start times becasue it is 'hard wired' to cubase and still works when the melodyne window is on top.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

User avatar
balinas
Junior Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by balinas »

Thanks. I will try that!
WIN 10 (2004), Intel i9 9900 5GHz, 32GB RAM, PreSonus Quantum2 through thunderbolt pcie, MCU-PRO, IKM iRig keys 49, Focusrite Asa ONE, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20,

frank4n
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by frank4n »

+1

User avatar
balinas
Junior Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by balinas »

McBass wrote:
Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:35 pm
Balinas try using your MCU to control the transport and jog wheel to fine tune start times becasue it is 'hard wired' to cubase and still works when the melodyne window is on top.
Thanks for the suggestion. this helps quite a bit with workflow, as I don't even need to shift my eyes either to the Cubase main project window or the MCU. The reach to the jog wheel can become very automatic! thanks for the suggestion. Always nice to enhance the use of exactly what I already have!
WIN 10 (2004), Intel i9 9900 5GHz, 32GB RAM, PreSonus Quantum2 through thunderbolt pcie, MCU-PRO, IKM iRig keys 49, Focusrite Asa ONE, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20,

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by McBass »

No problem. I use this method with waves tune as well. Sometimes I like the sound of that over melodyne...depends on the source. Only wish ARA would be implemented because of all the other benefits that Studio one users can enjoy.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Starsprinkler »

ARA 2 has been announced.
The new ARA 2 specification allows, among other things, the simultaneous editing of multiple tracks, the transfer of chord track information between the DAW and the plug-in, seamless clip borders that make the manual setting of crossfades superfluous, Undo interlocking with the DAW, and much else besides.
http://www.celemony.com/en/pm-ara2

It's very interesting that ARA 2 will include transfer of Chord track information... since no other DAW than Cubase/Nuendo currently have a
Chord track, maybe it means Steinberg is joining in? It's announced that Studio One, Reaper and Logic will have ARA 2 (developed with new partners too). Still no mentioning of Cubase though. We'll see...

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Quinn3k3 »

Thanks for the update Starsprinkler. I definitely hope Steinberg is one of the new partners.

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by McBass »

Sounds like Reaper and Logic are both joining the ARA revolution! Steinberg will be left behind...
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by 01w »

With steinberg’s turtle speed, cubase will be around version 14 when steinberg will decide to integrate Ara, and at that time all other DAWs will have ara v5
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Quinn3k3 »

Antares Autotune also adding ARA support in their next update......

This feature is a great time saver for us. Please implement it.

Evertone
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Evertone »

+1

VariAudio for me works better for certain task than Melodyne and vice versa.

I don't see why adding ARA support would hurt Steinberg. On the contrary, Steinberg would gain more users.
Cubase Pro 11
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by NoMad92 »

Evertone wrote:
Sun Jan 28, 2018 7:39 pm
+1

VariAudio for me works better for certain task than Melodyne and vice versa.

I don't see why adding ARA support would hurt Steinberg. On the contrary, Steinberg would gain more users.
So true, but I don't know why I still think they want to "protect" variaudio... tho melodyne is top notch with the polyphonic materials.
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2290
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by marQs »

NoMad92 wrote:
Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:24 pm
So true, but I don't know why I still think they want to "protect" variaudio... tho melodyne is top notch with the polyphonic materials.
I don't buy "protection". VA won't get hurt by ARA.
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

eddiemacarthur
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by eddiemacarthur »

Put me on this list. I wants it to.
PC, windows 7 & 8.1 64 bit. Cubase 7.07, 7.5, 8 Pro. MOTU 2408 x 3 Audio I/O
www.stealthrecordingstudio.com

Evertone
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Evertone »

NoMad92 wrote:
Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:24 pm
So true, but I don't know why I still think they want to "protect" variaudio... tho melodyne is top notch with the polyphonic materials.
I don't think they are protecting it as much anymore, but I do believe they're hesitant that it might cause problems, more work, more bugs down the line.

Steinberg already added support for Softube console, so at this point there shouldn't be any excuses for adding ARA support for those who use/need it.... everyone in my opinion, hehe.
Cubase Pro 11
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

austinhaynesmusic
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by austinhaynesmusic »

+1

umfufu
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by umfufu »

With the ARA2 announcement now is the time Steinberg!!
iMacPro 10 Cores, 64 Gigs Ram. High Sierra 10.13.6. CubasePro 10 and Nuendo 8 (latests). Universal Audio Interfaces.

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by mroekalea »

+1 for ARA integration
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Starsprinkler »

Yes, ARA 2 seems to be not only considerably more powerful than before, it's also said to be more flexible and easier to integrate into the DAW. Logically, less resources would now be needed to implement it.

While the most important integration would be Melodyne, it's also for integration of VocAlign, AutoTunes Pro and likely more to come.
And, as said, some of the main competitors are getting this. And to top it off, there's no license fee involved for plain ARA.

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by avviano »

According to the Presonus Website "ARA will be licensed to other interested plug-in vendors in the future, free of charge. Companies interested in using the API should contact Celemony." - So I guess it is not open standard, but will be licensed to others free of charge!
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5664
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Centralmusic »

YES!
Would like to see ARA in Cubase/Nuendo !

+ 1 !
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Fairlight2cx
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Fairlight2cx »

+1 for ARA integration. I very much want the ease of using Melodyne with Cubase. VA simply doesn't cover every use case.
Rampage IV Black / i7 4960X @ 3.6GHz / 64GB/ EVGA GTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra / Creative ZxR
Windows 10 Professional 64bit / Cubase Pro 10.0.40
Arturia KeyLab2 / KK S61 Mk2 / AKAI MPD-232 / Roland TD-17KVX / Ableton Push 2
A&H ZEDi 10FX / Focusrite 2i2

Codex
Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by Codex »

+1 Although I'd also rather see a VST4 standard with that features included
______________________________________________________________________________
PC: Ivy-Bridge E - Core i7 4930K HT 6x3,4Ghz - Gigabyte MB X79 - 16GB QuadChannel RAM
Samsung SSD, Firewire Ti 800, AMD R7 260X, 1GB GDDR5
Win8.1 Professional 64bit - Cubase 10 Pro 64bit - Adobe Creative Cloud
Externe Hardware: Steinberg MR816, Maschine mk3, Steinberg UR242, MIDIFace4x4, CC121, CMC-QC, KONTROL S88 Masterkeyboard, Roland JV1080, dbx 166A Kompressor, S100 MultiFX
VSTi: Nexus, VPS Avenger, EastWest Composer Collection, NI Komplete 12, Vienna SE, RealGuitar, RealLPC, Alchemy, Z3TA 2+, xln Addictive Drums 2, Firebird2, ABL2, ERA II Medieval Legends
VST: FabFilter, MeldaProductions, Vengeance Plugins, SoundToys 5, Melodyne Studio 4, SPL, ArtsAcoustic Reverb, SIR2, zPlane Elastique Pitch, SugarBytes Artillery, Tone2 Filerbank 3, Voxengo Elephant & VariSat, iZotope Production Suite 2, Waves Gold Bundle, Amplitube 4 MAX
Abhöre: Genelec 1029A + 1031A, Mikrophon: Rode NT1000, Shure SM58

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest