Key command changes not applying

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello,

Not being able to apply user shortcuts on a BE keyboard is grrr....
So I keep trying to understand how shortcut keys work

Is the following correct? ( when editing shortcut keys in the preferences - Windows 10 pro)
There are 2 json files for each languages.

File 1: is located in C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Dorico2\keycommands_fr.json
( is never changed by user )
File 2: is located in C:\Users\Johan\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Dorico 2\keycommands_fr.json
( contains only user changes )

File 2 overides file 1 if available? ( kGlobal )

Both files user different naming styles for key command.
File 1: "NoteInput.NoteValue?LogDuration=kCrotchet" : [ "6" ]
File 2: "Note Input.Set Note Duration=1/4 note" : [ "§" ]

My findings:
Changes in file 2 do not apply for my situation. ( BE keyboard, French language selected, Windows 10 pro)
Changes in file 1 do apply ( but I suppose we should not manually change that file)

Does this make any sense?

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18524
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

The fact that File 2 uses a different naming convention for the command is the reason why the shortcuts don't apply. This is the bug that we have already fixed and which you should find solved when we release a new build. What you can do in the meantime, if you're careful, is copy the key command identifier (e.g. "NoteInput.NoteValue?LogDuration=kCrotchet") from File 1 and paste it into File 2, along with your desired change of shortcut, and that should allow you to make those changes work.

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4142
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by MarcLarcher »

Dear Daniel,
I am glad to know I guessed right about those two files and that you fixed the problem. It's always nice to know which file (and where) does what 😊
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello,

Maybe interesting or not.
On my computer there are duplicate shortcut keys in the following file.
File 1: is located in C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Dorico2\keycommands_fr.json

The duplicates with different shortcut keys are:
"NoteInput.StartTupletRun" : [ "=" ]
"NoteInput.EndTupletRun" : [ "+" ]
"NoteInput.SetAccidental?Type=kSharp" : [ "-" ]
"NoteInput.SetArticulation?Value=kStaccatissimo" : [ "§" ]
"NoteInput.SetArticulation?Value=kStaccatoTenuto" : [ "!" ]

And
NoteInput.StartTupletRun" : [ "!" ]
NoteInput.EndTupletRun" : [ "§" ]
NoteInput.SetAccidental?Type=kSharp" : [ "=" ]
NoteInput.SetArticulation?Value=kStaccatissimo" : [ "-" ]
NoteInput.SetArticulation?Value=kStaccatoTenuto" : [ "_" ]

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello,

Found it has to do with "common" "mac" and "windows" sections.
Bit confusing.

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

User avatar
Pieter Corten
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Pieter Corten »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:25 pm
The fact that File 2 uses a different naming convention for the command is the reason why the shortcuts don't apply. This is the bug that we have already fixed and which you should find solved when we release a new build. What you can do in the meantime, if you're careful, is copy the key command identifier (e.g. "NoteInput.NoteValue?LogDuration=kCrotchet") from File 1 and paste it into File 2, along with your desired change of shortcut, and that should allow you to make those changes work.
Thanks Daniel, all is clear!
Looking forward to the next patch.
Pieter Corten
Composer

User avatar
grdelgado
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:10 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by grdelgado »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:25 pm
The fact that File 2 uses a different naming convention for the command is the reason why the shortcuts don't apply. This is the bug (...)
Thank you Daniel! I will do that you suggest. You have saved my day.

Thanks from heart.

Gerardo
Musician, Arranger, Conductor, Music Researcher.
Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Finale from 2.2 to 25. Now on Dorico from 1.2

«LA ÓPERA ARGENTINA» First Anthology of Argentine Opera arias published in the world.
All the music was typed and edited with Dorico.

hubopotam
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 2:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by hubopotam »

trying to remap marcato & tenuto articulations but with no luck. factory mappings don't change. english dorico version, us keyboard layout.

ptram
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by ptram »

Daniel,
Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:25 pm
"Default" just means that it will use the language that corresponds to the localisation you're using
Since I see I'm not the only one to use a custom keyboard layout: is there a chance a couple of country-agnostic sets can be provided (ISO and ANSI)? What I mean is a couple sets that are not mapped according to the chosen keyboard layout, but by the position of physical keys.

Therefore, if I want the 'natural' key three positions on the left of the Backspace key, with no modifier key, it will stay in that position, even if the corresponding character in the keyboard layout has moved somewhere else (in the same position, but with a modifier key, or a totally diffeent position).

Paolo

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18524
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

hubopotam wrote:trying to remap marcato & tenuto articulations but with no luck. factory mappings don't change. english dorico version, us keyboard layout.
This is because of the bug being discussed in this thread: any shortcut that is "two levels deep" in the tree cannot be reassigned at the moment. We will fix this in a forthcoming update.
ptram wrote:Since I see I'm not the only one to use a custom keyboard layout: is there a chance a couple of country-agnostic sets can be provided (ISO and ANSI)?
No, unfortunately not: the way the keyboard handling works in Qt, it's all about the actual character produced by the key rather than the physical location of the key.

ptram
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by ptram »

Daniel, thank you very much. But in another thread* I received a great tip, that is creating my own keycommand.json map. It seems it can work well, and can be the solution I was looking for!

Paolo

*(viewtopic.php?f=246&t=139020&p=754817#p754817)

hubopotam
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 2:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by hubopotam »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:05 pm
This is because of the bug being discussed in this thread: any shortcut that is "two levels deep" in the tree cannot be reassigned at the moment. We will fix this in a forthcoming update.
thanks for reply. I've managed to set my shortcuts by editing mapping file by hand, so no longer a problem for me :)

User avatar
nussbichler
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:13 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by nussbichler »

Hi there,

I can confirm that with my German keyboard setting both is not working: 1. some keycommands are not shown under "Tastaturbefehle" (p.e. accidentials) (but the shortcuts are working) and 2. custom keycommands do show up but are not being performed.
Master: MacPro 2010 2x6core . 64Gb
Slave 1: MacPro 2009 8core . 48Gb
Slave 2: MacBookPro Retina 4core . 16Gb
Cubase . Dorico

User avatar
Pieter Corten
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Pieter Corten »

Problem solved in 2.1 confirmed. Thanks Dorico team!
Pieter Corten
Composer

User avatar
Pieter Corten
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Pieter Corten »

Hi Daniel,

I'm afraid the problem has come back since Dorico 3.

Best regards,

Pieter
Pieter Corten
Composer

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18524
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

No, I don't think so, Pieter. Please be specific about the problem you're experiencing and the steps you've taken to try to solve it, and we'll be able to help.

User avatar
Pieter Corten
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Pieter Corten »

Hi Daniel,

I've tried to map 'filter: notes and chords'. It shows up in the right click menu but when the keys are pressed nothing happens.
I've also mapped 'edit: reset appearance' which had the same results.
Here is my keycommands file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1S6sCe1 ... sp=sharing

Thanks!

Pieter
Pieter Corten
Composer

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8126
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by pianoleo »

You might just have chosen impossible shortcuts; I'm not sure.
By default, Alt+R is Reply to Comment. Were you prompted to remove that command?
As to Ctrl+Alt+|, that isn't possible to type on an English keyboard, because | can only be achieved by typing Shift+\. Note that in JSON \ is a reserved character, so must be replaced with \\. You could try digging into the keycommands file and manually replacing Ctrl+Alt+| with Ctrl+Alt+Shift+\\
I might be overthinking all of this, of course. I don't know anywhere near as much about this stuff as the development team...
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Romanos401 »

FWIW, I have experienced easily 10 times in the last two weeks where either my key commands stop working or note entry from a midi keyboard stops working. I either press a hotkey and nothing happens, or I enter note entry mode, the caret appears, and I can bang away to my heart's content and no new notes register. Sometimes I can't even click them in with the mouse either. This happens in files native to D3.0. If I restart Dorico, then everything corrects itself. Suffice to say, however, that owing the number of times this has happened in recent memory, there is something going on in the background. Nothing at all in my setup as changed apart from updating Dorico to v.3.0.

Edit: the next time this happens I'll attach a diagnostic file.
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Romanos401 »

Tada! can't input notes with a midi kb. Here's the diagnostic file.
Attachments
Dorico Diagnostics.zip
(753.52 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

User avatar
Pieter Corten
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Pieter Corten »

pianoleo wrote:
Wed Sep 25, 2019 1:51 pm
You might just have chosen impossible shortcuts; I'm not sure.
By default, Alt+R is Reply to Comment. Were you prompted to remove that command?
As to Ctrl+Alt+|, that isn't possible to type on an English keyboard, because | can only be achieved by typing Shift+\. Note that in JSON \ is a reserved character, so must be replaced with \\. You could try digging into the keycommands file and manually replacing Ctrl+Alt+| with Ctrl+Alt+Shift+\\
I might be overthinking all of this, of course. I don't know anywhere near as much about this stuff as the development team...
Leo, you're clearly on to something! I've changed one of the commands to alt + x and it works! I think there is a problem with me using a Belgian keyboard (azerty) and the file being set to English, indeed creating impossible combinations for a QWERTY keyboard. Definitely gonna follow up on this! Thanks!
Pieter Corten
Composer

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4142
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by MarcLarcher »

I noticed that problem when porting Notation Express (original) to French Mac Layout. I had to create a whole lot of shortcuts because the ones provided by Leo would not work on my machine, with the French layout selected. I shall do the job for Notation Express XL so I guess I'll have to deal with those problems... I'll try to notate which keys are a problem and report that back here 😉
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rubberfingers, TheLion and 13 guests