Key command changes not applying

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
motticohen
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:46 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by motticohen »

Interestingly, I just opened Dorico 1 (still had the demo installed), mapped some note input key commands and they all work flawlessly. Issue seems to be with Dorico 2 only on my system.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18183
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Then I would suggest you quit both versions of Dorico, find the file keycommands_en.json in your /Users/your-username/Library/Application Support/Steinberg/Dorico folder and copy it to the /Users/your-username/Library/Application Support/Steinberg/Dorico 2 folder, then start Dorico 2 again: it should use your customised set of shortcuts.

User avatar
grdelgado
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:10 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by grdelgado »

Hello Dorico Team.

This is my first post. I am a long-time Finale user and I am happy to begin my move to your great application.

I am experiencing some problems in a similar way the precedent forum members at this thread. I tried to set some keyboard shortcuts to the Force Stems Up/Down command. The commands (Ctrl-F and Ctrl+Shift-F) are properly set but they do not work, the program ignore them. So I am doing the job through the menu commands.

I am using the Windows version, with Spanish language and keyboard. I had made some changes in the preset shortcuts in Dorico 1.2, they were mostly in note values and enharmonics, to make them similar to Finale and they all are functional in the new version.

And five minutes ago I tried to set these new shortcuts in v. 1.2 and.... they work ok! So I think that some in the new version is missing (maybe a translation issue?: in v. 1.2 the shortcuts fall into the "Edit" menu, but in v. 2 they fall into the "Edición" ("Edit" in Spanish) menu).

I hope you can help me. (By the way, excuse my horrrrrible English :)

Best regards,

Gerardo
Musician, Arranger, Conductor, Music Researcher.
Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Finale from 2.2 to 25. Now on Dorico from 1.2

«LA ÓPERA ARGENTINA» First Anthology of Argentine Opera arias published in the world.
All the music was typed and edited with Dorico.

User avatar
Pieter Corten
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Pieter Corten »

+1 on the situation of motticohen. As I use Finale, Sibelius and Dorico I can't have all three of them using other key commands.
I'm using Dorico 2.0 (English)
Dutch (Belgian) AZERTY Keyboard.
I remember not having this issue with Dorico 1.2 but I haven't copied the file and I'm using a new system now.
OS: Windows 10 Pro.

Thanks in advance

Pieter
Pieter Corten
Composer

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18183
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

grdelgado wrote:I am experiencing some problems in a similar way the precedent forum members at this thread. I tried to set some keyboard shortcuts to the Force Stems Up/Down command. The commands (Ctrl-F and Ctrl+Shift-F) are properly set but they do not work, the program ignore them.
Gerardo, I'm sorry you've had problems setting shortcuts in Dorico 2. Do you find that you are unable to set any shortcut for the Force Stems Up/Down commands, or is it just the specific ones you tried to set that don't work? (We updated the underlying Qt framework used by Dorico between version 1.2.10 and version 2.0, and it looks as if some problems with non-English keyboards have been fixed, and others may have been introduced.)

User avatar
grdelgado
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:10 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by grdelgado »

Hello Daniel. Thanks for your answer.

Ctrl-F and Ctrl+Shift-F were the specific shortcuts I have tried to these commands.

I thought it happened because of the lack of a prefixed shortcut to the commands. But I have just assigned a different shortcut (Ctrl+Alt-V) to the Swap Voice Contents command (just for trying), and it worked ok. And it displayed in the menu!

So I tried to assign that specific shortcut to the Force Stems.... and didn't work. I have tried different shortcuts (Ctrl+Alt+Shift-S and so on) with the same result.

I know you will find a solution to this relatively minor bug. Thanks in advance.

Gerardo
Musician, Arranger, Conductor, Music Researcher.
Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Finale from 2.2 to 25. Now on Dorico from 1.2

«LA ÓPERA ARGENTINA» First Anthology of Argentine Opera arias published in the world.
All the music was typed and edited with Dorico.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18183
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

That's very odd, because I'm able to define shortcuts for both Force Stems Down and Force Stems Up with no problem, even when I pretend to my Mac that I have a Spanish keyboard. I guess since you're in Argentina you have a special Argentinian keyboard layout?

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello,

What keyboard layout are the developpers using?
I'm thinking of changing my keyboard config in windows 10 from azerty to qwerty English and learning blind typing with it just for dorico.
What will be the best choice? English UK or VS

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18183
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

We're all in London, so we're using UK keyboards, but we do have and test with keyboards for each of the languages for which there is a localised version of Dorico. Unfortunately it isn't practical to buy and test with every possible keyboard variant on both Windows and Mac.

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello,

Still trying to find the best strategy. I understand the shortcuts for UK keyboard is location. Very handy.
But trying the same with a french keyboard is completely different.
Always using shift for numbers.
Articulations or not logical located together. ( and a lot of them are different then UK )
So the argument for looking up the keys in the manual is not valid.
Why not keeping the shortcuts on the same location as on a UK keyboard? Very handy locations.
What is the logic behind the french shortcut key locations?

Do most French keybord users find the shortcuts handy?

Regards,
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4060
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by MarcLarcher »

Hi Johan.

Indeed one very efficient thing to do is replace all rhythmic values with the accents — replace all numbers (that need shift) with the same key (without shift), and vice versa for the accents. I found you earn easily a lot of time with the French keyboard.
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello MarcLarcher,

I see you have the same experience as me.
I was thinking about swapping keyboardlayout in windows 10 and switch to UK only for Dorico.
Great for note input but clumsy when inputting text and lyrics. So back to start.
I suppose the best way will be to completely remap all shortcut keys to the same locations as UK keyboard.

Question?
Is it a hard job for somebody at Steinberg to create a French keyboard json file where all French shortcut keys are mapped to the same locations as the UK keyboard? That would be a great timesaver.

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4060
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by MarcLarcher »

Johan, I remember I have been asked whether it would be a good idea to keep the unshifted keys for rhythmic values, and at first I did not realize it would — but then I re-answered it would be a good idea. Since then I remapped my keys in the preferences (it took me like five minutes) and did not have to think about it again. But for sure, and for new french users, I think that remapping "from scratch" would be a good idea, even if it complicates the french documentation — I guess that part is why that change has not been done ;-)
Marc
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

User avatar
Pieter Corten
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Pieter Corten »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:42 pm
To follow up on this: we have identified a problem whereby certain key commands in the Note Input category for commands that have parameters, which includes those like "Set Articulation" and "Set Note Duration", won't show up in the list, even though they are correctly mapped. This was caused by changes made to provide localised category names in non-English versions of Dorico. I'm sorry for the inconvenience: the problem has now been fixed and the fix will be included in the next update.
@Daniel: Will this also resolve the problem of keycommands not applying as well?

Best regards
Pieter Corten
Composer

User avatar
SeeWhat
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by SeeWhat »

same thoughts here with a Swiss-french keyboard trying to reset/change my keyboard keys to the UK designed layout and functions
Win10 pro 64; Elitebook 1050; 32gb; DoricoPro 3.5; Cubase Pro 9.5. ; Cubase Elements 9.5.; 2x Stream Decks 1x SD XL; Melodyne; Amazing Slow Downer; Adam S2-A; Sibelius 2020.6 end of subscription;
My native language is french, my english SoSo...
My guitar lessons https://www.guitare-nyon.ch (french)

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Glad to find out I'm not the only one.

Please keep the suggestions come.
It would be nice if the person who made the French json file could jump in with some advise.

Maybe only note names should keep the correct French keyboard letter. a,b,c,d,e,f,g
I prefer most others at the UK location.
Look how visual logical and ergonomical compared to French

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello,

I suddenly realise that I'm asking questions not related to the start topic.
Should I start a new topic about the french shortcut keys?

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4060
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by MarcLarcher »

Dear johan,
Would you want me to share my json file with you ?
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello MarcLarcher,

That would be very kind.
Did you keep record what you changed?

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

User avatar
grdelgado
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:10 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by grdelgado »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:17 am
That's very odd, because I'm able to define shortcuts for both Force Stems Down and Force Stems Up with no problem, even when I pretend to my Mac that I have a Spanish keyboard. I guess since you're in Argentina you have a special Argentinian keyboard layout?
There is no Argentinian keyboard. We use the Spanish-Latinamerican or the Spanish-Spain keyboards. They are almost the same (QWERTY with Ñ next to L). Only some punctuation signs are in different places (accents, comma...). I am using an old "MS Natural Keyboard" with the Latinamerican distribution.

Later I will try with another phisical keyboard (maybe it is just a matter of age...)
Last edited by grdelgado on Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Musician, Arranger, Conductor, Music Researcher.
Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Finale from 2.2 to 25. Now on Dorico from 1.2

«LA ÓPERA ARGENTINA» First Anthology of Argentine Opera arias published in the world.
All the music was typed and edited with Dorico.

Johan-v
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Johan-v »

Hello,

Probably a stupid question.
Can we exchange json file with anybody?
Or only when using exact the same keyboard and operating system.

Regards,

Johan
OS Windows 10
Native language is Dutch

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18183
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

You can certainly exchange JSON files, in theory even between platforms, but be aware that if they were created on a different platform or keyboard language, some of the keys may be in a different physical location on the keyboard and thus behave differently.

User avatar
grdelgado
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:10 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by grdelgado »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:17 am
That's very odd, because I'm able to define shortcuts for both Force Stems Down and Force Stems Up with no problem, (...)

Hello Daniel.

Yes, it is an odd behavior.

I have tried editing manually the "keycommands_es.json" file, deleting it, replacing the phisical keyboard, etc. In between I had to reinstall Windows (the OS broke down -shame on Bill G.-) and had to reinstall all the applications.

Now I have reinstalled Dorico Pro. Firstly I used Spanish keyboard and language. It does not recognize any custom shortcut. The note durations shortcuts remain as the defaults, the numbers at the number keypad do not work (but the "/", that I had set to split beams, does work).

So I changed to English as default language and keyboard. The note durations remain always as default, even when I tried to change them (and I checked the "keycommands_en.json" file!). Apparently Dorico refuses to make the changes.

BUT... now the "Force Stems Up/Down" command DOES work ;)

-.-

I have tried to tell you all I have done. My apologies in advance if you don't follow me at some point. My native language is Spanish and, though I read often in English, I do not write since many, many years.

I am sorry to bother you with "The Force Stems Blues". It is not a terrible issue, but I wanted to begin my first major task with Dorico in a few days and it delays my workflow considerably.

I hope that you and your team will soon fix the problem.

My respect and admiration to all of you.

Un abrazo.

Gerardo
Musician, Arranger, Conductor, Music Researcher.
Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Finale from 2.2 to 25. Now on Dorico from 1.2

«LA ÓPERA ARGENTINA» First Anthology of Argentine Opera arias published in the world.
All the music was typed and edited with Dorico.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18183
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

I'm sorry to say that I don't know how we can fix this problem at the moment as I don't understand it! I am away from the office this week in New York but I will try to get somebody in the office to try this with a Spanish keyboard and see if he can reproduce the problem.

User avatar
grdelgado
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:10 am
Contact:

Re: Key command changes not applying

Post by grdelgado »

Thank you Daniel. I know you are in NY and I appreciate your concern.

Best regards (and break a leg!)

G.
Musician, Arranger, Conductor, Music Researcher.
Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Finale from 2.2 to 25. Now on Dorico from 1.2

«LA ÓPERA ARGENTINA» First Anthology of Argentine Opera arias published in the world.
All the music was typed and edited with Dorico.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DaddyO, jeepi, madsv, rkrentzman, Rob Tuley and 4 guests