ELEMENT = no metadata ?

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

ELEMENT = no metadata ?

Post by sylvainmoreau » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:54 pm

Hi,

i have flac files in nuendo. they have multiple metadata.
when i clic look at those files in wavelab element there's notghing in metadata.
is that only for pro ?

thx
nuendo 8.3 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2084
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: ELEMENT = no metadata ?

Post by Justin P » Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:29 am

I could be wrong but I don't think the full version really has great FLAC metadata support like it does for WAV/mp3.

I never really use or deliver FLAC masters so it's not something I think about often but I was recently trying help Ian Sheperd figure this out for one of his clients he was trying to delver FLAC masters to with metadata added.

It might be good for WaveLab to improve it's FLAC metadata support unless it's already there and I just can't find it.
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.4

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: ELEMENT = no metadata ?

Post by bob99 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:59 am

sylvainmoreau wrote:
Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:54 pm
i have flac files in nuendo. they have multiple metadata.
when i clic look at those files in wavelab element there's notghing in metadata.
is that only for pro ?
FLAC metadata reads fine in Elements, here on Windows, same as in Wavelab Pro. What are some of the metadata field names you see when you view the file in Nuendo, since I guess FLAC can contain custom metadata that might not be seen in Wavelab. Maybe some of the same location sound metadata Cubase and Nuendo put in the iXML chunk in WAV ? (which I believe Wavelab can read).

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: ELEMENT = no metadata ?

Post by bob99 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:02 pm

sylvainmoreau wrote:
Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:54 pm
Hi,

i have flac files in nuendo. they have multiple metadata.
when i clic look at those files in wavelab element there's notghing in metadata.
is that only for pro ?

thx
It would be great if you could post a screenshot of the FLAC metadata in Nuendo, because if it doesn't read in Wavelab Elements it's probably not going to read in Wavelab Pro either.

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: ELEMENT = no metadata ?

Post by sylvainmoreau » Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:12 pm

hi thx for your answer.
here is a snapshot of mediabay metadata in nuendo
https://photos.app.goo.gl/GwAtRvNMpJ1A8YZf8

and here is the same file opened in wavelab element (with show 0 metadata)
https://photos.app.goo.gl/kRPj5N1GfXwwGdNf7

maybe i'm not on the right page to see metadata.
maybe i have to set wich metadata i want to see somewhere... but that window File Attribute doesn't allow me to set anything.

i use Flac because it uses 1/3 of size for same sound. People say that size doesn't matter these days (in comuter world i mean) but on SSD.. 2/3 gain is super important !
nuendo 8.3 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6273
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: ELEMENT = no metadata ?

Post by PG » Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:31 pm

I would be interested to get any of your flac file that is listed to have BWF metadata.
Philippe

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests