Replace Audio in Video File

Post general topics related to Nuendo 7 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
JoDell19
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Replace Audio in Video File

Post by JoDell19 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:22 am

Hello,

This seemed like it would be an easy function, however, it is not working for me. I keep getting an error. I select the video file, then the audio, and it gives me an error.

Do I need to have Quicktime installed on my system eventhough I am using the lastest Nuendo version? Any advice is appreciated.
Please listen to my tunes:
JoDell Playmaker Music

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvM97V ... gzgPnbE-iQ

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3968
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Replace Audio in Video File

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:05 am

I could be wrong (i.e. double-check this!) but I think the latest version of Nuendo 7 has the new video engine which is NOT based on QT, so that breaks the previous functionality, and to date new one hasn't replaced it....

...like I said... double check it...
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
JoDell19
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Replace Audio in Video File

Post by JoDell19 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:35 am

MattiasNYC wrote:
Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:05 am
I could be wrong (i.e. double-check this!) but I think the latest version of Nuendo 7 has the new video engine which is NOT based on QT, so that breaks the previous functionality, and to date new one hasn't replaced it....

...like I said... double check it...
You are correct about the new video engine not based on QT. However, I've never done the "Replace Audio in Video File" function prior to the newest version, so I just assumed I don't need QT. However, it doesn't work on either of my systems (1 is 7.1.35 and the other is the 7.1.40) Neither system has QT. I'm hoping not to have to install QT, but if this is what I need to do in order to get this function working, I will. Can anyone from Steinberg verify if I need QT on my system for this function to work?
Please listen to my tunes:
JoDell Playmaker Music

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvM97V ... gzgPnbE-iQ

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3968
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Replace Audio in Video File

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:45 am

Well, it's worked for me in the past.

I think what I did was to duplicate the video file (since it contained a rough mix out of the Avid), then make sure the length of the rendered audio file is exactly the same as the video file. Then just choose whatever it's called, 'replace audio in video file' I guess, and point to the respective files and it works.... Just like that.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
lemix
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Replace Audio in Video File

Post by lemix » Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:05 pm

OP >
Don't see where the issue lies without knowing your setup details, however I confirm that N7 ( 7.1.3 ) functions juts as it supposed to. Have just sent out reference video back to my editors with newly mixed audio. Sync is fine, QT properties show the 48k PCM stereo file.

AAhh..reading MattiasNYC post, I see that the updated video engine broke the function. It is truly a shame and cause of utter frustration that all developers constatntly "updating and improving" tools that we rely on . The world's gone mad :lol:
cheers,
Andrew

W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.30 & PT 12.4------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx-----WXP, Wavelab, Plextor Premium, Hofa DDP
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_McDSP
1.0_2.0 and 5.1 monitoring

User avatar
BillyW
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 6:17 am
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Replace Audio in Video File

Post by BillyW » Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:51 am

As a replacement I've been using a free program called My MP4box GUI. It can mux together any mp3 or aiff to a mp4. Not a graceful solution but it's quick enough. It can also do the reverse and demux mp4's.

https://www.videohelp.com/software/My-MP4Box-GUI

Id certainly like to see this feature back in Nuendo though.

User avatar
JoDell19
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Replace Audio in Video File

Post by JoDell19 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:06 am

BillyW wrote:
Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:51 am
As a replacement I've been using a free program called My MP4box GUI. It can mux together any mp3 or aiff to a mp4. Not a graceful solution but it's quick enough. It can also do the reverse and demux mp4's.

https://www.videohelp.com/software/My-MP4Box-GUI

Id certainly like to see this feature back in Nuendo though.
Thanks! I will definitely be taking a look at it. I appreciate everyone’s feedback.
Please listen to my tunes:
JoDell Playmaker Music

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvM97V ... gzgPnbE-iQ

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Replace Audio in Video File

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:24 am

This function isn't supported by the new video engine. In the future, you'll be given the ability to render a video with your audio which will work as a replacement for this functionality.

The menu option was probably left in by mistake in Nuendo 7.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

chednb
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Replace Audio in Video File

Post by chednb » Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:46 am

Hey guys!
So it will be possible in the future to render the video directly from Nuendo / Cubase?
Also with trim and edit options (container, codec, ...)? That would be great!!!

I often use the "replace audio in video" option in Cubase 8.5.3.
But when you first have to trim or edit your videoclip to fit the actual mix or TC or to make it compatible with your DAW, then it is always a pain in the a** for me so far!
I tried various software, but often it didn't supply all the functions I wanted to have or it was to complex...

- Quicktime Pro (sucks on Win!)
- XMedia Recode (ok, but haven't found the option to trim and edit video/audio)
- mpeg streamclip (doesn't support wav, don't know how to replace audio in video)
- HitFilm Express (is free, works, but is a whole video suite as u know it - don't need all these features...)

Which video encoder / editor do you guys use for these tasks?
Any software suggestions for an easy and fast workflow to do this?
Win10 Pro 64bit v.1909 | Nuendo 10.2.10 | i7-4820K 3.7GHz | 32GB DDR3 | RME Fireface UFX+ | Avid S1 | Komplete Kontrol M32

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest