[FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 7 can be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

[FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by ChrisPolus » Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:16 am

Logic and Studio One and probably other DAWs already operate like that and I think it's a quicker way to get the fades you want fast without opening the fade editor.

Instead of dragging a fade, double clicking it to open the fade editor, adjusting the fade and clicking OK, why not let us drag that fade directly with the mouse?

PT with its 12.6 update seems to have seen the light and adapted the way they do fades. It's much faster.

I think it's way faster and you would not even need the fade tool at all, saving another dialog and many clicks. The Fade Editor is more powerful of course but it seems overpowered. Do many people need to draw their own fades with nodes? Why not use volume automation for that? I don't know if this complexity is needed. 99.9999% of the time I either use linear fades or click one of the logarithmic ones at the bottom of the dialog. By directly dragging the fade with the mouse I would not even need to open the editor at all.

Image

Image
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Sun Sep 11, 2016 2:24 pm

The little triangle on top corners of an audio event? Try it?
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 7.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by ChrisPolus » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:28 pm

To drag a fade, yes. But often I make them non-linear in one or the other way. This only works in the fade tool, right? Is there a way to drag a curve with those triangles? I haven't found one.
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:03 am

aa I see. Not that I know of.

BTW I hate the way it works for example in the Adobe audition. In Audition fade shape is different depending from what height you drag your mouse.
90% of times I use only linear fade and only thing that varies is the fade lenghts... I can get very far with that...
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 7.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Sep 12, 2016 5:25 pm

I'm on board with it.

The only thing I'd be worried about is cross-platform compatibility. It would seem that the more options we have for the exact fade type the less likely it is to carry over using AAFs. But maybe that's already a lost cause....
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by ChrisPolus » Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:45 pm

MattiasNYC wrote:The only thing I'd be worried about is cross-platform compatibility.
That is true and I haven't thought about that. But how will PT export AAFs now that it has this ability? It probably won't carry over either. Or will they extend the standard? :)

For really exchanging projects that are close to being done this is a real bummer. But I often get movies that I should mix so all fades are more an "intent" of the director anyway. I seldomly use the fades as they are and have to re-arrange tracks and clips, transitions and crossfades, and re-do a lot of that fade stuff anyway. So to me, existing fades are just guides. But if I wanted to send the project back to PT after being done, this would surely cause problems.
Last edited by ChrisPolus on Mon Sep 12, 2016 11:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:58 pm

ChrisPolus wrote:
MattiasNYC wrote:The only thing I'd be worried about is cross-platform compatibility.
That is true and I haven't thought about that. But how will PT export AFs now that it has this ability? It will not carry over whatsoever.
Probably true.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by ChrisPolus » Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:59 pm

MattiasNYC wrote:The only thing I'd be worried about is cross-platform compatibility. It would seem that the more options we have for the exact fade type the less likely it is to carry over using AAFs.
Wait. There's the fade editor you can open today in Nuendo and do wild fade curves. Or normal logarithmic ones. Do they translate to AAF? Because If the do or don't doesn't matter. Nuendo has that option already, so dragging a fade with the mouse instead of opening the fade tool would be faster either way, but not more incompatible or compatible than it already is.

You're not off the hook Steinberg ;)
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS High Sierra 10.13.X, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1256
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Mon Sep 26, 2016 3:24 pm

+1
http://www.oliver-lucas.de
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
Main machines: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, Intensity Pro, PT HD 11
skype: oliver.lucas

umfufu
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by umfufu » Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:45 pm

+1 !
iMacPro 10 Cores, 64 Gigs Ram. High Sierra 10.13.3. CubasePro 9.5 and Nuendo 8 (latests). Universal Audio Interfaces.

ErikG
Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Drag Fades With the Mouse

Post by ErikG » Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:59 am

+1 from me as well
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest