Cubase 8 Pro, new computer -> lower performancce

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
Henzoman
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 10:30 am
Contact:

Cubase 8 Pro, new computer -> lower performancce

Post by Henzoman » Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:08 pm

Hello! I bought recently a new computer (specs below) and now i have noticed that cubase performs notably weaker that with in my old computer. ASIO meter is costantly almost clipping and therefore causing clicks and crackling, sometimes losing all audio and have to restart cubase. I have maxed the buffer size in my audio interface and it gives little help, but adding two or so VST instruments, the fun starts again, and not to mention latency issues when i have to increase the buffer size causing it to be very hard to play MIDI keyboard in real time. And we are talking project size like 20 - 30 tracks with couple of Omnispheres, few Serums, two or so Divas and few wav. tracks. Those are quite heavy VST:s i know, but my old computer handled them better with much weaker specs.

All the Programs and VST:s are clean istall to a fress platform and all drivers all up to date. Same applies to all eLicencers etc. I have tried all the options in preference settings but with weak results. I have monitored the usage of cores in my processor and they are nowhere near to max.
Is Win10 creators update messing my computer or what cause i know this machine should do better than my old one? Here´s all the specs:

OS: Win10 Pro
DAW: C8 Pro
Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 6i6

i7 8700K
32gb Ram
EVGA GTX ti 11g
m.2 disk 500gb
7200rpm disk 1T

Cheers!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 20824
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 Pro, new computer -> lower performancce

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Hi,

Use LatencyMon utility to check your system, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Henzoman
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 Pro, new computer -> lower performancce

Post by Henzoman » Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:49 am

Ok. Installed the LatencyMon and results is in attachment. It seems that there is some issues indeed. Any suggestions how to fix this? Thanks!
Attachments
nimetön.png
LatencyMon results
(60.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 20824
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 Pro, new computer -> lower performancce

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:29 am

Try suggested stuff in the red text.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Henzoman
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 Pro, new computer -> lower performancce

Post by Henzoman » Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:37 am

Went to BIOS and changed the scheme from daily use to gaming and multimedia and voilá, instant improvement. Allthough there is still some issues, but little tweaking should help that too. Motherboard is Asus ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming and it comes with BIOS GUI with easy of use, if someone has similar problem, its very easy to fix it there. Thank you for help and that LatencyMon tip! Cheers!

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests