Page 1 of 1

Missing Midi Insert Effect Patches

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:10 pm
by hetman_cymru
Cubase 8.5 Pro

When I load a midi effect (I.e. Arpache5 or Midi Echo) in the midi inserts and open the effect panel I cannot select any patches.
The patch selector box remains greyed out and there is nothing in the dropdown menu and I am unable to select any preset patches.

I have tried unsuccessfully to locate midi effect patches in Mediabay.

I have VST pathways set to Steinberg/ Cubase 8.5/Components/ Presets; but no midi effect patches are being recognised within Cubase, although there are Cubase folders and .xml documents for the midi effects visible in Windows explorer.

Am I doing something wrong?

How do I get the midi insert effects to recognise and load the patches for each insert effect?

Re: Missing Midi Insert Effect Patches

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:43 pm
by Grim
hetman_cymru wrote:
Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:10 pm

I have VST pathways set to Steinberg/ Cubase 8.5/Components/ Presets; but no midi effect patches are being recognised within Cubase, although there are Cubase folders and .xml documents for the midi effects visible in Windows explorer.
The components folder is the wrong location I think. Maybe you moved them by mistake?

Mine are located like this:
Steinberg/Cubase 8.5/Presets/Arpache 5

Re: Missing Midi Insert Effect Patches

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:03 pm
by hetman_cymru
Grim: My mistake in my original post ...

My Midi effects are located in C:/Program Files/Steinberg/Cubase 8.5/Presets

In Presets there are folders for each of the midi effects which contain the xml's for the effect presets (eg. Arpache5/Simple up.xml)
In the Presets folder there are also a few more general type of xml's (e.g windows Layouts.xml)

Unfortunately this doesn't explain why my Presets folder and contents isn't being recognised/read by Cubase.

Re: Missing Midi Insert Effect Patches

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:26 pm
by Grim
Maybe worth trying trying safe start or repairing installation.

Re: Missing Midi Insert Effect Patches

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:55 pm
by misohoza
Midi effects presets should be found at two locations. One is Program Files/ Steinberg... and also in AppData/ Roaming...
Sorry, I'm not at the computer right now to give exact paths.

If you find the presets missing in AppData then just copy them over from Program Files.

Re: Missing Midi Insert Effect Patches

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 4:07 pm
by Grim
So they are.

AppData/Roaming/Steinberg/Cubase(version)/Presets

Re: Missing Midi Insert Effect Patches

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:42 pm
by hetman_cymru
Misohoza: A big thank you. That worked. I didn't realise there were Cubase patch locations in the roaming data folders. :D

Grim: A big thank you to you too for providing that directory path. :D