Transport integration in komplete kontrol s49

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
vicsponge
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 8:39 pm
Contact:

Transport integration in komplete kontrol s49

Post by vicsponge » Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:16 pm

The 'return to start of song' option with the transport buttons of S49 MkII is not currently implemented in Cubase 10 pro.

The KK S49 manual mentions that SHIFT + PLAY restarts the clock and returns the cursor to the start of the song. However, in Cubase, the shift button has no effect at all on the functions of the start button.

I have spoken to Native Instruments support, who advise that ‘Shift + Play should indeed restart playback at the beginning of your project in Cubase, as the Play button shows the alternate function ‘Restart’ on it.’

Native Instruments was able to reproduce this missing feature – suggesting:

‘it seems it is the way Cubase behaves as I was also able to do this using the key commands on my computer's keyboard. It will go back to wherever the playhead was set to prior, but one workaround is to press the key [,] (comma) to rewind at the beginning of the project.

While not ideal, it is your best option. I would recommend contacting Steinberg about this to see if they could perhaps add a setting to bypass this workflow – I was not able to find any options addressing this on my end.’

Could I therefore request that integration with KK s49 transport buttons is as intended/expected by Native Instruments, in a future release, please. As NI says, the option of using keyboard commands to ‘return to start’ is not ideal and it really defeats the object of using the keyboard fully in my workflow.

Thank you
Nigel

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9178
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Transport integration in komplete kontrol s49

Post by -steve- » Fri Sep 27, 2019 1:13 am

What midi message exactly does the device send? Have you checked it out using the Generic Remote 'Learn' function, or in a midi monitor insert?

It's really up to NI to make sure their device work with various daws.

It's possible that you'd be able to get it working on your own using the Generic Remote or MMC https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIDI_Machine_Control
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests