Page 4 of 10

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:49 pm
by JMCecil
k8stribe wrote: Cool, I'll ditch my Waves Mercury plugs and my other 7 to 8k in plugins and give the Cannon drivers a try. Happy to be a source of your amusement.
Oh, it isn't amusing. I know you are frustrated. But, your communication on the issue in the thread has been completely wacked out. The things you have been willing to work on have zero relationship to your problem. Things people have asked you to try/explain that actually have something do with how C6 exports audio have been totally ignored.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:50 pm
by k8stribe
AndrewW wrote:If you are hearing slight phasing then you might want to check your I/O Connections.
Hit F4, click on the Output tab - check that you have an output selected there.
Then click the Studio tab and check if you are using Control Room.
In my experience whenever I hear slight phasing I check if by accident I'm not hearing audio from both Control Room and Main Output. You should use only 1 of them - never both.
Only Main out. Thanks for actually tryin to offer a solution.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:53 pm
by JMCecil
k8stribe wrote: Cool, I'll ditch my Waves Mercury plugs and my other 7 to 8k in plugins and give the Cannon drivers a try. Happy to be a source of your amusement.
Are you using waves with C6 x64? That no worky (at least the last time I looked for updated wrapper drivers).

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:57 pm
by matjones
For the record.... the Delta1010 drivers DO play nice with win7 64Bit... i ran them together for a year with no significant issues than occasionally the drivers would crap out on boot up into windows and i would hear digital distortion... same thing happens with my RME unit actually but a reboot always cures it. ... our old keyboard player is quite merrily messing about with his loops with the Delta1010 Win7 64 combo quite happily to this day from what i understand so i think you can discount that one.
Why not just post a couple of short mp3 clips here in the forum like most other people would? i'm sure you would be likely to get more useful answers that way.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:14 pm
by JezCorbett
k8stribe wrote:
mbourque wrote:Have you listened to the mixdown file directly? Is it alright?

Yes, but I'm listening through the same referance monitors and headphones.I'm going to hook up my good stereo to my board and see if there is a difference.

WHOAH. WAIT. EVERYONE STOP.

So you are saying:
- When you listen in Cubase, it sounds fine.
- When you export it, and listen to the exported WAV file, it sounds fine.
- When you burn it to CD, it sounds bad.

Correct?

If so, then it has absolutely nothing to do with Cubase and absolutely everything to do with how you are burning it to CD, or listening back to the CD!

I must say I'm pretty disappointed with people on here going on about stuff like control room and running Cubase in XP mode rather than actually looking at the actual problem!

Ok k8stribe I need you to answer the following:

1. What type of file are you exporting? 16bit 44.1kHz WAV, or MP3, or something else?
2. What are you using to burn the resulting file to CD?
3. What are you using to listen back to the CD?
4. If the answer to Q3 is 'the same computer I run Cubase on', what software are you using to play it back and is it playing it back through the same sound hardware as Cubase uses?
5. If the answer to Q3 is 'a totally different system such as my hifi' - is there possibly anything wrong with that?
6. Whatever the answer to Q3 is, what does it sound like if you listen to it on something else?

*************
EDIT!
WHOAH! I should have stopped!
Or at least I should have realised there was more than 1 page before posting! I suspect I may be wasting my time here.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:04 pm
by k8stribe
JezCorbett wrote:
k8stribe wrote:
mbourque wrote:Have you listened to the mixdown file directly? Is it alright?

./quote]


1. What type of file are you exporting? 16bit 44.1kHz WAV, or MP3, or something else?
2. What are you using to burn the resulting file to CD?
3. What are you using to listen back to the CD?
4. If the answer to Q3 is 'the same computer I run Cubase on', what software are you using to play it back and is it playing it back through the same sound hardware as Cubase uses?
5. If the answer to Q3 is 'a totally different system such as my hifi' - is there possibly anything wrong with that?
6. Whatever the answer to Q3 is, what does it sound like if you listen to it on something else?

./quote]

Q1. 16bit 44.1kHz WAV.
Q2. Nero, Roxio, Windows, Wavelab, Blaze, Media now.
Q3. My $$$$ Yamaha surround system, My $$$$ stereo in my truck, My neighbors $$$$ Bose system ect.
Q5. No
Q6. Like crap.

The songs did sound incredible the first week on this system. That when I was still running SX3, only after the updates I started to have problems. The phase issues were present mainly in the songs recorded on this computer after the update. The re-mixes after the update lost clarity and punch. Both pre and post export, but much more noticeable on export.
Disabled Wi – Fi, re-booted, re-exported same mix w/no tweaks = punch and clarity back. Why ?
I now have to go back and re-mix these songs because the punch of the kick shakes my windows and mirrors and these are heavy rock mixes, not hip hop. And the guitar sounds like it was recorded thru a nice warm tube amp and not out of a cheap guitar processor.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:14 pm
by k8stribe
JMCecil wrote:
k8stribe wrote: Cool, I'll ditch my Waves Mercury plugs and my other 7 to 8k in plugins and give the Cannon drivers a try. Happy to be a source of your amusement.
Are you using waves with C6 x64? That no worky (at least the last time I looked for updated wrapper drivers).
The Waves plugs wont even load in C6 x64. But neither do my other plugs w/ updated x64 drivers. And yes they are mapped correctly in the plugin manager.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:36 am
by msy
k8stribe wrote:Disabled Wi – Fi, re-booted, re-exported same mix w/no tweaks = punch and clarity back. Why ?
Wait a minute - are you saying it works, sounds like it should, when you have wifi disabled ?!
Are you using realtime export?

Please post mp3 or wav examples before and after disabling the wifi.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:20 pm
by JezCorbett
Dude, if the tracks sound fine IN Cubase, and listening to the exported WAV sounds fine, then it obviously has nothing to do with Cubase and everything to do with the CD.

I can't help you further I'm afraid.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 3:34 pm
by k8stribe
JezCorbett wrote:Dude, if the tracks sound fine IN Cubase, and listening to the exported WAV sounds fine, then it obviously has nothing to do with Cubase and everything to do with the CD.

I can't help you further I'm afraid.
NO there were phase issues in cubase as well. Mixdowns inC6 would lose parts due to dropouts ect. I never said this was a Cubase issue, it was after a Microsoft update when the trouble started. If you go back and read I've suspected a W7 issue this entire post. I went to get a W7 CD from where I purchased the PC and it turns out the W7 version on my PC is an Asus version. Microsoft wouldn't help me and said I need to go directly to Asus.
I still want to do a fresh install of everything now that I have my songs and programs backed up.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:24 pm
by msy
k8stribe wrote:I never said this was a Cubase issue
My interpretation of your topic was that it has something to do with Cubase 6. You should rename the topic.
Good luck anyways.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 7:35 pm
by markszabo
People who list out in forum posts their accomplishments, in the attempt to belittle others, are very small people to me.

Especially when they're asking for help.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:11 am
by CWS
This is puzzeling! I just mixed a song and exported it as 24 bit wave file. I am listening to the mix through a pair of sennheiser 650's. After the export I listen to the wave file using WMP as the source but still using my Presonus audio interface with the 650's. At this point the mix and exported file sound identical. I then burned the song to cd-rewriteable using windows media player. Then I insert the recorded cd into the drive and play back through windows media player using the same presonus interface and hd 650's. There is a definate 20% reduction in the volume level. I am wondering if this is what you are experiencing. I also did the same test with an MP3 song I downloaded and had the same result. ????

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:11 am
by andyjh
CWS wrote:This is puzzeling! I just mixed a song and exported it as 24 bit wave file. .... At this point the mix and exported file sound identical. I then burned the song to cd-rewriteable using windows media player. .... . There is a definate 20% reduction in the volume level.
That is probably because you have taken your 24-bit master and converted it to 16-bit using WMP which probably just chops the bottom 8 bits of to get it to a 16-bit CD format. Don't even think mp3's, as that will destroy any mix.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:27 am
by k8stribe
I recorded last night at -4 db and did a test mix. It sounds pretty good in Cubase. I only used gates on the drums with no other plugs. It was still a bit mudy on the CD and in windows player.I bought a new C burner to see if thats the issue. My friends bringing his board and sound card over to see if I can rule that out as well. When I'm multi tracking using all 8 inputs the phase issue is most noicable on the high mids especially the guitar. If I record the guitar by itself the phase goes away. If I track two guitars in stereo at the same time I get the phase back. Is it possible i have a mic phase issue?

Is their an easy way to attach mp3's soz I can post some samples?

huh... Simple mided? Thats not what your mom said last night. Her mouth was kind of full so I couldn't quite understand her though.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:06 am
by Scab Pickens
k8stribe wrote: huh... Simple mided? Thats not what your mom said last night. Her mouth was kind of full so I couldn't quite understand her though.
What the .... ? Who are you responding to ? This has to be one of the most confusing threads ever. Do you really think that's a good way to go about receiving help ?

Why don't you start with the most simple setup you can create, and then add one thing at a time to try to pinpoint your problem ? Maybe that would be too easy .... like your mom ?

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:23 am
by Split
k8stribe wrote:If I record the guitar by itself the phase goes away. If I track two guitars in stereo at the same time I get the phase back. Is it possible i have a mic phase issue?
I think you may have answered your own question!

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:23 am
by njsmooth
this thread is hilarious

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:03 pm
by k8stribe
Scab Pickens wrote:
k8stribe wrote: huh... Simple mided? Thats not what your mom said last night. Her mouth was kind of full so I couldn't quite understand her though.
What the .... ? Who are you responding to ? This has to be one of the most confusing threads ever. Do you really think that's a good way to go about receiving help ?

Why don't you start with the most simple setup you can create, and then add one thing at a time to try to pinpoint your problem ? Maybe that would be too easy .... like your mom ?
I was responding to the simple minded comment made by markszabo.

Again I've been using Cubase since the 90's and never ran into this problem. & my moms dead so thanks for that.

I'm new to W7 and haven’t upgraded since SX3 so I'm new to the newer features in C6 as well. It's either caused by a setting in W7 or a pilot error.

Man where are all of the old timers at that use to be a help on this board. Just a bunch of little kooks with no positive solutions and big mouths. If you don’t have a positive solution shut the F#U$C%K up.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:17 pm
by DaveDaveDave
k8stribe wrote:
Scab Pickens wrote:
k8stribe wrote: ...huh... Simple mided? Thats not what your mom said last night. Her mouth was kind of full so I couldn't quite understand her though.
.... like your mom ?
...
my moms dead so thanks for that.
...
If you don’t have a positive solution shut the F#U$C%K up.
This has gone past the comedic, the rude, the vulgar, the ironic.... Good luck.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:20 pm
by matjones
dude... with respect..... if you would just SIMPLY post a couple of tracks for reference so people can actually HEAR what you are describing which is was people have been suggesting you do since pretty much the beginning of this post you will most likely get your answer incredibly quickly!
Really you are propagating your own problems by not doing such a simple thing!
This is just going round in circles which is ENTIRELY your own fault! just post a couple of files!

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:29 pm
by njsmooth
people have tried posting things to help you figure out the problem but you continue to jump around every post and havn't posted any replies to those suggestions or questions. A lot of us have been using steinberg products for a long time but you make it impossible to help.

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 7:22 pm
by k8stribe
Yesterday I remixed a song and had to turn the guitars down to where they were barely visible in the meters. When I played it back in windows and on the burned cd the guitars were over bearing and the bass was gone?
Attached are a few samples #1 was recorded in SX3 and mastered. It was in a surf documentary and sounds nothing like what I'm hearing on this setup I have. #2 was recorded in C6 and is a scratch test I’m a guitarist /frustrated drummer so you’ll have to give me a mulligan for the drums on this one). #3 is from my last fun 3 chord rock band for washed up musicians and was extracted from the mastered CD recorded and mastered in a pro facility. #4 is a combo of loops and live instruments that was made for a TV infomercial that never ran. #5 was recorded at a combo of One On One studios, Yes’ private studio and Steve Vias private studio and was paid for by EMI records. It’s also in a “B” movie in Alyssa Milano’s first ever nude scene called Caress Of The vampire. If you PM me I can give you a link to a version on the net for comparison. All of these sound like complete mud and washed out static on my PC. I'm curious to see if it sounds different on yours out there in Steinberg land?
I just installed a new 1T hd and now this F#$%#$^ PC won’t recognize my just removed HD with all of my song files backed up. It took forever to get it to recognize my new one I just installed. I have to add the next two on the next post.

#1

[The extension mp3 has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

#2

[The extension mp3 has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

#3

[The extension mp3 has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 7:45 pm
by k8stribe
#4

[The extension mp3 has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

#5

[The extension mp3 has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


This is a couple friends (Bass + drums) and myself doing some improv goulaush multi tracked In C6. In playback within C6 its very drum & bass dominant and I had the guitars almost pulled completely out of the mix. I'm Using minimal FX and eq on the guitar. I used no plugs at all during recording and on added them on the drums. I only did a few eq tweaks on the bass & guitar.

Recent C6 Test

[The extension mp3 has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


Again these all sound phased and muddy listening through my Event PS6 monitors and my Shure studio headphones. it's almost a day by day thing. Sometimes it sound decent other days like crapola

Re: Mix's Sound Like Mud In C6

Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:11 pm
by KDEF2004
Why do your mp3's sound like they are 96k? Hard to get an idea if the mix actually sounds like that for real. Maybe if you could snip a .wav of the song, better solutions could come about. From what I do hear is, it's super squeezed(compressed). just an observation. :)