Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

Not sure how you want me to do that...go through it step by step .."for Dummies" please!

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

ah! Let's try something else then.

Set up your Bank Select and PgmChg in the inspector for your MIDI track. Maybe Bank 2 Patch 10 - doesn't matter.

Image

(NB Your MIDI Output will say "Nord" rather than "MicrosoftG...")


Save the Cubase project.

Close the Cubase project.

Change the patch on the Nord to a different bank and patch.

Reload the project you just closed.

Does the Nord change Bank and Patch to what you have in the inspector?
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

No it does not change

andyoc
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by andyoc »

is the base receive channel on the Nord the same as the transmit channel
in the inspector??? [Just above the Bank/Prog Chng boxes]

Did you select the correct Midi Output [mapping the track to the Nord]
[The dropdown box under the "All Midi Inputs" box
PC1 i9 9900X/128G/RME MADI Express W10
PC2 i7 4790k/32G/VSL Symph W10
PC3 i7 6700k/16G/RME Raydat/VSL Symph W10


Nuendo 10.3.0/Cubase 10.5.12/ Wavelab 10.0.30/SSL Alpha Link MADI AX/Mackie MCU/NI Maschine Mk 2/VSL Ensemble PRO 6.0.15415/Superior Drummer 3/Omnisphere/Trillian/Stylus RMX :: Roland 5080, 3080, 5050, Yamaha Motif 8, MotRack ES, XS, XF :: Komplete Ultimate 12 :: EZ Keys

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

When you make those changes, can you see the MIDI monitor active?
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

s the base receive channel on the Nord the same as the transmit channel
in the inspector??? [Just above the Bank/Prog Chng boxes] Yes Tx on 5 Rx on 5 (as in Jenks Example)

Did you select the correct Midi Output [mapping the track to the Nord]
[The dropdown box under the "All Midi Inputs" box

Yes it it going to the Nord...

..it is the same project as Jenks' IMPORTED MIDI file which works fine and makes the NORD change Bank & Patch on CH 5

Obviously I have muted that imported track for these subsequent tests lest it interfere
Last edited by GuyM on Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

"When you make those changes, can you see the MIDI monitor active?"
No

Seems the CC controller messages in your MIDI import are fine but the Bank Select seems to do nothing...wonder if it is somehow turned off?

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

Yes, that is odd. When I do the same thing here, I can see the MIDI monitor active as I change the Bank Select numbers.

OK there's something else we can try but first confirm that there is no MIDI filtering going on by checking the MIDI port filter in the preferences:-

Image
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

Yes I will do - probably tomorrow a.m. now, but would that not stop your .MID file from working too?

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

Yes it would! I'm a bit mystified!
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

OK No MIDI Filters have been applied

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

Double Checked now and when the BANK SELECT is inc/dec...the midi activity DOES register it...

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

Right! Then you're certainly generating something when you play with the Bank Select number on the inspector. Good.

Now we're on a line of thought that something must be "intercepting" it before its getting to your external instrument. Can you confirm first that you have no MIDI Device Map loaded?
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

No map loaded

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

OK. On the (flimsy basis) that Nord will have used the same Bank Select format on all its instruments (we're starting to clutch at straws here!) let's try loading a Nord MIDI device map and see what effect that has.

Image
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

Ok set up Nord Lead (as in example)
Inspector
All MIDI inputs
NordLead (as the OUT)
Channel 5 (which is the RX for the NORD)
Then do I just select some patches and see if it changes?

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

Yes. Select some patches on the inspector.

You should find that the Bank Select fields have been replaced with a long drop down list. Try selecting some patches from that. The Bank Select messages will be sent automatically according to what patches from the list you select.

If your Nord responds (even if it doesn't select the "correct" patch but does change banks) then we know that there is a continuous MIDI connection between the track inspector and the Nord and that its capable of transferring Bank Select messages.
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

Ok Yes that is sending Patches and changing Banks!

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

Right! Then we've proved there is a connection between your inspector and the Nord.

If you now unload the MIDI Device Map (coz it probably has no real relation to your instrument) but change nothing else, the inspector should revert to its Bank Select and Patch windows.

If you now play with the Bank Select and Patch numbers, does the Nord respond?

(I've got everything crossed here but I think I know what you're going to say!)
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

Same as before Pgm numbers are fine but Bank does nothing to change to A, B, C or D

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

I exported the XML of the set up..can we learn anything from that?

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

Then I'm completely mystified.

We've proved the Bank Select messages you need to send are right (using the MIDI file)
We've proved there is a connection between your Nord and the track inspector and that that connection is capable of transferring Bank Select messages (using the Nord MIDI Device Map)

I've also checked the Nord Lead MIDI Device Map and it is showing that the Bank Selects its using are 0, 1, 2, 3 in the LSB (CC 32). But when you key these into the inspector manually you can see MIDI being transmitted but no response from the Nord.

I'm really sorry but I've run out of ideas. Perhaps your version of Cubase is haunted; you could either get an exorcist or perhaps raise a support ticket with Steinberg.
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

GuyM wrote:I exported the XML of the set up..can we learn anything from that?
If you mean the Nord Lead MIDI Device Map, I've already been there and confirmed that the Bank Select messages its using are exactly the same as the ones you're keying in manually.
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

GuyM
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by GuyM »

ok thanks anyway...fun trying to chase it down though :)

User avatar
Jenks
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 and sending MIDI Program Changes

Post by Jenks »

One last thought...

Are you able to do a search of the Nord Stage 2 forum for "MIDI Device Map".

I can't do it because I don't have a UserID but I think you do.
Win 10-64bit : Yamaha FW Driver (1.6.5) : C9.01 64-bit with Motif XS (1.6.1) and N12 (1.6.4) extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests