Page 1 of 1

Cubase 7.0.2 | Keystation Pro 88 HELP!

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:11 am
by OrianMusic
Hey everyone, I'm new to the forums here and I'm in need of some help. I'm currently running Cubase 7.0.2 with an M-Audio Keystation Pro 88 with a Yamaha FC4 sustain pedal connected to it. My keyboard often plays random keys on its own. When I hit the sustain pedal, it triggers the note e3 and sometimes also c#-2 and sometimes even random midi CC notes. I've looked for drivers, but the best I could find was labeled Cubase SX. It doesn't even specify which version...this is really getting in the way of my work flow and I would really appreciate all the help I could possibly get. Thanks in advance!

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 | Keystation Pro 88 HELP!

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:18 am
by cubic13
Few questions :

1) Is your Keystation connected to your MBox with an USB cable or with a MIDI one ? In the former case, I would try to connect it with MIDI and define the ports needed in Cubase, this to avoid any driver problem. I use my VMK like this, and it works flawlessly without any driver : there can be enough problems with the audio/MIDI interface one, already...

2) I guess that, as my VMK, there is an interface on the Keystation which allows you to define for each of your controllers, at least the followings : MIDI channel, polarity, CC number, values range... Are you sure that all these are correctly set ?

3) As I don't remember seeing that Cubase has a native definition of the Keystation 88, did you defined a 'Generic Remote' device for it in Cubase 'Device setup' window ? First thing to do for an efficient work with a control device.

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 | Keystation Pro 88 HELP!

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:08 am
by OrianMusic
cubic13 wrote:Few questions :

1) Is your Keystation connected to your MBox with an USB cable or with a MIDI one ? In the former case, I would try to connect it with MIDI and define the ports needed in Cubase, this to avoid any driver problem. I use my VMK like this, and it works flawlessly without any driver : there can be enough problems with the audio/MIDI interface one, already...

Since AVID apparently doesn't believe in putting MIDI ports on the MBox 3 Pro, I'm currently using one of these.

http://www.meritline.com/usb-to-midi-ke ... QgodXyAA3g

It's going from the Keystation Pro 88 MIDI Out and going straight into my PC with USB.

2) I guess that, as my VMK, there is an interface on the Keystation which allows you to define for each of your controllers, at least the followings : MIDI channel, polarity, CC number, values range... Are you sure that all these are correctly set ?

I'm honestly not sure how to check if the settings are correct. The only info on this I could find was here.

http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=evolution.cubase

I've already followed those steps thoroughly (a few times) and it didn't help much.

3) As I don't remember seeing that Cubase has a native definition of the Keystation 88, did you defined a 'Generic Remote' device for it in Cubase 'Device setup' window ? First thing to do for an efficient work with a control device.

Since all my devices in the past have been pretty much plug and play, I've never had to define a 'Generic Remote' or anything of that nature. I feel like an idiot right now. Please don't judge me lol...

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 | Keystation Pro 88 HELP!

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:14 am
by cubic13
OrianMusic wrote: 1) Since AVID apparently doesn't believe in putting MIDI ports on the MBox 3 Pro, I'm currently using one of these.

http://www.meritline.com/usb-to-midi-ke ... QgodXyAA3g

It's going from the Keystation Pro 88 MIDI Out and going straight into my PC with USB.
From what I am seeing, only the MBox Mini is lacking MIDI in/out connections...

OrianMusic wrote: 2) I'm honestly not sure how to check if the settings are correct. The only info on this I could find was here.

http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=evolution.cubase

I've already followed those steps thoroughly (a few times) and it didn't help much.
Worth another check, and t's not mandotory to use 'Stop-and-play Cubase !' to make the Keystation work with Cubase, by following the programming instructions that are in the Keystation manual. The process is tedious, but you will be rewarded after on the long run.

OrianMusic wrote: 3) Since all my devices in the past have been pretty much plug and play, I've never had to define a 'Generic Remote' or anything of that nature. I feel like an idiot right now. Please don't judge me lol...
You should have : the 'Stop-and-play Cubase !' instructions clearly mention the creation of a 'Generic remote' device in Cubase.


So, I advice you to reconsider all your setup :
- again, use only a MIDI cable, get rid of any driver installed,
- carefully follow the step by step instructions that are in the Keystation manual for its programming. Let aside the 'Stop-and-play Cubase !' thingy...
- create a 'Generic remote' in Cubase and set all the parameters (one line for each and every controller existing on your Keystation) AFTER having done so on the Keystation.

I know that all the process is tedious and time consuming, I've been through that, but you'll never get your Keystation to work correctly with Cubase if all this is not carefully done. And, as I just saw in the manual that you can affect note to controllers, set programming zones, etc, these could explain the issues you are currently having.

Good luck...

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 | Keystation Pro 88 HELP!

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:41 am
by OrianMusic
cubic13 wrote:
OrianMusic wrote:
From what I am seeing, only the MBox Mini is lacking MIDI in/out connections...

I can assure you that the MBox 3 Pro DOES NOT have Midi in/out connections...

http://www.jeejuh.com/images/blog/mbox-3-pro-back.jpg

Worth another check, and t's not mandotory to use 'Stop-and-play Cubase !' to make the Keystation work with Cubase, by following the programming instructions that are in the Keystation manual. The process is tedious, but you will be rewarded after on the long run.

Since I bought my Keystation Second hand, I don't have the manual. I'll look online for it though.



You should have : the 'Stop-and-play Cubase !' instructions clearly mention the creation of a 'Generic remote' device in Cubase.


So, I advice you to reconsider all your setup :
- again, use only a MIDI cable, get rid of any driver installed,
- carefully follow the step by step instructions that are in the Keystation manual for its programming. Let aside the 'Stop-and-play Cubase !' thingy...
- create a 'Generic remote' in Cubase and set all the parameters (one line for each and every controller existing on your Keystation) AFTER having done so on the Keystation.

I know that all the process is tedious and time consuming, I've been through that, but you'll never get your Keystation to work correctly with Cubase if all this is not carefully done. And, as I just saw in the manual that you can affect note to controllers, set programming zones, etc, these could explain the issues you are currently having.

Good luck...
Will all of this work if I'm going Midi OUT of the keyboard and USB into the PC? (I'd love to go straight MIDI, but I can't because of the MBox)

Re: Cubase 7.0.2 | Keystation Pro 88 HELP!

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:22 am
by cubic13
OrianMusic wrote: I can assure you that the MBox 3 Pro DOES NOT have Midi in/out connections...

http://www.jeejuh.com/images/blog/mbox-3-pro-back.jpg
You should look at it further :

- From Avid site (see the Connect and control your gear paragraph, and click on Read more) :
http://www.avid.com/US/products/Mbox-Pro#Features
- Also from Avid site, the image attached (look at the left bottom of the device...).

EDIT : just looked at the MBox manual (revision 9.0) (http://akmedia.digidesign.com/support/d ... _69711.pdf) : page 23, you'll see how to connect MIDI devices such as your Keystation to the 'Breakout' cable which is supposed to be provided with your MBox unit. it's a common way of connecting MIDI keyboards/devices to a compact one : even RME use this kind of solution for, say, their RayDAT PCIe card.
OrianMusic wrote:Since I bought my Keystation Second hand, I don't have the manual. I'll look online for it though.
First thing to do and carefully download it. There are a lot of useful things to take in there.
OrianMusic wrote:Will all of this work if I'm going Midi OUT of the keyboard and USB into the PC? (I'd love to go straight MIDI, but I can't because of the MBox)
Look above... And no, I don't think it will work this way, unless you have a miracle driver, but maybe it's something to check, as I don't have experience with Firewire audio/MIDI devices. But, as I don't see any USB connector on it...